Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Mar 13, 2014
Messages
2
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
All works perfect.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 21, 2012
Messages
110
Motherboard
GA Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ, I was able to successfully install Catalina on OC. I was able to successfully sign up to iCloud and everything seems to be working until I performed migration from High Sierra (used to run on Clover) using Migration Assistant. I have connected Time Machine backup as a source, however after everything was complete 2 strange things happened:

1. I was unable to boot into Catalina after Migration Assistant has finished. It seems due to kernel panic. See the picture attached.
2. After reseting nvram using OC and booting back into High Sierra through Clover I noticed there is bunch of '?' marks on the doc. It does look like this '?' reflect application from Catalina and it does not exist in High Sierra, but this is so weird as why would that happen??? I was moving stuff from High Sierra to Catalina and why would High Sierra be impacted. It is interesting that I noticed the same situation even when I boot from CLONE of High Sierra that I have and which was completely disconnected during the entire process but yet still get '??' marks on the doc even on the older system clone drive.

What would be the best practice of moving off from High Sierra to Catalina. I could do in place upgrade as well, but I thought installing the system form scratch and using Migration Assistance is the cleanest way, but yet can not start up and not sure how these strange things with '??' marks happen to the older High Sierra.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_7766.jpg
    IMG_7766.jpg
    3.3 MB · Views: 19
Joined
Nov 6, 2012
Messages
196
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
RX-580
I created a new 32g USB drive on OC 0.6.3 it would fail with an Apple logo. I changed the security setting to disabled. Then I noted it was crapping out in the intelmaui kext.. disabled that in the kernel drivers. Booted again from USB drive, instead of choosing the new big sur installer i tried the "DATA" partition again it picked up started running and said about 7 minutes.. boom it's up on Big Sur... I have no idea but I'm making backup right now !
Still sorting issues, my 10g wired aquantia works, but my Intel does not work. I have tried loading IntelMaui? But, if enabled, I can't boot. I tried Small Ttree. It boots but still no network. Anyone with an Xtreme on OC 0.6.3 have a working onboard Intel NIC ? My USB ports seem to be random, too.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
796
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
In my case sometimes not.. Thanks for suggestion though.. I did follow the philosophy of it all and cleared caches and /var folders.. rebooted.. currently the App Store does not list any updates available.. I had 3 waiting.. I deleted Blackmagic speed test (as a test) went to re download and it will now not download from store.

Have you checked your serial number?

A few months ago my App Store stopped working and on checking the serial number on Apple's website I found it was a valid one, ie a real Mac has the same one. It hasn't when I first used it but after about a year it suddenly became one.

All I had to do was generate new SN, UUID, etc., reboot, and it all started working again.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
136
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
Hi guys,

I'm running into some audio issues in Catalina and I wonder if anyone has a clue about whats going on,

Seems that all apps that I have installed that make use of "portaudio" lib ( Sibelius, UViworkstation, MuseScore, Camtasia and some others) can't play audio,

Troubleshooting with terminal I've found that all apps that have problems with audio playback share some form of this error:

Code:
||PaMacCore (AUHAL)|| Failed to open AUHAL component.||PaMacCore (AUHAL)|| Error on line 891: err='-50', msg=Unknown Error
Preview:: play() - couldn't start PortAudio stream, error = Invalid stream pointer

Thanks!
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
805
Motherboard
GA-Z390-Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 590
@CaseySJ, I was able to successfully install Catalina on OC. I was able to successfully sign up to iCloud and everything seems to be working until I performed migration from High Sierra (used to run on Clover) using Migration Assistant. I have connected Time Machine backup as a source, however after everything was complete 2 strange things happened:

1. I was unable to boot into Catalina after Migration Assistant has finished. It seems due to kernel panic. See the picture attached.
2. After reseting nvram using OC and booting back into High Sierra through Clover I noticed there is bunch of '?' marks on the doc. It does look like this '?' reflect application from Catalina and it does not exist in High Sierra, but this is so weird as why would that happen??? I was moving stuff from High Sierra to Catalina and why would High Sierra be impacted. It is interesting that I noticed the same situation even when I boot from CLONE of High Sierra that I have and which was completely disconnected during the entire process but yet still get '??' marks on the doc even on the older system clone drive.

What would be the best practice of moving off from High Sierra to Catalina. I could do in place upgrade as well, but I thought installing the system form scratch and using Migration Assistance is the cleanest way, but yet can not start up and not sure how these strange things with '??' marks happen to the older High Sierra.
I have had 2 bad experiences with Migration Assistant, as have others here. my belief is that some system files are migrated from old to new system, which of course isn't supposed to happen.

if it were me, I would do another fresh install of Catalina on your new drive, then manually transfer all your files and apps from High Sierra. the only downside to this is that since migration assistant won't be transferring your applications and associated settings, you'll need to re-license any apps that have licenses associated with them.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,815
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have had 2 bad experiences with Migration Assistant, as have others here. my belief is that some system files are migrated from old to new system, which of course isn't supposed to happen.
...
I use Migration Assistant. You have to uncheck "Other Files and Folders". BTW, I learned this trick a long time ago on tonymacx86. If I ever find the link, I'll post it here.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,020
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi guys,

I'm running into some audio issues in Catalina and I wonder if anyone has a clue about whats going on,

Seems that all apps that I have installed that make use of "portaudio" lib ( Sibelius, UViworkstation, MuseScore, Camtasia and some others) can't play audio,

Troubleshooting with terminal I've found that all apps that have problems with audio playback share some form of this error:

Code:
||PaMacCore (AUHAL)|| Failed to open AUHAL component.||PaMacCore (AUHAL)|| Error on line 891: err='-50', msg=Unknown Error
Preview:: play() - couldn't start PortAudio stream, error = Invalid stream pointer

Thanks!

Make sure UVI and Sibelius are selecting the right audio device. You'll also need to grant extra permissions to your audio programs in System Preferences<Security & Privacy as required.
 

Attachments

  • The-S-and-P.jpg
    The-S-and-P.jpg
    593.3 KB · Views: 26
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390-F6
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Have you checked your serial number?

A few months ago my App Store stopped working and on checking the serial number on Apple's website I found it was a valid one, ie a real Mac has the same one. It hasn't when I first used it but after about a year it suddenly became one.

All I had to do was generate new SN, UUID, etc., reboot, and it all started working again.
I will do it just in case.. I have no apps that care - thanks
 
Top