Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,914
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Screenshots from MacPro 5.1 no firmware and SSDT, USB-C works. Know the problem in the Motherboard / CPU. Hackintosh Thunderbolt 3 works but USB-C doesn't work
View attachment 502301View attachment 502302View attachment 502303View attachment 502304
Yes it seems that the motherboard, BIOS, and CPU combination of your Hackintosh is not playing nicely with the GC-Titan Ridge. Do you have a GC-Alpine Ridge or other Alpine Ridge based Thunderbolt card?

On the other hand, at least Thunderbolt itself is working. So if you can use a Thunderbolt dock, it can provide working USB-C ports.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,085
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
After making those changes, the OC 0.6.4 EFI should work on a clean install of Mojave. Have you tried it yet?
Hello. I've tried it, but it sticks on (machreboot) and/or the slow boot but never completed.
I wonder if there is a hidden or changed file in the .efi from enabling SIP on the Z390 because I have Dual boot: Mojave on one APFS SSD and Windows 10 on another NTFS SSD: I password-locked the BIOS on the Z390 so that Windows won't monkey around with the BIOS settings -Opencore 0.6.4 gives the option of booting Windows 10 or Mojave. The Z390 is really an amazing setup.

For the GB-Z370 Gaming 7 (F15a):
I've started using a 0.6.0 version that seems to work, but with the usual preboot bios screen messages of "no schema for blacklist-rtc"... I reset the CMOS on the Z370 again and loaded Optimized Defaults. IIRC, this mobo doesn't have native NVRAM.

I think I should start over with your Z390 OC 0.6.4 and try again. Would you consider pinning the latest OC releases (see post 28,122) to a generic OpenCore Miniguide on page 1? Thanks from all of us for your amazing guides. I think I'll start over with 0.6.4, but here's the 0.6.0 setup for Z370 and Mojave:
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    14 KB · Views: 32

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,914
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello. I've tried it, but it sticks on (machreboot) and/or the slow boot but never completed.
I wonder if there is a hidden or changed file in the .efi from enabling SIP on the Z390 because I have Dual boot: Mojave on one APFS SSD and Windows 10 on another NTFS SSD: I password-locked the BIOS on the Z390 so that Windows won't monkey around with the BIOS settings -Opencore 0.6.4 gives the option of booting Windows 10 or Mojave. The Z390 is really an amazing setup.

For the GB-Z370 Gaming 7 (F15a):
I've started using a 0.6.0 version that seems to work, but with the usual preboot bios screen messages of "no schema for blacklist-rtc"... I reset the CMOS on the Z370 again and loaded Optimized Defaults. IIRC, this mobo doesn't have native NVRAM.

I think I should start over with your Z390 OC 0.6.4 and try again. Would you consider pinning the latest OC releases (see post 28,122) to a generic OpenCore Miniguide on page 1? Thanks from all of us for your amazing guides. I think I'll start over with 0.6.4, but here's the 0.6.0 setup for Z370 and Mojave:
Please try attached config.plist for your 0.6.0 setup (Z370 and Mojave). It should fix the no schema issue.

Some questions regarding the Z390 (apologies if some have been asked before):
  • Is it the Z390 Designare?
  • Running Mojave at the moment with Clover?
  • Have you installed BIOS F9g or F9i with CFG-Lock disabled in the Boot section?
  • Are you trying to switch from Clover to OpenCore on this system?
  • If so, has any version of OpenCore worked on it so far?
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    13.9 KB · Views: 33
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,085
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Please try attached config.plist for your 0.6.0 setup (Z370 and Mojave). It should fix the no schema issue.

Some questions regarding the Z390 (apologies if some have been asked before):
  • Is it the Z390 Designare?
  • Running Mojave at the moment with Clover?
  • Have you installed BIOS F9g or F9i with CFG-Lock disabled in the Boot section?
  • Are you trying to switch from Clover to OpenCore on this system?
  • If so, has any version of OpenCore worked on it so far?
Thanks @CaseySJ -I'll try it in a sec. The Z390 is the Designare (F9i, CFG-unlocked, CSM off, iGPU off, RX580, iMP config -the usual setup) with the i9 9900KS that you see on the left under my icon. That machine is flawless and is superior to any Mac I've ever owned. SIP is enabled on both boards.

