Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,926
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Quick question regarding Thunderbolt AIC: Has anyone successfully added a Titan Ridge add-in card to this build?
I was going to pull my Fenvi card since I'm not using BT or WiFi.
I have a GC-Titan Ridge installed in my Z490 Vision D, which also has an on-board Titan Ridge controller. In this case we assign a different Thunderbolt Bus ID to the GC-Titan Ridge. This can be done with HackinDROM as shown below. The on-board controller is most likely on Bus 0, so change TB Bus ID to 1 for the add-in-card.

Screen Shot 2021-03-18 at 12.21.33 PM.png


This is what it looks like on my Z490 Vision D:
Screen Shot 2021-03-18 at 2.13.47 PM.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,086
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have a GC-Titan Ridge installed in my Z490 Vision D, which also has an on-board Titan Ridge controller. In this case we assign a different Thunderbolt Bus ID to the GC-Titan Ridge. This can be done with HackinDROM as shown below. The on-board controller is most likely on Bus 0, so change TB Bus ID to 1 for the add-in-card.

View attachment 512618
Thanks! I needed a little push to try this. I'll swap out the Fenvi Firewire card for the GC Titan Ridge and update this post.

Update: The card wasn't recognized in MacOS or Windows. Then I realized that the Z390 Designare doesn't seem to have a Thunderbolt header on its surface. I pulled the card and put the Firewire card back in.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
49
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ



I cant get the Thunderbolt Hotplug working on my MSI Z490i Unify
I followed this guide for this build.
regarding the guide Hotplug should work.
I tried several settings in thunderbolt bios,but i cant get it to work.

In this post you modified the Firmware for this motherboard.
Do i need to flash the firmware to make it work?
would you be so kind to look at my EFI?

Thank you
 

Attachments

  • EFI_Z490i.zip
    8.8 MB · Views: 33

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,926
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ



I cant get the Thunderbolt Hotplug working on my MSI Z490i Unify
I followed this guide for this build.
regarding the guide Hotplug should work.
I tried several settings in thunderbolt bios,but i cant get it to work.

In this post you modified the Firmware for this motherboard.
Do i need to flash the firmware to make it work?
would you be so kind to look at my EFI?

Thank you
Hello @vipermachine,

Please post the following two files:
  • MaciASL --> File --> New from ACPI --> System DSDT
  • IORegistryExplorer --> File --> Save As...
Also, do you happen to have any latest release of Linux installed on this machine?
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
49
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @vipermachine,

Please post the following two files:
  • MaciASL --> File --> New from ACPI --> System DSDT
  • IORegistryExplorer --> File --> Save As...
Also, do you happen to have any latest release of Linux installed on this machine?

Hi @CaseySJ

Thank you for your quick reply.

Attach you find the 2 files.

Unfortunatly I dont have Linux.

I have the tools to read the the current firmware i've thats really neccesary.
If so i have to disassemble the motherboard.to read the winbond

Thank
 

Attachments

  • System DSDT.dsl
    1.9 MB · Views: 28
  • Admin’s iMac.ioreg
    16.4 MB · Views: 24
Joined
Jul 16, 2020
Messages
25
Motherboard
MSI MEG Z590 ACE
CPU
i9-10900
Graphics
RX 570
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello, I need some help. I got a Gigabyte GC-Alpine Ridge, I programmed on it one of the 3 available CF in this guide (by the way, it has only one winbond chip with a blue dot). Everything OK, now under "System Report" I can see "Thunderbolt/USB4" and, inside of it, I can see some information about the thunderbolt. So, I've decided to go next and Go with the DROM guide. followed the steps and got the Thunderbolt working, fron 20 Gb/s, to 40 Gb/s, and it has hot plug. (I can see under system report when I plug or unplug a device, even if it was unplugged when my system turned on.) The ugly thing is this:
I have 2 Thunderbolt storage drive: one uses an NVMe and the other is a NAS like (uses 2 HDDs). If I connect anyone of them, they appears in the system report, but they do not mount the storage. I tried to let the devices plugged in when I boot, when reboot, clear the NVRAM, do the same with the devices disconnected, the same with only one device, letting the system without power for some time and nothing happens.

