Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Dec 13, 2013
Messages
117
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Two suggestions for dealing with this fairly common issue:
  • In BIOS, disable XMP Profile 1 and set Memory Multiplier to 29.33. This will provide 2933MHz memory clock speed and often fixes a number of sleep/wake issues.
  • Another option (if you do not want to disable XMP Profile 1) is to use a utility such as Jettison from St. Clair Software. Other similar tools are available.
I can confirm that disabling XMP resolved my sleep/wake issues. I'm running HyperX Fury that nativley runs at 2666MHz, which is typical Mac memory speed.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2011
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 PRO AX
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX 580
Hi, after a long hiatus I've built my second hack, first was back in El Cap days. Built basically from info sifted from this thread, so thanks Casey and everybody else. Z490 Aorus Pro AX, i9-10850K, 64GB memory, XFX 580 4GB (flashed with Sapphire VBIOS, otherwise it panics on boot), GC-Titan-Ridge v2.0 (flashed with modified v50 fw from CaseyJ's miniguide and with pins 3 + 5 shorted), Syba 10GBe, YOBO Wifi/BT card. OpenCore 0.6.6, Catalina 10.15.7

Everything works, except for one thing: Titan Ridge crashes computer on sleep. I remove the card, everything works fine.
panic(cpu 0 caller 0xffffff800808f08c): Sleep transition timed out after 180 seconds while entering darkwake on way to sleep. Suspected bundle: com.apple.driver.usb.AppleUSBXHCI. Thread 0x226a.
Failure code:: 0xf4859e70 00000031
Full report attached. TR card has nothing connected, the SSDT was "manufactured" with the online tool.

XMP profile disabled (the system is not overclocked at all, all stock). I tried to remove 3-5 short on the TB connector and use the stock cable to the motherboard and it didn't help. It never happened before I flashed the modified fw to the TR card though.

Any ideas? I need TB3 for external storage :(
 

Attachments

  • panic.txt
    2.6 KB · Views: 42
  • Screen Shot 2021-03-02 at 6.56.03 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-03-02 at 6.56.03 PM.png
    39.7 KB · Views: 40
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
455
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I have a USB3 HDD I would like to leave connected to my setup for regular data backups, every time the system resumes from wake I get the "Disk Not Ejected Properly" warning. Ive looked through the sleep wake sections and nothing stands out. This is an open core 6.5 / bigsur 11.2.2 setup, anyone have thoughts? This disk is on the front USB3 ports of a fractal r6 case and Im using standard USB port enumerations not anything custom or unique.
I use this little fix since 2016 or 2017 on all my hacks and even on my real MacBookPro, worth a try:


It uses a little helper from another dev called sleepwatcher and unmounts external disks when sleep happens. It automatically remounts them at wake.

I tried another utility (payware) on the AppStore (Jettison) before but it never worked successfully in my case.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2011
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 PRO AX
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX 580
Hi, after a long hiatus I've built my second hack, first was back in El Cap days. Built basically from info sifted from this thread, so thanks Casey and everybody else. Z490 Aorus Pro AX, i9-10850K, 64GB memory, XFX 580 4GB (flashed with Sapphire VBIOS, otherwise it panics on boot), GC-Titan-Ridge v2.0 (flashed with modified v50 fw from CaseyJ's miniguide and with pins 3 + 5 shorted), Syba 10GBe, YOBO Wifi/BT card. OpenCore 0.6.6, Catalina 10.15.7

Everything works, except for one thing: Titan Ridge crashes computer on sleep. I remove the card, everything works fine.

Full report attached. TR card has nothing connected, the SSDT was "manufactured" with the online tool.

XMP profile disabled (the system is not overclocked at all, all stock). I tried to remove 3-5 short on the TB connector and use the stock cable to the motherboard and it didn't help. It never happened before I flashed the modified fw to the TR card though.

Any ideas? I need TB3 for external storage :(

Got it somewhat fixed, at least there's no panic anymore. There was something wrong with how I added SSDT generated by HackingDROM+MaciASL to the config.plist. I've readded it with OpenCoreConfigurator and now it doesn't panic on sleep, plus the TR card now shows as 40GBit x1, as opposed to 20GBit x2 . But it's got insomnia instead - the computer goes to sleep, and immediately wakes back again. But that doesn't look like it's related to TB.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
144
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare EXII
CPU
9900 XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey @CaseySJ, I've been running a Gigabyte Designare EX x299 for some time and pretty stable but never got hotplug to work.

Searching about the topic I stumbled on this post which was a godsend so I started experimenting with the AML you provided there for this motherboard. I'm somewhat puzzled because the results are "random"... sometimes everything appears properly under the thunderbolt tab in the system report and sometimes it doesn't (and this hotplug works or not).

Why ? I don't know...

Looking at the AML (without touching it) and trying to compile it, it's giving me the following error :

"Method local is set but never used (Local1)"

I feel we're almost there... if you could have a look or give me any hint I would greatly appreciate it. I've attached to this post my EFI folder and IOReg of the current config.

Thank you for all the hard work and advances made in this post.