The Z370 (F15a) is being remade as an OpenCore machine, so it was "flattened" first: Low-level reformat of all attached SSDs, CMOS reset and BIOS reflash to obliterate any traces of Clover and any underlying RC script stuff.

The two machines are essentially identical in components except one has GB-Z370-GA7, a i7 8700K, and a Titan Ridge Rev 1 AIC in slot 4 (RP21). Both the Z390 and the Z370 were created as clean Mojave installations with an OC Mojave installer USB. I'm hoping to have it setup as an OpenCore 0.6.4 machine. The USBInjectAll 0.7.6 is commented-out until I move to Big Sur or Catalina. I'm writing this message on the Z370 right before I try the EFI you shared. Thanks again.

Update:
@CaseySJ : The config file worked great! Thank you. The only pre-os boot message I see now is:

OCS: Failed to parse string field as value with type integer and <0> context <ScanPolicy
 

Attachments

  • Hackintool Overview.png
    Hackintool Overview.png
    95.8 KB · Views: 45
  • TB TR overview with commas.png
    TB TR overview with commas.png
    50.9 KB · Views: 55
  • HW overview.png
    HW overview.png
    25.9 KB · Views: 43
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 5, 2020
Messages
271
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming M
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Very good. Now please try the slightly modified SSDT attached here. The filename is the same, so it's just a drop-in-replacement. Then reboot and let's check IOReg once again.


Ok, now something wiggled. On a cold boot, the thunderbolt bus appears(see image), but the apple TBD turns off part way through the boot and does not come back on again. Unplugging and plugging it back in again also does not bring it back on.

After a restart, then the thunderbolt bus goes away again and so no drivers loaded.

Also, when I try to shutdown the computer turns back on again after a second or two. I think it was doing this as well with the file you had sent me earlier this morning.



Screen Shot 2020-12-24 at 4.55.05 PM.png
 

Attachments

  • NTS_IOREG__12_24_4_56pm.ioreg
    32.9 MB · Views: 24

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,914
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks @CaseySJ -I'll try it in a sec. The Z390 is the Designare (F9i, CFG-unlocked, CSM off, iGPU off, RX580, iMP config -the usual setup) with the i9 9900KS that you see on the left under my icon. That machine is flawless and is superior to any Mac I've ever owned. SIP is enabled on both boards.

The Z370 (F15a) is being remade as an OpenCore machine, so it was "flattened" first: Low-level reformat of all attached SSDs, CMOS reset and BIOS reflash to obliterate any traces of Clover and any underlying RC script stuff.

The two machines are essentially identical in components except one has GB-Z370-GA7, a i7 8700K, and a Titan Ridge Rev 1 AIC in slot 4 (RP21). Both the Z390 and the Z370 were created as clean Mojave installations with an OC Mojave installer USB. I'm hoping to have it setup as an OpenCore 0.6.4 machine. The USBInjectAll 0.7.6 is commented-out until I move to Big Sur or Catalina. I'm writing this message on the Z370 right before I try the EFI you shared. Thanks again.

Update:
@CaseySJ : The config file worked great! Thank you. The only pre-os boot message I see now is:

OCS: Failed to parse string field as value with type integer and <0> context <ScanPolicy
There was another syntax error in the config.plist which has been fixed in attached file.

Regarding spurious characters at the end of the Titan Ridge name, there's most likely a buffer size error in the Thunderbolt SSDT. If you post that file I can try to fix it.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    13.9 KB · Views: 32

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,914
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, now something wiggled. On a cold boot, the thunderbolt bus appears(see image), but the apple TBD turns off part way through the boot and does not come back on again. Unplugging and plugging it back in again also does not bring it back on.

After a restart, then the thunderbolt bus goes away again and so no drivers loaded.

