Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,536
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Please don't hate me for this... :)
  • @xtreem.p and I both have a Z390 Desginare Hackintosh and an AMD B550 Vision D Ryzentosh.
  • He just acquired and installed the new 3rd Generation Ryzen 5 5600X six core, 12 thread CPU (US $299).
  • That processor is 61% faster than my eight core Intel i7-9700K in single core and 30% faster in multi core despite having two fewer cores.
  • This also confirms that 3rd Generation Ryzen processors are compatible with macOS (with standard 17H AMD-OSX kernel patches).
Screen Shot 2020-11-06 at 4.05.38 PM.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,310
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
If you have a problem with Home.app or HomeKit on Catalina or Big Sur
Update your tvOS to the latest version (18K57).
Helped me!

IMG_1263.JPG
IMG_1265.JPG
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,310
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Please don't hate me for this... :)
  • @xtreem.p and I both have a Z390 Desginare Hackintosh and an AMD B550 Vision D Ryzentosh.
  • He just acquired and installed the new 3rd Generation Ryzen 5 5600X six core, 12 thread CPU (US $299).
  • That processor is 61% faster than my eight core Intel i7-9700K in single core and 30% faster in multi core despite having two fewer cores.
  • This also confirms that 3rd Generation Ryzen processors are compatible with macOS (with standard 17H AMD-OSX kernel patches).
Ryzen 3700X - 380€
My I9900KF - 450€ (bought 550€) :rolleyes:
I9900KF.png
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
305
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 Desgnare EX
CPU
i9-9900x
Graphics
W5700
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hot plug should work without having to flash the Thunderbolt firmware.
  • Which Thunderbolt device are you using?
  • Please download and run IORegistryExplorer and select File --> Save As..., then post the saved file.
I am using Ultrafine 5K monitors. Hot Plug working well in Z390 Designare. but Not in this board X299 EX Designare. Monitor is on but No USB functionalities like camera, audio, brightness control. Z390 board works well with it after hot-plug applied. The thing I want to have hot plug working in this board is about after sleep/wake. After wake from sleep, all the USB functions not working like I told. I used Z370 with Alpine ridge and Z390 Designare with SSDT. And those boards were working fine with the monitors USB functions after sleep/wake. Only cold boot in X299 board, makes USB functions back.
 

Attachments

  • Mac Pro Desk.ioreg
    33.9 MB · Views: 37
Joined
Aug 22, 2014
Messages
366
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Please don't hate me for this... :)
  • @xtreem.p and I both have a Z390 Desginare Hackintosh and an AMD B550 Vision D Ryzentosh.
  • He just acquired and installed the new 3rd Generation Ryzen 5 5600X six core, 12 thread CPU (US $299).
  • That processor is 61% faster than my eight core Intel i7-9700K in single core and 30% faster in multi core despite having two fewer cores.
  • This also confirms that 3rd Generation Ryzen processors are compatible with macOS (with standard 17H AMD-OSX kernel patches).
View attachment 494582

I do hate you for this lol. Because now I need to save money to get this besides the AMD RX 6800 XT. I love and do hate our hobby.
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
46
Motherboard
Designare z390
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
@CaseySJ I've been experiencing some really strange system freezes that come with crazy harsh sounds (over DisplayPort, through the monitor), and the only way to get out of it is to cut power. This only happens when playing 4k video (VLC or IINA), minutes/seconds in. Any ideas what this could be or how to fix it? My current guesses are that it is a memory issue or a GPU issue.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 16, 2018
Messages
93
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Glad to see this build discussion still kicking and alive. My system is still running and kicking like a beast, and I'm really grateful for the existence of this thread.

Seeing I'm a couple releases of OpenCore behind I wanted to update my system to the latest Catalina & OpenCore 0.6.4.
I've found mentions of the 0.6.3 mini-guide, but couldn't find it, nor could I find one for 0.6.4. Is there a guide out already?


Found the test EFI @CaseySJ posted a few posts before. Booted fine, and running without issues here.

Edit:
Also reading the Z490 thread, I'm understanding the onboard WiFi chip working on that board. Is it possible to activate it on the Z390 Designare as well? I couldn't find info on this here.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 28, 2019
Messages
34
Motherboard
Asus X99-A II
CPU
i7-6800K + (10.14.6) Mojave
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Good morning community

First of all say that thank you very much for the great altruistic work that you do to all, it is really priceless !!

After following many guides, I have modified firmware on Titan Ridge v1 (GC-TITAN-RIDGE-NVM23-Elias64Fr.bin)

I have DROM modified with the web method

I still have some problems in my pci report. I've reached my capacity limit hahaha. Thanks in advance !!

*PD: sorry for my Google English, I'm clumsy Spanish :lol:
 

Attachments

  • Captura de pantalla 2020-11-07 a las 11.00.01.png
    Captura de pantalla 2020-11-07 a las 11.00.01.png
    172 KB · Views: 45
  • Captura de pantalla 2020-11-07 a las 11.00.18.png
    Captura de pantalla 2020-11-07 a las 11.00.18.png
    380.8 KB · Views: 46
  • Captura de pantalla 2020-11-07 a las 11.00.29.png
    Captura de pantalla 2020-11-07 a las 11.00.29.png
    250.2 KB · Views: 38
  • iMac Pro (ioreg report).ioreg
    8.3 MB · Views: 34
  • EFI.zip
    15.9 MB · Views: 30
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,310
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Seeing I'm a couple releases of OpenCore behind I wanted to update my system to the latest Catalina & OpenCore 0.6.4.
I've found mentions of the 0.6.3 mini-guide, but couldn't find it, nor could I find one for 0.6.4. Is there a guide out already?
OpenCore 0.6.4 isn't out yet, only a beta version is available.
You can update to 0.6.3, EFI folder is here
Please follow this guide to transfer PlatformInfo
Also reading the Z490 thread, I'm seeing the onboard WiFi chip working on that board. Is it possible to activate it on the Z390 Designare as well? I couldn't find info on this here.
We have tested Z390 Designare's onboard Intel Wifi but current state of results is not satisfactory
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,536
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Good morning community

First of all say that thank you very much for the great altruistic work that you do to all, it is really priceless !!

After following many guides, I have modified firmware on Titan Ridge v1 (GC-TITAN-RIDGE-NVM23-Elias64Fr.bin)

I have DROM modified with the web method

I still have some problems in my pci report. I've reached my capacity limit hahaha. Thanks in advance !!

*PD: sorry for my google english, I'm clumsy spanish :lol:
Hello @fpazcas,

The System Information --> PCI screenshot actually looks correct. When we connect Thunderbolt devices to the system, macOS automatically generates PCI name, description, and slot information. We can override the default values by creating Device Properties, but we should not do this for devices that are not permanently connected.

So in other words, the "PCI" screen is just informational, but not functional. As long as it says that the drivers for Thunderbolt devices are loaded, there is nothing to worry about.
 
Top