Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
49
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Attached is a slightly modified Thunderbolt SSDT that at least removes DSB4 (because you have only one Thunderbolt port) and also removes some extraneous NHI0 properties.

Everything else seems to be configured properly. You have an NVMe SSD attached to the Thunderbolt port.
  • Was this device attached prior to booting?
  • Are you able to hot-plug this device?
  • Do you have any other Thunderbolt devices?

Follow-up suggestions:
  • If you can install Linux on a USB flash disk and boot from that, we can use Linux to obtain the Thunderbolt DROM. (I can show you the procedure.)
    • However, using the correct Thunderbolt DROM may or may not make a difference.
  • Reading the Thunderbolt firmware with an SPI ROM reader should be the last resort. But if all else fails I can modify your on-board Thunderbolt firmware. (But please keep the risks in mind.)
Thanks Casey,

I'm gonna try the new TTridge.aml

  • Was this device attached prior to booting? Yes its a Sabrent NVME Enclosure,it works after boot
  • Are you able to hot-plug this device? No not yet
  • Do you have any other Thunderbolt devices? Yes UAD Apollo Twin (Wich connects perfect but no Hot-Plug)
I will give Linus a try.

Thank you
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,927
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've tried all you listed, sadly most of the time nothing happens.

The devices are:
1- Wavlink Thunderdrive II - UTE02 Thunderbolt 3 NVME External SSD ( https://www.wavlink.com/en_us/product/WL-UTE02.html )
2- Terramaster TD2 Thunderbolt 3 plus ( https://www.terra-master.com/us/products/video-professional-das/td2-thunderbolt-3-plus.html )

Funny thing, if I let only the Wavlink connected, the chances of mounting the drives increases a little.

Thank you
Two questions:
  1. Which version of the firmware have you flashed? It might be good to try NVM33 from Designare Z390 on the GC-Titan Ridge.
  2. Have you checked whether these two devices connect when the original Thunderbolt firmware is installed? (I assume they didn't work, which is why you flashed the controller, but I'd like to ask anyway.)
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2021
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gygabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9 10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, here is my 2 cents about the Hackintosh / Antelope Tb3 Issue. I tried to attach My Orion Studio Synergy Core to my 2018 Mac Mini, it showed up and worked flawlessly. Now I am able to see the device in my Hackintosh on the Antelope Launcher (as a remote controller for the mixer) even without daisy chaining it I was never able to see it in the launcher, so it seemed a step forward. It seems a tunneling over my Ethernet connection. I tried to disconnect the mini from my Lan and I connected the hackintosh to the Mini via Tb3 and I activated the sharing options. I am still able to see and control the Orion mixer BUT... the Thunderbolt audio driver doesn't show up in Cubase (opposed to the mini, in which it shows up and works without any problem). I was not able to tunnel the device through the mini in any way. I'm attaching the two Thunderbolt windows info for you to analyze.
 

Attachments

  • Hackintosh Screen.png
    Hackintosh Screen.png
    889 KB · Views: 53
  • Mac Mini Screen.png
    Mac Mini Screen.png
    339.9 KB · Views: 49

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,927
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, here is my 2 cents about the Hackintosh / Antelope Tb3 Issue. I tried to attach My Orion Studio Synergy Core to my 2018 Mac Mini, it showed up and worked flawlessly. Now I am able to see the device in my Hackintosh on the Antelope Launcher (as a remote controller for the mixer) even without daisy chaining it I was never able to see it in the launcher, so it seemed a step forward. It seems a tunnelling over my ethernet connection. I tried to disconnect the mini from my Lan and I connected the hackintosh to the Mini via Tb3 and I activated the sharing options. I am still able to see and control the Orion mixer BUT... the Thunderbolt audio driver doesn't show up in Cubase (opposed to the mini, in which it shows up and works without any problem). I was not able to tunnel the device through the mini in any way. I'm atttaching the two Thunderbolt windows info for you to analyze.
I may have an update in a few days. An "update" does not mean "solution", but at least some additional information about the issue.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2021
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gygabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9 10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I may have an update in a few days. An "update" does not mean "solution", but at least some additional information about the issue.
Well, everything is welcome! And really thank you for your precious help, no matter how this will end.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
49
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks Casey,

I'm gonna try the new TTridge.aml

  • Was this device attached prior to booting? Yes its a Sabrent NVME Enclosure,it works after boot
  • Are you able to hot-plug this device? No not yet
  • Do you have any other Thunderbolt devices? Yes UAD Apollo Twin (Wich connects perfect but no Hot-Plug)
I will give Linus a try.

Thank you
@CaseySJ

The modified TTridge.aml didnt make any difference.

I give linux a try tommorrow

thanks.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2020
Messages
25
Motherboard
MSI MEG Z590 ACE
CPU
i9-10900
Graphics
RX 570
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Two questions:
  1. Which version of the firmware have you flashed? It might be good to try NVM33 from Designare Z390 on the GC-Titan Ridge.
  2. Have you checked whether these two devices connect when the original Thunderbolt firmware is installed? (I assume they didn't work, which is why you flashed the controller, but I'd like to ask anyway.)
Of course,
1. I've flashed "GC-ALPINE-RIDGE-NVM21-V3-NATA.bin". It was the one listed in the tutorial. (There was another 2, but I read that some issues were reported with V1 and V2, so I tried V3 (Its an GC-Alpine Ridge PCI-E card.)

2. With the original firmware I needed to start windows, put the devices and restart into macOS Big Sur. It worked but a low speed (800Mb/s). My goal is to make it work directly on Mac and at full speed (or closest to) without the need of enter Windows.

The first time I did the procedure without the SSDT the thunderdrive gave me speeds up to 1500 Mb/s (more or less), and, after the SSDT it went up to 2200 Mb/s, on the other hand, the Terramaster worked, but the Terramaster Qnap array didn't, until I flashed the card and put the SSDT, then it did work.

Thank you
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,927
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well I need help with Gigabyte BIOS version 9j. After updating the BIOS, my Big Sur machine is unable to boot. It's stuck at Apple logo. Please help me. What needs to be done with this?
Please see the URGENT note under the photo at the very top of Post 1.
 
Top