Anybody can tall me what am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance

MB Gigabyte B150M-D3H-CF
CPU Intel Corei7-7700
GPU Gigabyte Radeon RX 570
OS Big sur 11.2.3
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2021-03-18 at 3.55.12 p.m..png
    Screen Shot 2021-03-18 at 3.55.12 p.m..png
    468.7 KB · Views: 27
  • Screen Shot 2021-03-18 at 4.02.17 p.m..png
    Screen Shot 2021-03-18 at 4.02.17 p.m..png
    212.4 KB · Views: 28
  • OC.zip
    24.7 MB · Views: 27
  • mac’s iMac.ioreg
    5.5 MB · Views: 26
  • WhatsApp Image 2021-03-18 at 4.20.01 PM.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2021-03-18 at 4.20.01 PM.jpeg
    70.6 KB · Views: 24
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,926
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ

Thank you for your quick reply.

Attach you find the 2 files.

Unfortunatly I dont have Linux.

I have the tools to read the the current firmware i've thats really neccesary.
If so i have to disassemble the motherboard.to read the winbond

Thank

Attached is a slightly modified Thunderbolt SSDT that at least removes DSB4 (because you have only one Thunderbolt port) and also removes some extraneous NHI0 properties.

Everything else seems to be configured properly. You have an NVMe SSD attached to the Thunderbolt port.
  • Was this device attached prior to booting?
  • Are you able to hot-plug this device?
  • Do you have any other Thunderbolt devices?

Follow-up suggestions:
  • If you can install Linux on a USB flash disk and boot from that, we can use Linux to obtain the Thunderbolt DROM. (I can show you the procedure.)
    • However, using the correct Thunderbolt DROM may or may not make a difference.
  • Reading the Thunderbolt firmware with an SPI ROM reader should be the last resort. But if all else fails I can modify your on-board Thunderbolt firmware. (But please keep the risks in mind.)
 

Attachments

  • TTRidge.aml
    3.9 KB · Views: 27

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,926
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello, I need some help. I got a Gigabyte GC-Alpine Ridge, I programmed on it one of the 3 available CF in this guide (by the way, it has only one winbond chip with a blue dot). Everything OK, now under "System Report" I can see "Thunderbolt/USB4" and, inside of it, I can see some information about the thunderbolt. So, I've decided to go next and Go with the DROM guide. followed the steps and got the thunderbolt working, fron 20 Gb/s, to 40 Gb/s and it has hot plug (I can see under system report when I plug or unplug a device, even if it was unplugged when my system turned on). The ugly thing is this:
I have 2 Thunderbolt storages, one uses an NVME and the other is a NAS like (uses 2 HDDs), if I connect anyone of them, they appears in system report, but they does not mount the storage. I tried to let the devices plugged in when I boot, when reboot, clear the NVRAM, do the same with the devices disconected, the same with only one device, letting the system without power for some time and nothing happens.

Anybody can tall me what am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance

MB Gigabyte B150M-D3H-CF
CPU Intel Corei7-7700
GPU Gigabyte Radeon RX 570
OS Big sur 11.2.3
Hello @chidgear,

What are the makes/models of your Thunderbolt storage devices?

Have you tried the following?
  • Connect only one of the storage devices.
  • Boot the machine and log in.
  • Then do Apple Menu --> Restart to reboot the machine.
  • Log back in.
  • Does the storage device connect?
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2020
Messages
25
Motherboard
MSI MEG Z590 ACE
CPU
i9-10900
Graphics
RX 570
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello @chidgear,

What are the makes/models of your Thunderbolt storage devices?

Have you tried the following?
  • Connect only one of the storage devices.
  • Boot the machine and log in.
  • Then do Apple Menu --> Restart to reboot the machine.
  • Log back in.
  • Does the storage device connect?
I've tried all you listed, sadly most of the time nothing happens.

The devices are:
1- Wavlink Thunderdrive II - UTE02 Thunderbolt 3 NVME External SSD ( https://www.wavlink.com/en_us/product/WL-UTE02.html )
2- Terramaster TD2 Thunderbolt 3 plus ( https://www.terra-master.com/us/products/video-professional-das/td2-thunderbolt-3-plus.html )

Funny thing, if I let only the Wavlink connected, the chances of mounting the drives increases a little.

Thank you
 
Top