Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Apr 20, 2010
Messages
66
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Solved!

Following your recommendations here's what I did:

- after changing SecureBootModel to DEFAULT, mac didn't boot up.

Used USB Pendrive with EFI Opencore, to make changes on Mac config.plist

- Tried option 2, (but at that time forgot to enable the created patch), mac didn't boot up.

After a couple reboots, and without any reason Bluetooth came to life! Still don't understand why.

Meanwhile noticed that still had OpenCore 0.6.2 instead of 0.6.3, so followed your mini guide "Procedure for In-Place Upgrade of OpenCore from Earlier Version to New Version"

After update to OpenCore 0.6.3, noticed that the patch for Aquantia 10Gbps Ethernet was not enabled, so after enabling it and a restart, everything works now.

Thank you!
Bom dia/good morning @ummario,& @CaseySJ,

Just to confirm that I was already using this AQC107 patch and it works great but I'm using SecureBootModel set to "Disabled" - is there an issue with this @CaseySJ ?

@ummario If you haven't done so, please update to latest xtreme BIOS F9i, it's got "CFC LOCK" option in bios (finally!) and in combination with latest Big Sur has given me a boost in Cinebench & lower idle temperatures of around 36ºC!
Captura de ecrã 2020-11-26, às 10.02.37.png
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2017
Messages
72
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
@CaseySJ, my build has been going strong, but lately it's taking a long time to boot up, as long as 2 minutes.
Any advise is much appreciated. thanks.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2019
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ, my build has been going strong, but lately it's taking a long time to boot up, as long as 2 minutes.
Any advise is much appreciated. thanks.
If you've installed any software that adds extensions that load at boot, that could be a contributing factor. Keep in mind that software generally won't tell you that it's doing this like Little Snitch, I believe, or drivers for some hardware. External hardware you may have attached to the system could also be a culprit.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2018
Messages
34
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370N WiFi
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Vega 56
If Mojave was a fresh install, then an in-place upgrade to Catalina would be perfectly okay. But you would need to follow the Mojave-to-Catalina upgrade guide carefully. To unlock MSR 0xE2 (CFG-Lock) it is strongly recommended to install BIOS F9g in which this is already done by default. To find BIOS F9g, open the Quick Reference spoiler at the top of Post 1 and select the 9th bullet in Section 1.
Ok so I followed the update instructions, made the Boot test USB, deleted the extra kexts from /Library/Extensions and rebuilt the kext cache, then booted from the USB bootloader into my Mojave disk (which is a CCC backup). I got as far as bringing up the Catarina installer, but then it said Catarina couldn't be installed on the disk because it wasn't formatted AFPS. Turns out my CCC backups were not being formatted as APFS for some reason, and the disk was Journaled. So unable to convert the disk, I formatted it as APFS and redid the CCC backup from my main disk. I rebooted and tried to boot into the disk again but it failed. I made another USB to see if that was the problem. Then I realised I'd forgotten to delete the kexts this time. So I booted back into the disk, deleted the kexts and ran sudo kextcache. When I booted again it loaded for a bit then gave me the no-entry sign. I reformatted the disk, did the CCC clone again, deleted the kexts and ran sudo kextcache again, and when I try and boot from the USB bootloader I get the no entry sign again. I tried removing the USB and just booting from the drive and I get "error loading kernel cache".

Any ideas?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2012
Messages
110
Motherboard
GA Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
** OpenCore 0.6.3 EFI for Designare Z390 **
Supports Mojave, Catalina, and Big Sur
Please do not quote this post in its entirely. Use a link instead.

Requires OpenCore Configurator 2.16.1.0 or Newer

...
@CaseySJ , I'm wondering if there is a guide to properly migrate from Clover to OC? Does it simply boil down to manually rebuilding/cleaning up of the EFI folder and config.plist file? Can we reuse the config.plist that has been used with clover, or does it require creating a completely new one?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,353
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ, my build has been going strong, but lately it's taking a long time to boot up, as long as 2 minutes.
Any advise is much appreciated. thanks.
Are you running Clover or OpenCore? Which version?

If running the latest version of OpenCore, try disabling AudioDxe.EFI from OpenCore Configurator —> UEFI —> Drivers.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,353
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok so I followed the update instructions, made the Boot test USB, deleted the extra kexts from /Library/Extensions and rebuilt the kext cache, then booted from the USB bootloader into my Mojave disk (which is a CCC backup). I got as far as bringing up the Catarina installer, but then it said Catarina couldn't be installed on the disk because it wasn't formatted AFPS. Turns out my CCC backups were not being formatted as APFS for some reason, and the disk was Journaled. So unable to convert the disk, I formatted it as APFS and redid the CCC backup from my main disk. I rebooted and tried to boot into the disk again but it failed. I made another USB to see if that was the problem. Then I realised I'd forgotten to delete the kexts this time. So I booted back into the disk, deleted the kexts and ran sudo kextcache. When I booted again it loaded for a bit then gave me the no-entry sign. I reformatted the disk, did the CCC clone again, deleted the kexts and ran sudo kextcache again, and when I try and boot from the USB bootloader I get the no entry sign again. I tried removing the USB and just booting from the drive and I get "error loading kernel cache".

Any ideas?
When we do an in-place upgrade to Catalina, we must boot Mojave from the same disk that needs to be upgraded. Once the bootable backup is made and verified, the backup disk should be disconnected.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,353
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ , I'm wondering if there is a guide to properly migrate from Clover to OC? Does it simply boil down to manually rebuilding/cleaning up of the EFI folder and config.plist file? Can we reuse the config.plist that has been used with clover, or does it require creating a completely new one?
Sure, please see Quick Reference spoiler at the top of post 1. You’ll find a reference to “Replace Clover with OpenCore” in Section 1 inside the spoiler.

P.S. Please do not quote those guides in their entirety. See the text just below the title of the post.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
114
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Aorus RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm not familiar with Cubase, but does it have an option to explicit choose a GPU when more than one is available? Or does it choose a GPU automatically?

If Cubase is choosing the AMD RX 580, isn't that a good thing?
The fact is that it doesn’t give me options. Simply ask to update drivers. Also, some new plugins have whiteout gui. Something with the gpu is unsupported by the system
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,027
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The fact is that it doesn’t give me options. Simply ask to update drivers. Also, some new plugins have whiteout gui. Something with the gpu is unsupported by the system
Are you using HiDPI mode with your GPU?

Poke around here:




There may be other issues if you're using Waves or Plugin Alliance products.
 
Top