Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Apr 1, 2020
Messages
68
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
3.6 GHz 8-Core Intel Core I9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
The restore process can be as follows:
  • If we backed up the Home folder with Carbon Copy Cloner, we can restore it very easily by switching the Source and Destination disks.
  • If we backed up using Acronis True Image, we can restore selected disks from the Acronis backup. When Acronis backs up the entire computer, it keeps the identify of each drive in the system. Recovery, therefore, consists of choosing which drive(s) to restore.
Hi @CaseySJ , trying to restore my back image from CC Cloner and looking for some more specifics...or maybe I am missing something. I successfully booted from my back-up, but what procedure should I follow next?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,920
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ , trying to restore my back image from CC Cloner and looking for some more specifics...or maybe I am missing something. I successfully booted from my back-up, but what procedure should I follow next?
After booting from the backup disk we can simply run Carbon Copy Cloner in reverse:
  • SOURCE --> set this to the backup disk from which you booted.
  • DESTINATION --> set this to the internal or original SSD.
  • Then click Clone at the bottom right of the window.
  • When the cloning job is done, you can manually mount the EFI partitions of both disks and copy the EFI folder from the backup disk to the EFI Partition of the internal or original SSD. However, if the original disk already has the same EFI folder as the backup disk, then you can skip this step.
Screen Shot 2021-01-11 at 8.29.37 AM.png
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,301
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
And here’s one of the first... An LG UltraFine 4K 31.5” OLED monitor. It has USB-C, two DPs, and one HDMI. Best of all, it is OLED! Perfect blacks...but what about burn-in (which affects stationary images such as those displayed by a computer)?
this is exactly what I was searching for, but never thought about the price :mrgreen::think:
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2019
Messages
126
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Good question. As far as I know, surround sound is only available on Windows and requires a Gigabyte app and/or driver. The optical digital output, however, works perfectly for me with Layout ID 11. I'm using a Toslink cable to connect my Kanto YU4, which results in remarkably good sound. And this is coming from someone with Naim separates, Denafrips DAC (with a resistor-to-resistor or R2R ladder instead of an off-the-shelf DAC chip), B&W tower speakers, and a Balanced Audio Tech (BAT) vacuum-tube pre-amp (which is not currently hooked up). [To be forthright, I must admit that the combination of Naim + Denafrips + B&W is astoundingly and mind-blowingly better as it should be because of its physical capacity to move tons more air and consume tons more power.]

Anyway, if anyone has been able to get surround sound working in macOS, please let us know.
You sound like a sound buff haha :) Well my surround is working using the optical out I just wasn't sure if it was working correctly as it appeared the rear speakers were not working independently to the front speakers as when I run a test, lets say on the rear left speaker, the front right speaker also plays the sound. Have you been able to get the boot up chime working through your optical output? If so, what audio out setting in OC are you using? I changed mine to 1 and could get the chime working through one of my line out jacks however would love to get it working through Optical Out.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2019
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,
I have the exact same hardware as the the original build and things have been working perfectly so far with Catalina and Clover 5122.

I would now like to do a clean install following the mine-guide and install Big Sur using Open Core. Everything seems to be pretty straight-forward expect that I will do this with OpenCore 0.6.5 instead of version 0.6.3 that is mentioned in the mini-guide.

My question is how I should add the parameters (system name, serial number etc) mentioned in the OpenCore guide. It assumes that I am updating from a previous OpenCore version. Can I simply take the values from Clover Configurator/SMBIOS? Considering that I am going to wipe the drive and Catalina and do a fresh install. Thank you for your help.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,920
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,
I have the exact same hardware as the the original build and things have been working perfectly so far with Catalina and Clover 5122.

I would now like to do a clean install following the mine-guide and install Big Sur using Open Core. Everything seems to be pretty straight-forward expect that I will do this with OpenCore 0.6.5 instead of version 0.6.3 that is mentioned in the mini-guide.
Yes please use OpenCore 0.6.5.
My question is how I should add the parameters (system name, serial number etc) mentioned in the OpenCore guide. It assumes that I am updating from a previous OpenCore version. Can I simply take the values from Clover Configurator/SMBIOS? Considering that I am going to wipe the drive and Catalina and do a fresh install. Thank you for your help.
If you open your existing Clover config.plist in Clover Configurator and the OpenCore config.plist in OpenCore Configurator, you can simple copy-and-paste the credentials as follows:

Screen Shot 2021-01-11 at 2.25.51 PM.png
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2020
Messages
35
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390M Gaming
CPU
i5-9600KF
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
After booting from the backup disk we can simply run Carbon Copy Cloner in reverse:
  • SOURCE --> set this to the backup disk from which you booted.
  • DESTINATION --> set this to the internal or original SSD.
  • Then click Clone at the bottom right of the window.
  • When the cloning job is done, you can manually mount the EFI partitions of both disks and copy the EFI folder from the backup disk to the EFI Partition of the internal or original SSD. However, if the original disk already has the same EFI folder as the backup disk, then you can skip this step.
View attachment 504660
Hi Man,

I'm an intermediary in dealing with informatics, could you help me please?
I'm building my new machine and in this right moment I bought my video card, PowerColor Red Dragon Radeon RX 580 AXRX 8GB 3-DH"DV2"/OC. Is it much different of AXRX 3DH/OC? Would you know if will be some incompatibility?

Thanks in advanced!

 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,920
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...
I'm an intermediary in dealing with informatics, could you help me please?
I'm building my new machine and in this right moment I bought my video card, PowerColor Red Dragon Radeon RX 580 AXRX 8GB 3-DH"DV2"/OC. Is it much different of AXRX 3DH/OC? Would you know if will be some incompatibility?
...
Hello @Johnsson

The PowerColor RX 580 3DHDV2/OC should work just fine.
 
Top