Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,178
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
nice one ! I might do that in the future but wifi and bluetooth with stock fenvi antennas do their job really well ;)
You stated that Bluetooth on Fenvi cards is flakey. Is that no longer the case?
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2019
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
You stated that Bluetooth on Fenvi cards is flakey. Is that no longer the case?
Flaky was the wrong choice of word there which probably meant it worked on and off. My old Fenvi card is just gone, it won't work no matter what you try, and it was all of a sudden with no changes to kexts (at least during that period).

I got a new Fenvi card today and both Bluetooth/WiFi worked without any drama, which mean that my one year old Fenvi card's Bluetooth module was burned out or gone. I tried to boot into Linux as well but no luck with the old Fenvi.

I think that these Fenvi cards are okay not great, but if say Bluetooth or WiFi suddenly stops working, its usually the card needs replacing.

I didn't do CMOS reset as I can simply return my old one.
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,170
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
After 479451246 tests I just found why my Fenvi's Bluetooth is buggy (don't tested wifi because I don't use it)
and finally solved it.
If in your PC case you have a SSD or HDD very close to the Fenvi card there's is big chances that your drive will create interferences and make Fenvis bandwidth very poor.

Tried the same thing with a Zigbee USB dongle on a Raspberry Pi + external USB SSD connected both directly to the Raspberry USB hub.
With a USB extension cable for the Zigbee USB dongle the issue is solved!

Also try to do not put Fenvi Antenna's cable close to any power cable (Display power cable, PC, Audio Interface...)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
805
Motherboard
GA-Z390-Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 590
After 479451246 tests I just found why my Fenvi's Bluetooth is buggy (don't tested wifi because I don't use it)
and finally solved it.
If in your PC case you have a SSD or HDD very close to the Fenvi card there's is big chances that your drive will create interferences and make Fenvis bandwidth very poor.

Tried the same thing with a Zigbee USB dongle on a Raspberry Pi + external USB SSD connected both directly to the Raspberry USB hub.
With a USB extension cable for the Zigbee USB dongle the issue is solved!

Also try to do not put Fenvi Antenna's cable close to any power cable (Display power cable, PC, Audio Interface...)
Good detective work!

There is also a known issue of interference of USB3 devices and Bluetooth. I have a NUC Hackintosh. the BT dongle would not work when plugged into the usb3 port, but does work with a 1-foot USB extension cable.

Here is one article:

 
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
114
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Aorus RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ How can I have the system recognize the iGPU?
Cause now it's only the RX 580. I've already enabled the internal HDMI port in hackintool and iGPU is enabled in BIOS.

Graphic tab within Mac info report error retrieving information after enabling HDMI port
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,178
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ How can I have the system recognize the iGPU?
Cause now it's only the RX 580. I've already enabled the internal HDMI port in hackintool and iGPU is enabled in BIOS.

Graphic tab within Mac info report error retrieving information after enabling HDMI port
Because you have AMD RX 580, you should not enable the on-board HDMI port because that can create a number of problems that we've discussed in this thread.

Instead, keep the iGPU in headless mode with Platform ID 0x3E980003. To check if iGPU is enabled, simply run IORegistryExplorer and scroll (not search) the device tree on left side until you see IGPU@2. If the first sub-node is AppleIntelFramebuffer... then iGPU is configured properly.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2014
Messages
240
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700
Graphics
Radeon Pro WX 9100
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ I am up on Big Sur. I had another crash on Catalina where the screens went blank (I was having these infrequently before) and had the bright idea to check my Kexts again in Library/Extensions. THere was one or two form 2013. Not Hackintosh related but old. I Googled them and low and behold, they showed up in people reporting Mac crashes. I cleaned them out and upgraded. So far so good! FCP Runs great and that's what matters to me.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2019
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Do we have a good guide or link to dual booting with OpenCore? I’ve managed to get it working (seems relatively simple with separate drives) but am trying to find out how to change the boot option from No Name to Pop!OS.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
5700XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
When I boot up it plays back smoothly. If I log out and back in it will no longer play back smoothly. It stutters badly. I’m on smbios iMac Pro, no iGpu.
This thread moves fast! Just bumping this reply in case my reply got buried too quick. Thanks!
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
114
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Aorus RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Because you have AMD RX 580, you should not enable the on-board HDMI port because that can create a number of problems that we've discussed in this thread.

Instead, keep the iGPU in headless mode with Platform ID 0x3E980003. To check if iGPU is enabled, simply run IORegistryExplorer and scroll (not search) the device tree on left side until you see IGPU@2. If the first sub-node is AppleIntelFramebuffer... then iGPU is configured properly.
It is, but still cubase doesn't seem to find it.
The gpu drivers are up to date within windows and of course mojave is at latest build. This doesn't happen on a macbook or in windows
 
Top