Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
1,107
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OK. The usual, I am totally confused. I would like to update from 10.15.4 to Big Sur (mainly to run the latest versions of LightRoom and PhotoShop) and I am wondering whether I need to Nuke and Pave or just update. I updated Clover from the my 5118 to the latest 5131. However, Casey says not to use that version. I see mention of OpenCore, but I don't see step by step usage info, and the version I downloaded, 0.6.7 is incomprehensible to me. I guess it is time to slow-down and spend-up to a M1 Mac Mini, ugh. I have my backup in case of failure and I am ready to spend a rainy day or two updating -- but is it possible?

Z390 Designare | i7 8700 | RX 580 Pulse 8GB
I am running the latest versions of LR and PS on Mojave. There's no need to upgrade to Big Sur.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,269
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OK. The usual, I am totally confused. I would like to update from 10.15.4 to Big Sur (mainly to run the latest versions of LightRoom and PhotoShop) and I am wondering whether I need to Nuke and Pave or just update. I updated Clover from the my 5118 to the latest 5131. However, Casey says not to use that version. I see mention of OpenCore, but I don't see step by step usage info, and the version I downloaded, 0.6.7 is incomprehensible to me. I guess it is time to slow-down and spend-up to a M1 Mac Mini, ugh. I have my backup in case of failure and I am ready to spend a rainy day or two updating -- but is it possible?

Z390 Designare | i7 8700 | RX 580 Pulse 8GB
This can be done by following this mini-guide:
Briefly, the process is as follows:
  • Check if we're running BIOS F9g or F9i.
    • If so, disabled CFG-Lock from the BIOS Setup --> Boot menu.
    • If not, install either F9g or F9i (see the link above).
  • Make a full bootable backup of Catalina.
  • Replace Clover with OpenCore.
  • Boot into Catalina.
  • Perform an in-place upgrade to Big Sur from System Preferences --> Software Update.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,269
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ

I'm back:)

Finally Flashed your firmware!
My old Soic8 clip was broken so i had to order a new one:p
Mod 2 seems to be better then 1
However i cant connect to the thunderbolt port within OS
When i run Hackintool the controller is not visible,i guess its not injected in OS?
I tried several things, with the old USB custom kext----nothing
with USB Inject all----nothing

All with your custom made TTridge.aml
I'm running out of ideas..what to do next?

This build is for a friend of mine, he's a music producer
He wanted a machine wich he can easily take to 2 different studio's
I chose for a mini itx motherboard with Lian li TU 150 case.
about a month ago the gigabyte Z590i Vision D wasn't available.
I took the MSI Z490i Unify because of the thunderbolt connection.
Even with the untouched original firmware thunderbolt was not stable.
I'm going to buy a Z590i Vision D..I'm pretty sure its a better Mobo cause of the thunderbolt.

I keep the MSI Z490i Unify for myself to test it out further if we can get Hotswap to work
with the help of @CaseySJ



Here are some screenshots.
SSP1 and SSP2 are present in Hackintool, so those two USB-C ports are present. However, IOReg shows that they're not working. USB-C devices may only work if they're connected before booting macOS.

However, first test a Thunderbolt device. It should appear under either DSB1 or DSB4 in IOReg. Please try connecting that device (a) before booting macOS and (b) hot plugging it after logging into macOS.

We can see that Thunderbolt Bus is activated and the Thunderbolt device tree (IOReg) looks okay except for the missing DSB2.RHUB (USB-C controller).
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2019
Messages
13
Motherboard
Z390 Gigabyte Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Good question and glad you asked, because this can be tricky! Here is my suggestion:
  • Install Mojave from scratch on the XPG 256GB SSD.
    • Format the XPG drive in Disk Utility with:
      • Name: Anything
      • Format: APFS
      • Scheme: GUID Partition Map
    • Mount EFI partitions of old boot disk and new XPG SSD.
    • Copy EFI folder from old boot disk to new XPG SSD (to EFI partition).
    • This ensures that same serial numbers are used.
  • When the Mojave welcome screen appears, create your user account.
    • Use the same account name as before.
    • The account will be created on the XPG SSD (which is okay for now).
  • Format the new 970 EVO 1TB disk in Disk Utility as APFS.
    • This is your new home/user disk.
  • Use Carbon Copy Cloner to clone the old Home Disk/Partition to the new 970 EVO 1TB disk.
  • Now open System Preferences --> Users & Groups --> Advanced, and change the location of home folder to the 970 EVO 1TB disk.
  • Next, reinstall all of your Applications to the XPG 256GB SSD.
    • You can mount the old OS Disk/Partition and use Finder to copy most third-party apps from the old Applications folder to the new Applications folder.
    • Some applications cannot be simply dragged-and-dropped, but need to be installed through their Installer.
    • When these applications are launched, they should find existing license files. If not, it will be necessary to re-enter the license information.
As you can see, this procedure is a bit more involved. We cannot simply clone everything back. This is because you are changing the disk topology. In other words:
  • You are going from a single 1TB NVMe SSD with 2 APFS partitions --> to --> one 256GB SSD and one 1TB SSD, both with 1 APFS partition.
  • This is why the recovery process is a bit more involved.
Thanks a lot for your detailed help! (your commitment here is incredible!)

