Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,194
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I recently cloned the Catalina install from my MacBook Pro to my newly built computer, with a WD Blue 1Tb nvme drive, and it works no problem. It's been working fine for me for a couple weeks now, and I also upgraded it to Big Sur (first 11.2, then 11.2.2, then 11.2.3). The only oddity I've noticed is that for the .2 and .3 updates, it took a number of reboots (3-4), and in the past on "real" mMacs, it's typically just 1 or 2, and it asked me to login with my Apple ID the final time, prior to logging into the Mac.
Fortunately, those reboots are quite normal on Hackintosh.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,018
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Although WhateverGreen properties are not specified in your config.plist, it is possible that macOS is activating the iGPU automatically. If you post the IOReg file, we can take a closer look. Specifically, we're looking for IGPU@2 with AppleIntelFramebuffer as a child node. Then we want to see what Platform ID is being used, which we can see from front page of Hackintool.
 

Attachments

  • jackpot.png
    jackpot.png
    185.9 KB · Views: 47
  • Hackintool-Result.jpg
    Hackintool-Result.jpg
    24.5 KB · Views: 43

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,194
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@jiffyslot

That explains a lot:
  • iGPU is accelerated automatically
  • Platform ID is 0x3E910003 (headless)
So iGPU is being used in compute tasks (H.264, HEVC, QuickLook, Preview, etc.).
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,170
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
@CaseySJ
Have you tried Screen Mirroring from Big Sur to Apple TV?

I’m using iMacPro1,1 with only AMD GPU (no iGPU in my CPU)
shikigva=128
I’ve the sound but not the video
It used to fully work in Catalina
Any idea what I can do?
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2013
Messages
119
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ
Have you tried Screen Mirroring from Big Sur to Apple TV?

I’m using iMacPro1,1 with only AMD GPU (no iGPU in my CPU)
shikigva=128
I’ve the sound but not the video
It used to fully work in Catalina
Any idea what I can do?
The same with shikigva=80 with AppleTV 4K, but OK with AppleTV A1469 (3rd generation).
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,194
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
1. Yes - pretty confident that went okay, especially cause it works with the tbtOnPch SSDT.
2. Even pre-connected devices. It has always been pretty funny, hence why I was exploring the options here. Usually, if I disconnect AC from the comp, it takes sometimes MANY cold boots and reboots to get Thunderbolt working again (on pre-connected devices). Once it is working, it connects consistently on every reboot as long as AC power is not lost. It could be that I just need to keep cold booting and rebooting for a while longer, but it has never been quite this bad.
3. Yes, they worked without an SSDT and also with the SSDT-TB3 from another thread on this forum.
It may be a good idea to perform a CMOS Reset, which will require BIOS parameters to be configured again.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,194
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ
Have you tried Screen Mirroring from Big Sur to Apple TV?

I’m using iMacPro1,1 with only AMD GPU (no iGPU in my CPU)
shikigva=128
I’ve the sound but not the video
It used to fully work in Catalina
Any idea what I can do?
I'll try that later today and update this post.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
805
Motherboard
GA-Z390-Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 590
is there a way to check the signal strength in -db of a wifi access point, either from OS X or an I-device?
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2020
Messages
12
Motherboard
Laptop make & model # > See Rules!
CPU
i7-4720HQ
Graphics
HD 4600
Please also post a new IORegistryExplorer file as detailed below. There's no hint of the GC-Titan Ridge in the previous IOReg file, hence a new one is needed.
  • Please check that GC-Titan Ridge card is installed.
  • Disconnect the THB_C Thunderbolt header cable if it is connected.
  • Hold the card vertically with PCI pins facing the floor and connect the Top and Middle pins of the 5-pin J1 header with a F/F jumper wire. This will force the card to turn on.
  • Disable any existing Thunderbolt SSDT.
  • Boot the system and log into macOS.
  • Run IORegistryExplorer --> File --> Save As... and post the saved file.
Here is my IORegistryExplorer content. No Thunderbolt SSDT applied.
 

Attachments

  • iMac Pro ioservice dump.ioreg
    22.7 MB · Views: 25

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,194
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Here is my IORegistryExplorer content. No Thunderbolt SSDT applied.
That's much better. GC-Titan Ridge is on PC01.BR1A. Please try the attached SSDT in combination with SSDT-DTGP.aml.
  • Copy the attached SSDT to OC/ACPI folder.
  • Add a reference in config.plist --> ACPI section.
  • Check that a reference to SSDT-DTGP.aml still exists.
  • Disable any previous Thunderbolt SSDT.
  • Reboot.
  • Post a screenshot of PC01.BR1A section of IORegistryExplorer to confirm.
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-TB3-HackinDROM-GC-TR.aml
    2.2 KB · Views: 18
Top