Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Nov 7, 2013
Messages
108
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Please check if agdpmod=pikera is present in Boot Args.

Edit: If you use config-AMD-GPU.plist, this argument will be there by default.
Just want to make sure that I understand this since I’ve been doing it wrong for about a year lol... so I would only use the intel config file If I do not have a graphics card?
Ie. even know I have an intel GPU, since I’m plugged into the RX 5700, I would want the AMD version?
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,300
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Just want to make sure that I understand this since I’ve been doing it wrong for about a year lol... so I would only use the intel config file If I do not have a graphics card?
Ie. even know I have an intel GPU, since I’m plugged into the RX 5700, I would want the AMD version?
Yes, now you understand it!
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
25,930
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just want to make sure that I understand this since I’ve been doing it wrong for about a year lol... so I would only use the intel config file If I do not have a graphics card?
Ie. even know I have an intel GPU, since I’m plugged into the RX 5700, I would want the AMD version?
correct, you are using an AMD card to plug your monitor in, not your intel
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
298
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
UPDATE 07-11-2020:
Finally I got rid of the issue with final cut pro X. CaseySJ I found the post you mention OpenCore Sanity Checker. So I used my config.plist and fixed all the errors Sanity Checker was reporting. After that Finder and fcpx work w/o issues. I can't talk enough how great Sanity Checker is!!! Hope at Tuesday BigSur will launch and soon have a great guide from CaseySJ. Best Regards!
Sorry, I missed your post from before but it may be related to what I was experiencing recently. In my case as in yours, after browsing with Safari, the 'pkd' and 'lsd' processes would ramp up and other applications, like FCP would not allow an open/save dialog box to open. With activity monitor, I forced those processes to quit, and everything goes back to normal. I have a lot of plugins loaded in FCP and there is something that Safari is doing in connection with those plug ins that seems to cause the 'pkd' process to go crazy. As long as I don't launch Safari, I'm fine. What issues in the Sanity Checker did you correct that seems to have fixed the problem for you?
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
289
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Sorry, I missed your post from before but it may be related to what I was experiencing recently. In my case as in yours, after browsing with Safari, the 'pkd' and 'lsd' processes would ramp up and other applications, like FCP would not allow an open/save dialog box to open. With activity monitor, I forced those processes to quit, and everything goes back to normal. I have a lot of plugins loaded in FCP and there is something that Safari is doing in connection with those plug ins that seems to cause the 'pkd' process to go crazy. As long as I don't launch Safari, I'm fine. What issues in the Sanity Checker did you correct that seems to have fixed the problem for you?
Thank you for the info. Unfortunately I stopped these processes by "force quit" in activity monitor but still have the issue. It's something else that I cannot find for long time. My 2nd hackintosh which is almost the same as my main doesn't have these issues and all plugings are installed also. This is because the installation went through clover. My main didn't have this issue also when I had it with clover. With OpenCore these issues showed up.
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,300
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Thank you for the info. Unfortunately I stopped these processes by "force quit" in activity monitor but still have the issue. It's something else that I cannot find for long time. My 2nd hackintosh which is almost the same as my main doesn't have these issues and all plugings are installed also. This is because the installation went through clover. My main didn't have this issue also when I had it with clover. With OpenCore these issues showed up.
Try to swap your storage drives and see if you still have theses issues
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2020
Messages
51
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Hello guys. Is there a guide/link to the post on how to install Supplemental updates? I just got a notification about one for 10.15.7. I checked the first post and the last 15-20 pages, but couldn't find how people are doing it.
I've never installed any updates before (I only did fresh OS installation twice).
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2019
Messages
7
Motherboard
Thinkstation P330 Q370
CPU
i9 9900
Graphics
RX590
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @sybil,

Yes you may post the Thunderbolt firmware file for HP Thunderbolt Add-in-Card. Have you tried flashing the following modified firmware to that card? (This is located in the Thunderbolt Repository.)

View attachment 494454

Regarding the DROM, we should enable Port 7 as follows, using ThunderboltUtil:
Bash:
setport 0x07 ""
Then change the UniqueID (UID): (replace 112233445566 with six random hex numbers)
Bash:
setuid 0011223344556600
Then update checksums and create the DROM:
Bash:
repairchecksums
makedromdsl
Attached is the firmware dumped from HP Thunderbolt PCIE Add-in-card.
Thank you very much.

I haven't tried flashing the modified firmware of Asrock Z490 itx/tb3 to my HP PCIE Add-in-card, I found they have different IO name (HP-15E8/Asrock-15E7).

I try to use SSDT with changed IO path RP09 to active the HP TB3 Add-in-card, the Thunderbolt says that no drivers are loaded, please find the attached IO registry below.

BIOS setting:Thunderbolt Security - No Security
 

Attachments

  • HPFWBCP.bin.zip
    428.2 KB · Views: 24
  • IO Registry of HP TB3 Add-in-card.ioreg
    8.6 MB · Views: 23
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
35
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z390-Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
WX8200
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Does anybody know why my System Report has iPad, iPad 2, iPad 3, and iPhone as en6, en11, en12 and en5 listed?
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot.png
    Screen Shot.png
    108.6 KB · Views: 35
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,300
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hello guys. Is there a guide/link to the post on how to install Supplemental updates? I just got a notification about one for 10.15.7. I checked the first post and the last 15-20 pages, but couldn't find how people are doing it.
I've never installed any updates before (I only did fresh OS installation twice).
update OpenCore to 0.6.3
System Preferences -> Software Update
if there's no any new update notification check Software Update again
 
Top