P.S: I'm not running the PCI0 rename, so all my AMLs have that renamed to PC00, for unknown reasons renaming to PCI0 messes up something and the system gets unstable.
 

Attachments

  • iMacPro.ioreg
    10.3 MB · Views: 42
  • OC.zip
    18.8 MB · Views: 39
Joined
Jan 6, 2014
Messages
39
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3)
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Hi CaseySJ,
is it possible to do CCC (carbon copy) with Big Sur?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,786
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi CaseySJ,
is it possible to do CCC (carbon copy) with Big Sur?
Yes it's possible, but there are some issues to be aware of:
  • Use the latest version of CCC.
  • Allow CCC to erase the Destination disk when asked.
  • The first time you clone a particular version of macOS, CCC may erase the destination disk and copy both the System and User volumes.
    • CCC will use Apple's APFS Replication tool, which will take a LONG time.
  • The next time you clone the same version of macOS, CCC will only clone the User volume. This will take relatively little time.
  • When a future update of macOS is installed, CCC may do one of the following:
    • It may erase the Destination and clone everything from scratch again.
    • It may only clone the User volume, which means the System volume will still be the previous macOS version.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,786
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey @CaseySJ, I've been running a Gigabyte Designare EX x299 for some time and pretty stable but never got hotplug to work.

Searching about the topic I stumbled on this post which was a godsend so I started experimenting with the AML you provided there for this motherboard. I'm somewhat puzzled because the results are "random"... sometimes everything appears properly under the thunderbolt tab in the system report and sometimes it doesn't (and this hotplug works or not).

Why ? I don't know...
Hello @arkanis,

This SSDT enables Thunderbolt Bus on Alpine Ridge systems. You have configured your config.plist correctly, but IOReg does not show Thunderbolt Bus. This might mean that IOReg you posted was generated with the previous SSDT (SSDT-X299-TB3HP).

What happens when you enable SSDT-TbtOnPch-Designare-X299-EX? It would be good to post the following two files are booting the system with this SSDT:
  • IOReg file
  • System DSDT (MaciASL --> File --> New from ACPI --> System DSDT)
Looking at the AML (without touching it) and trying to compile it, it's giving me the following error :

"Method local is set but never used (Local1)"
"Method local is set but never used (Local1)" is perfectly fine and can safely be ignored. It simply means that the local variable Local1 was assigned a value that was not subsequently used.

I feel we're almost there... if you could have a look or give me any hint I would greatly appreciate it. I've attached to this post my EFI folder and IOReg of the current config.

Thank you for all the hard work and advances made in this post.

P.S: I'm not running the PCI0 rename, so all my AMLs have that renamed to PC00, for unknown reasons renaming to PCI0 messes up something and the system gets unstable.
Your PCI base path is \_SB.PC00 instead of \_SB.PCI0, so the former is required and the latter will not work.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
144
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare EXII
CPU
9900 XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @arkanis,

This SSDT enables Thunderbolt Bus on Alpine Ridge systems. You have configured your config.plist correctly, but IOReg does not show Thunderbolt Bus. This might mean that IOReg you posted was generated with the previous SSDT (SSDT-X299-TB3HP).

What happens when you enable SSDT-TbtOnPch-Designare-X299-EX? It would be good to post the following two files are booting the system with this SSDT:
  • IOReg file
  • System DSDT (MaciASL --> File --> New from ACPI --> System DSDT)

"Method local is set but never used (Local1)" is perfectly fine and can safely be ignored. It simply means that the local variable Local1 was assigned a value that was not subsequently used.


Your PCI base path is \_SB.PC00 instead of \_SB.PCI0, so the former is required and the latter will not work.

@CaseySJ thank you for replying, really appreciated.

Please find attached two extracted DSDT's and two IORegs, one when things work as they should and the other when they don't.

Using the TBH3 SSDT of course doesn't give me hotplug BUT on the other hand is "reliable", in the sense that every time I turn on my computer, hardware is detected and shows up. (in the PCI tab in system report and on the own hardware driver tab).

Now using the SSDT provided in this thread loads maybe once or twice, but otherwise fails in both scenarios (showing up under the Thunderbolt tab AND PCI, and the hardware isn't detected at all and is unusable). I also have to power reboot the TB3 Hardware (Blackmagic Design Ultra Studio 4K Mini).

Really puzzled about the "randomness" of it if I can call it like that but I'm no expert.

Thank you for helping me!
 

Attachments

  • iMacPro_TB3_failed.ioreg
    9.5 MB · Views: 35
  • iMacPro_TB3_success.ioreg
    10 MB · Views: 37
  • System DSDT (failed load).dsl
    1 MB · Views: 43
  • System DSDT (success load).dsl
    1 MB · Views: 40
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
98
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Try this in Terminal:
Bash:
launchctl list | grep -v apple

Thank you. I actually managed to get rid of a few things that weren’t needed anymore. However, problem persists. I did notice that if I let the login screen linger for some time and the log in, the taskbar loads immediately. So it’s probably nothing connected to my specific user.
 
Top