Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
25,931
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Isn’t that only for GPU though? Why would I want AMD when I have the intel GPU?
Screenshot 2020-11-07 172624.png
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
820
Motherboard
GA-Z390-Aorus Pro
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 590
You're working on Z390 AORUS Extreme Thunderbolt Controller or on Add-in-Card Alpin-Ridge?

What you mean by this?

Fixed last DROM's byte, now you can edit that field.

If all fields in Customise window are blank that mean there's no ThunderboltDROM section in your SSDT.
HackinDROM will dont add it for you, because HackinDROM dont know which DROM you need

if you get a weird page like that its because there's an error in your SSDT so compilation failed! Maybe you forgot to close a bracket, or some comma error. But I think its because you tried to Compile without having ThunderboltDROM section in your SSDT.


Yes, I developed this tool, but I dont know much about Hackintosh and SSDT's haha, but if you explain me what you want to achieve maybe I can help you.
thanks. that explains why I had the issues with the tool.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,915
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm installing my new Designare today. I have flashed the TB chip.
I will use HackinDROM to create a custom SSDT.
in addition to that, are any other SSDT's required?
what about mods to my DSDT?

thanks
No other SSDTs or changes to DSDT are needed.

If you have already flashed the Designare's on-board Titan Ridge, we must welcome you into the Society of Mad Scientists. :)
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,915
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
still working on the Aorus/alpine ridge

I used your tool to create a new SSDT--I chose the alpine ridge item from the selector in the tool.

I compiled and downloaded, and renamed as SSDT-Aorus-DROM.aml

however, it didn't activate the TB controller.

I replaced it with the old SSDT I had been using and it did activate TB.

then I tried to use your tool to modify my SSDT. I selected my file, uploaded, clicked on Customize/compile, and tried to fill in all the fields. however, I was not allowed to type any value in the last box of the custom DROM address. leaving that box blank, I clicked Compile. I was then presented with another screen, attached as screen shot 1. I clicked the download button and instead of downloading I was presented with another screen, attached as screen shot 2.

would you be kind enough to modify my SSDT?
thanks!
If you are using an add-in-card, it is necessary to determine its PCI address such as RP21 or RP05 or something else. IORegistryExplorer will give us that information. Feel free to select File --> Save As... and post the saved IOReg file.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,915
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have always used Auto -- Whenever I use 'enable' in BIOS and I'm plugged into motherboard, it has weird glitches with graphics and has black screen when plugged into graphics card


EDIT: When I enable IGFX in BIOS on 0.6.1 it works when plugged into Graphics card. When I tried in 0.6.3 it didnt work though. Am I missing a boot argument using the standard?
Please check if agdpmod=pikera is present in Boot Args.

Edit: If you use config-AMD-GPU.plist, this argument will be there by default.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
820
Motherboard
GA-Z390-Aorus Pro
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 590
No other SSDTs or changes to DSDT are needed.

If you have already flashed the Designare's on-board Titan Ridge, we must welcome you into the Society of Mad Scientists. :)
I'm trying to get flashed AR working on my Aorus Pro, relocated into another case, and then I can get on with the installation of the Designare. I know that membership in the Society of Mad Scientists is highly coveted, and I aspire to membership some day.

where I am (or as we say in indiana, where I'm at) is I have flashed the AR with Elias1 bin, and DROM SSDT (attached) work fine audio, camera, pass-through TB port). the display lights up after display sleep, but after system sleep, a mouse click or key press makes the fans spin up, but the system seems to be frozen--no display, and no ability to access via screen sharing. what log can in inspect for a cause, and where is it located?

I have the _E17 to XE17 patch in config.plist, but I seem to remember that the _INI to XINI patch isn't needed. are both these assumptions correct?

are there any BIOS settings that come to mind that I should experiment with?

thanks
 

Attachments

  • ssdt-Tbolt-DROM.aml
    2.1 KB · Views: 29
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
820
Motherboard
GA-Z390-Aorus Pro
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 590
If you are using an add-in-card, it is necessary to determine its PCI address such as RP21 or RP05 or something else. IORegistryExplorer will give us that information. Feel free to select File --> Save As... and post the saved IOReg file.
the AR AIC is at RP21, which is consistent with the SSDT I'm using (attached to above post)

so the issue remains as system freeze during/after sleep
 

Attachments

  • Barn iMac IOreg .zip
    1.1 MB · Views: 22
Top