But regarding the effort, wouldn't it be nearly the same amount of work to do a complete fresh install? After fresh install, i would have to manually copy&paste all the Homefolder-Content to the new one, but that would be basically it, or am I wrong?
Or what is the advantage of keeping the serial number?
I was thinking to update to Catalina anyway...
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2021
Messages
9
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390-F8i
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
UHD 630 + RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Keeping the same serial number can help with software registration, possibly TM backups (or other backup software may use it), apple id logins for facetime/messages/icloud, so I would take the couple of seconds to copy/paste the values to the OC install.

It's probably faster to do a fresh install and copy over the home folder if you don't have a bunch of 3rd party software installed. The more software installed, the more it switches over to upgrading the existing install, as you don't have to track down serial numbers/install packages/etc...

When I was doing this, however, I did find it was easy to mess up upgrading and switching from Clover to OC, as IIRC, Clover copies some/all Extensions in the real extensions folders on disk, and those also have to be removed, as OC loads those extensions from the EFI folder without copying to the real extensions folders.

While I was building/testing my computer, I got it initially going on Mojave with Clover, but botched the job somehow switching to OC & upgrading that install to Catalina. Eventually, I just wiped it, and did a clean install of Catalina w OC, and that worked fine. And then later, once I was confident the computer was working fine, I copied over the Mojave install from my MacBookPro to the disk with OC, it booted fine, then upgraded it to Catalina (also fine), and finally to Big Sur 11.2, then 11.2.2,then 11.2.3), and it's been fine. I've got all kinds of software installed, and it's been working well for me.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
49
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
SSP1 and SSP2 are present in Hackintool, so those two USB-C ports are present. However, IOReg shows that they're not working. USB-C devices may only work if they're connected before booting macOS.

However, first test a Thunderbolt device. It should appear under either DSB1 or DSB4 in IOReg. Please try connecting that device (a) before booting macOS and (b) hot plugging it after logging into macOS.

We can see that Thunderbolt Bus is activated and the Thunderbolt device tree (IOReg) looks okay except for the missing DSB2.RHUB (USB-C controller).
Hi

No thunderbolt connects at DSB1 or DSB4 in IOREG
Before when TB was working a couple days ago i saw the JHL7540 controller in Hackintool
TB device tested
-Uad Apollo Twin
-Sabrent Thunderbolt enclosure witn nvme

USB-c connects fine in the Thunderbolt port.even hotswap
I use a Sandisk extremev2 for that
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2021-03-23 at 22.53.54.png
    Screenshot 2021-03-23 at 22.53.54.png
    208.6 KB · Views: 24
  • Screenshot 2021-03-23 at 22.32.03.png
    Screenshot 2021-03-23 at 22.32.03.png
    256.1 KB · Views: 22
Joined
Jul 16, 2020
Messages
23
Motherboard
MSI MEG Z590 ACE
CPU
i9-10900
Graphics
RX 570
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi. Well, I hate to admit it but, I've Killed the Alpine Ridge add in card :cry:. So now we (A friend of mine and me) are going to do a Full upgrade project. We are going to replace MB, and CPU. It was hard, but we found a Z390 designare to work with, so when it arrives, we will start over again with this but, since the Z390 designare has built in thunderbolt and CaseySJ proved it to be working, I feel more relaxed than doing experiments with the B150M-D3H-CF and the Alpine Ridge Add In card.
Thank you so much @CaseySJ (and others) for the help. We'll see again in a month.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,269
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi

No thunderbolt connects at DSB1 or DSB4 in IOREG
Before when TB was working a couple days ago i saw the JHL7540 controller in Hackintool
TB device tested
-Uad Apollo Twin
-Sabrent Thunderbolt enclosure witn nvme

USB-c connects fine in the Thunderbolt port.even hotswap
I use a Sandisk extremev2 for that
I looked at the original Thunderbolt firmware for the MSI Z490i UNIFY and it seems it uses the LP version of the Titan Ridge controller, device 0x15E7. This reminded me of @dgsga's excellent effort described here:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...olt-3-i7-9700k-amd-rx-580.267551/post-2186035

So let's try the following:
  • Attached ZIP contains a new Thunderbolt firmware file called ITX-TB3-NVM50-E64Fr-CSJ-dgsga.bin
  • Please flash that to the controller.
  • Then replace TTRidge.aml with the new version also included in the attached ZIP.
 

Attachments

  • MSI Z490i Unify.zip
    278.2 KB · Views: 18

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,269
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi. Well, I hate to admit it but, I've Killed the Alpine Ridge add in card :cry:. So now we (A friend of mine and me) are going to do a Full upgrade project. We are going to replace MB, and CPU.
Sorry to hear that... :(

It was hard, but we found a Z390 designare to work with, so when it arrives, we will start over again with this but, since the Z390 designare has built in thunderbolt and CaseySJ proved it to be working, I feel more relaxed than doing experiments with the B150M-D3H-CF and the Alpine Ridge Add In card.
...
But glad to hear this! :)
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,269
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks a lot for your detailed help! (your commitment here is incredible!)

But regarding the effort, wouldn't it be nearly the same amount of work to do a complete fresh install? After fresh install, i would have to manually copy&paste all the Homefolder-Content to the new one, but that would be basically it, or am I wrong?
Or what is the advantage of keeping the serial number?
I was thinking to update to Catalina anyway...
Sure, a fresh install would be okay too. The same serial numbers should be used so that your third party software licenses can be reapplied when those applications are reinstalled. If you use a different serial number, your existing software licenses will think you're using a different machine and will therefore check to see if you're entitled to using the same license on another machine. In many cases you will see a "License Reused" error or "License Used Too Many Times."
 
Top