Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,444
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ i did fresh installation for big sur and i have 3 issues

1) no signal after wake even after only monitor turns off (IGPU) hdmi.
2) sometimes copying files from or to usb devices is very slow.
3) facetime and messages can't login
Hello @Didoofficial,

Some questions and suggestions:
  • Do you have an Nvidia GPU in this system?
  • Are you using the on-board HDMI port?
  • Are you using any video converters such as HDMI to DVI?
  • What is the make/model of your monitor?
  • What are the makes and models of the USB devices?
  • Have you tried using Blackmagic Disk Speed Test to check read/write speeds on USB devices?
  • For FaceTime and Messages, please see this troubleshooting procedure by Dortania.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2019
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Intel > Need version # > See Rules!
Mac
  1. iMac
Hello @Didoofficial,

Some questions and suggestions:
  • Do you have an Nvidia GPU in this system?
  • Are you using the on-board HDMI port?
  • Are you using any video converters such as HDMI to DVI?
  • What is the make/model of your monitor?
  • What are the makes and models of the USB devices?
  • Have you tried using Blackmagic Disk Speed Test to check read/write speeds on USB devices?
  • For FaceTime and Messages, please see this troubleshooting procedure by Dortania.
No
Yes
No
AOC CQ32G1 (it's working fine on Mojave)
Kingston and SanDisk flash drive
No
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2019
Messages
121
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
I just upgraded to OC 0.6.7 using the files provided and HackinDROM. Everything worked out successfully, but both OpenCore Configurator and Hackintool still report that I'm on 0.6.6? I did delete the old EFI folder and emptied the trash before moving the new one over onto the main drive...

When I run

Code:
nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:opencore-version

I get:

Code:
REL-066-2021-02-02


Can anyone who has installed the update via the zip file provided check whether they actually have version 0.6.7 running?
I have the same issue as you
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2013
Messages
109
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have the same issue as you
Did you reset NVRAM ? (Space bar at openCore boot) once or twice. Remember that after this reset the default boot disk may have changed! In this case do not forget to select it and at OC boot and then in system preferences -> boot disk.
After reinstalling 0.6.7 and resetting NVRAM, HackIntool normally recognizes the change to 0.6.7
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2019
Messages
121
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Did you reset NVRAM ? (Space bar at openCore boot) once or twice. Remember that after this reset the default boot disk may have changed! In this case do not forget to select it and at OC boot and then in system preferences -> boot disk.
After reinstalling 0.6.7 and resetting NVRAM, HackIntool normally recognizes the change to 0.6.7
Sure did reset NVRAM. Its not just Hackintool its also OCC that thinks I still have OC 0.6.6

@CaseySJ Any ideas on what has happened here?
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2013
Messages
109
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sure did reset NVRAM. Its not just Hackintool its also OCC that thinks I still have OC 0.6.6

@CaseySJ Any ideas on what has happened here?
After having saved your BIOS preferences, try a clear CMOS, then optimized settings, reboot, load your Bios preferences, reboot, select your boot disk and try again reset NVRAM ... it is, can be a solution :)
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2019
Messages
121
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
After having saved your BIOS preferences, try a clear CMOS, then optimized settings, reboot, load your Bios preferences, reboot, select your boot disk and try again reset NVRAM ... it is, can be a solution :)
Ok so all it took was for me to 1. Set Boot Disk in preferences again 2. reboot 3. reset NVRAM again and all works A-OK now. Showing 0.6.7

Thanks for your help :)
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2021
Messages
9
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390-F8i
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
UHD 630 + RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
And to follow up my post here: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...olt-3-i7-9700k-amd-rx-580.267551/post-2232513

It was booting both Big Sur and Mojave fine, so I decided to wipe the Big Sur install and copy over the Catalina install from my 2012 Retina MacBook Pro, basically my main working setup, onto that drive using Carbon Copy Cloner, then upgraded it after copying it to Big Sur (initially to 11.2 via Install Big Sur, then via system preferences to 11.2.2). After briefly testing how the original Catalina install worked (fine), and then a whole bunch restarts, it appears to be working very well. And these NVMe drives (even the I guess mid-range WD Blue ones I have) are smoking fast, even compared to WD Blue SATA SSDs...

And the "Install" volume that was on the Big Sur drive (wasn't bootable, but would show up on the desktop) is gone after doing this. Perhaps it happened due to when I was upgrading the original Big Sur install from 11.2 to 11.2.2, the two NVMe drives had very different EFI folders, and with one or more of the reboots, it booted using the wrong EFI folder, causing some problem with how it cleaned up after itself (which didn't happen this time, as both EFI folders are the same, and it has native NVRAM working).

As a bonus, I noticed another store had the monitor I bought for this system (Samsung LC32G55T) on sale for $100 less than what I paid for it a couple weeks ago, and the store did a price match.

Now I need to setup a backup system for it, and away we go.

@CaseySJ I did see some posts about using an internal USB splitter to connect both the FENVI card and the front USB 2 ports to the motherboard, but at least some people were having problems with using them, and the computer has more than enough working USB ports that I can use. If anything, I'm looking for a multiport USB3 hub I can have on my desk to conveniently plug/unplug devices as needed, as I prefer to not leave drives connected to the computer when I'm not actively using them (a habit from when they were much easier to corrupt if the computer crashed or the drive was unplugged at the wrong time).
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,444
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I just upgraded to OC 0.6.7 using the files provided and HackinDROM. Everything worked out successfully, but both OpenCore Configurator and Hackintool still report that I'm on 0.6.6? I did delete the old EFI folder and emptied the trash before moving the new one over onto the main drive...

When I run

Code:
nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:opencore-version

I get:

Code:
REL-066-2021-02-02


Can anyone who has installed the update via the zip file provided check whether they actually have version 0.6.7 running?

I seem to be having the same issue. NVRAM does not appear to be able to reset and though OC 0.6.7 is installed, Hackintool sees the correct kext versions, but it thinks OpenCore is still set to 0.6.6.

Sure did reset NVRAM. Its not just Hackintool its also OCC that thinks I still have OC 0.6.6

@CaseySJ Any ideas on what has happened here?

After having saved your BIOS preferences, try a clear CMOS, then optimized settings, reboot, load your Bios preferences, reboot, select your boot disk and try again reset NVRAM ... it is, can be a solution :)

** To Fix OpenCore Version Reporting **

Please make the following change to config.plist and reboot. Will add this to all OC 0.6.8 EFIs next month (April).
full
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
524
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Ok so all it took was for me to 1. Set Boot Disk in preferences again 2. reboot 3. reset NVRAM again and all works A-OK now. Showing 0.6.7

Thanks for your help :)

Maybe you have 2 EFI volumes, one with 0.6.6 and the other with 0.6.7...
 
Top