Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,314
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hi Casey sorry, I haven't seen this message before.

I am looking in my bios but this option does not exist, only enabled or disabled

Edit: I have GPIO disabled in bios
Enable GPIO and try again
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2019
Messages
34
Motherboard
Asus X99-A II
CPU
i7-6800K + (10.14.6) Mojave
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Enable GPIO and try again
Same thing. No hot plug here. PCI report does not detect Thunderbolt if my device is not connected before turning on the computer.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2019
Messages
34
Motherboard
Asus X99-A II
CPU
i7-6800K + (10.14.6) Mojave
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
this is my configuration in bios. any ideas??

thanks in advance
 

Attachments

  • IMG_4858.jpeg
    IMG_4858.jpeg
    984.8 KB · Views: 47
  • IMG_4859.jpeg
    IMG_4859.jpeg
    987.7 KB · Views: 45
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,314
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
this is my configuration in bios. any ideas??

thanks in advance
Which options you have in Security Level? if there's "No Security" select it
Thunderbolt USB Support -> Enabled
GPIO3 Force Par -> Enabled
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
46
Motherboard
Designare z390
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Hello @kejocu,

Some standard background questions:
  • How long was the system running properly (i.e. without this issue)?
  • When did this issue first appear?
  • How frequently does this it occur?
  • Have you tried isolating variables (process of elimination)? Examples would be:
    • Playing the same 4K videos using QuickTime Player?
    • Checking if IGPU in BIOS is set to Enabled and Platform ID is set to 0x3E980003 (simply run Hackintool and it will show you the current Platform ID in the opening screen).
    • Possibly swapping the AMD GPU if you have access to another one.
@CaseySJ So both issues I mentioned have been issues since day one as far as I can tell. The system freeze issue occurs any time I play a 4k video (all mkv files, so no QuickTime), though that isn't too often. IGPU is enabled, and my Platform ID is set to 0x3E980003. I happen to have another identical AMD GPU (sapphire pulse 580), so I'll try swapping that out.

My bluetooth, however, is a more pressing concern, especially since testing out the 4k video bug will likely result in another power cut (but right now bluetooth is still broken anyway). To reterate, bluetooth stops working whenever power is cut suddenly and the system is not allowed to shut down on its own. Usually resetting NVRAM and booting into an old install fixes it, but not this time. I might try buying a new wifi+bt card to debug... but I was hoping to hold out to do that until some wifi 6 cards are available.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 28, 2019
Messages
34
Motherboard
Asus X99-A II
CPU
i7-6800K + (10.14.6) Mojave
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Which options you have in Security Level? if there's "No Security" select it
Thunderbolt USB Support -> Enabled
GPIO3 Force Par -> Enabled
I follow kgp guide in BIOS settings.
 

Attachments

  • F89B481D-65AB-40F7-81AA-6018B9561C45.jpeg
    F89B481D-65AB-40F7-81AA-6018B9561C45.jpeg
    3.5 MB · Views: 49
Joined
Aug 22, 2018
Messages
446
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello Paulo,

Good to hear from you again!

Ready for some bad news? Or maybe just "neutral" news?

Thunderbolt SSDT is not strictly necessary on Mojave or Catalina or Big Sur. The same behavior will occur in all of these operating systems.

Thunderbolt SSDT provides these additional capabilities:
  • Hot plug
  • Ability to change Bus ID when two or more controllers are present
  • Ability to set Link Speed to 40 Gbps instead of 20 Gbps
  • Ability to enable Thunderbolt Switch on Port 7 for Titan Ridge and Port 5 for Alpine Ridge
    • Target Disk Mode will not work unless Thunderbolt Switch is enabled
    • Some Thunderbolt NAS drives such as QNAP also require Thunderbolt Switch
Hi CaseySJ! Speaking about this: like you maybe recall I have Alpine Ridge unflashed and the ssdt you provided me. I'm very happy with the result (I have Caldigit TS3, it works almost perfect). Do you think I can improve the speed from 20 Gbps to 40 Gbps?
 

Attachments

  • Captură de ecran din 2020-11-09 la 23.17.20.png
    Captură de ecran din 2020-11-09 la 23.17.20.png
    437.8 KB · Views: 46
  • Captură de ecran din 2020-11-09 la 23.17.43.png
    Captură de ecran din 2020-11-09 la 23.17.43.png
    507.6 KB · Views: 39
  • Captură de ecran din 2020-11-09 la 23.18.21.png
    Captură de ecran din 2020-11-09 la 23.18.21.png
    521.1 KB · Views: 39
  • Captură de ecran din 2020-11-09 la 23.19.03.png
    Captură de ecran din 2020-11-09 la 23.19.03.png
    245.9 KB · Views: 43
  • SSDT-TbtOnPch-Gigabyte-Z390-AORUS.aml
    5.2 KB · Views: 40
  • Captură de ecran din 2020-11-09 la 23.15.27.png
    Captură de ecran din 2020-11-09 la 23.15.27.png
    357 KB · Views: 43
Joined
Nov 28, 2019
Messages
34
Motherboard
Asus X99-A II
CPU
i7-6800K + (10.14.6) Mojave
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Which options you have in Security Level? if there's "No Security" select it
Thunderbolt USB Support -> Enabled
GPIO3 Force Par -> Enabled

Do you think Pin 3 and 5 jumper force power can work ??

I have connected tb header
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,823
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
this is my configuration in bios. any ideas??

thanks in advance

Which options you have in Security Level? if there's "No Security" select it
Thunderbolt USB Support -> Enabled
GPIO3 Force Par -> Enabled

Do you think Pin 3 and 5 jumper force power can work ??

I have connected tb header

What options are available under Thunderbolt Boot Support? If you only see Enabled and Disabled, have you tried both settings?

Screen Shot 2020-11-09 at 1.33.14 PM.png


On Asus X99 we should use Thunderbolt header (THB_C) and we should not connect the middle and top pins.

Do you have any other Thunderbolt devices with which to test hot plug?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,823
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi CaseySJ! Speaking about this: like you maybe recall I have Alpine Ridge unflashed and the ssdt you provided me. I'm very happy with the result (I have Caldigit TS3, it works almost perfect). Do you think I can improve the speed from 20 Gbps to 40 Gbps?
Hello @StefanAM,

Your Thunderbolt Bus screenshot shows that 40 Gbps is already enabled (see Port 2). Port 1 shows 20 Gbps because the device connected to that port only supports 20 Gbps (probably a Thunderbolt 2 device).
 
Top