Also, when I try to shutdown the computer turns back on again after a second or two. I think it was doing this as well with the file you had sent me earlier this morning.
Unfortunately that exhausts the various options I can think of. Thunderbolt monitors are very finicky on Hackintosh and should ideally be avoided.

I'll post a warning at the top of Post 1 to avoid Thunderbolt monitors and some Corsair "smart" devices (including Corsair Commander Pro).
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,300
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Regarding spurious characters at the end of the Titan Ridge name, there's most likely a buffer size error in the Thunderbolt SSDT. If you post that file I can try to fix it.
Hello guys,
I would like to know if the SSDT is generated with HackinDROM or not
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2020
Messages
271
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming M
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Unfortunately that exhausts the various options I can think of. Thunderbolt monitors are very finicky on Hackintosh and should ideally be avoided.

I'll post a warning at the top of Post 1 to avoid Thunderbolt monitors and some Corsair "smart" devices (including Corsair Commander Pro).


It was worth a try. Thanks again for trying! I did solve the problem of the computer turning back on at shutdown by turning OFF wake from thunderbolt device in the bios.

I went back to Alex's SSDT that you modified and posted yesterday. I still have the issue with the sounds, camera, etc disabling after sleep, but all is good before sleep.

Here is a quick comparison of my experiences with flashed Titan Ridge(with GC-TITAN-RIDGE-NVM23-Elias64Fr.bin) and unflashed Alpine Ridge AIC with the Apple TBD:

Flashed Titan Ridge 1.0 AIC:

Pros:
- Apple USB bus within the monitor stays on after sleep, maintaining speakers, camera, USB ports on back of display
- Active TB bus that supports hot swapping
- Sleep works normally

Cons:

- Display doesn't turn on till part way through the boot up cycle. Requires a second monitor or ghost plug to boot into Mac OS.
- Monitor does not always turn on after sleep. Requires unplugging the TB cable and plugging back in to wake display up. Speakers and USB 2.0 devices in display still work after doing the hot plug.
- More cable management required and larger footprint. Needs power supply cable and USB 2.0 header cable.


Unflashed Apple Ridge Card 2.0 AIC:

Pros:

- Apple TBD turns on at post. Allowing for bios modifications or choosing a different operating system.
- Fewer cables to connect(no USB 2.0 header cable and no requirement for an additional power supply cable).
- No flashing required to use an apple TBD.
- Sleep works normally

Cons:
- USB 2.0 bus disappears after sleep along with other thunderbolt devices in the display. Speakers, Ethernet, USB hub on display, FaceTime camera stop working after sleep. Needs a restart to reeenable.

TBD:
- Does monitor turn on reliably after sleep?


Compared to my flashed Titan Ridge AIC, having the monitor turn on at post is definitely a huge plus. If the monitor turns on consistently after sleep, I'll probably stay with AR and hope I can eventually solve the issue with the USB 2.0 devices disappearing after sleep. I can always plug in an external speaker, and just do a restart to reactivate the camera(which I rarely use). In either case, it's definitely usable. I think the behavior with Titan Ridge is acceptable for those that have a second monitor always plugged in all the time. AR is better for a single monitor setup. I got around then need for a second monitor by using the HDMI ghost plug(your suggestion a few months ago!). I do plug in a second monitor if I need to get into the bios with TR. The alternative with TR is to boot into macOS, and then sometimes at restart the monitor stays active so you can go into the bios or select a different OS in the picker.


One more observation using the SSDT from Alex, before sleep I see devices under PCI with Thunderbolt@.

Screen Shot 2020-12-25 at 6.32.35 AM.png

After sleep, only the Alpine Ridge entry remains which I guess is the crux of the problem. How to get the Thunderbolt@ devices to reconnect after sleep. I see a couple other message threads in the SSDT section. I'll hunt around for potential solutions and report back if I find one. I am running Mojave, so small chance something may be fixed with an update.

Screen Shot 2020-12-25 at 7.37.11 AM.png
 
Last edited:
Top