Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Aug 17, 2019
Messages
126
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Simply go to BIOS Setup —> Boot and select the macOS SSD as first boot priority. The top priority might be “OpenCore” so change it to macOS SSD. Then on next boot it will change back to OpenCore, which is fine.
Hello Casey,

I think this may have fixed the issue however I am unable to get past the OC Picker Menu, I have no mouse or keyboard control, infact, it appears as though the system has crashed at that point as it doesn't automatically select the boot option and then continue after any time has passed. I am not too certain as to what other setting have changed in your ZIP file because all previous OC updates have work like a charm.

I did notice that in 0.6.3 you choose the "Board ID" as one of the credentials to be copied across whereas all previous OC versions you have selected the "Board Serial Number" to be copied across.

I will attempt to create the USB from scratch and re-download your zip file.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2019
Messages
7
Motherboard
Thinkstation P330 Q370
CPU
i9 9900
Graphics
RX590
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ

Could you advise if I can modify the firmware of my HP Thunderbolt add on card? I found that it has same controller with Asrock Z490 ITX, both of which are Titan Ridge LP controller with one port. I dumped the firmware and compared with the DROM of Asrock Z490 ITX, I attached a capture below. If it is possible I can post the dumped firmware here. It is really honor to have an opportunity to test it and I will take all responsibility for any firmware damage, I have bought the same firmware chips.

I was confused that there is an "inactive" tips in this DROM of HP Thunderbolt add on card, it doesn't appear on my GC-Titan card (rev1.0).

sources:
/Users/marvin/Desktop/HPFWBCP.bin:active:v39:nvm_v39.6f00:0x4200
/Users/marvin/Desktop/HPFWBCP.bin:inactive:v39:nvm_v39.6f00:0x82200

marvin@MarvindeMac ~ % usedromnum 1
marvin@MarvindeMac ~ % dumpdrom
0x01) UID: 0x00F0000000000000
0x0d) Device ROM Revision: 1
0x10) Vendor ID: 0xF0
0x12) Device ID: 0x846D
0x14) Device Revision: 0x1
0x15) EEPROM Revision: 1
0x16) 1: 800280000000
0x1e) 2: 900180000000
0x26) - 3:
0x28) - 4:
0x2a) 5: 500000
0x2f) 6: 500000
0x34) - 7:
0x36) 8: 200100640000000000
0x41) 9: 80
0x44) - A:
0x46) - B:
0x48) 1: "HP Inc."
0x52) 2: "HP Thunderbolt Option Card"
0x6f) End
 

Attachments

  • Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    98.4 KB · Views: 37
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 7, 2020
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte designare z390
CPU
I7 9700K
Graphics
rx580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have a designare z390 card and I flash the thunderbolt with the psyche file everything works fine but on Windows it does not work I have a 27 inch imac 2011 as a thunderbold monitor do I need to put a driver for display on Windows please help me ??
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,915
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, CaseySJ I applied your SSDT-TB3HP.aml and DTGP but no luck for Hot-Plug. But if I try to Flashing SPI Rom with Raspberry device, it would work for Hot -plug natively? Then which firmware will be working for my board?
Hot plug should work without having to flash the Thunderbolt firmware.
  • Which Thunderbolt device are you using?
  • Please download and run IORegistryExplorer and select File --> Save As..., then post the saved file.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,915
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Casey,

Thanks in advance for your help, I'm using a Lenovo Thinkstation desktop with a Lenovo motherboard. I jumped the top and middle pins of the 5-pin TB header when holding the card vertically with PCIe pins facing the floor.

The USB founction of GC-Titan card still can be used in win10 after the firmware was flashed, both cold boot and warm boot without any device pluged. The Thunderbolt contractor 15EB will appeared in Windows device manager at the moment. Both the Thunderbolt eGPU enclosure (Razer core V2) and TB3 SSD box pluged will cause the system failed to power off when restarting. The TB3 device cannot be recognized but it would lighted as normal.

There are some things interesting on MacOS, the Thunderbolt will change status when I change the security leval of Thunderbolt setting in BIOS.
Security leval: User confirm--NO drivers was loaded ; NO security--NO hardware was found
When we flash the Thunderbolt firmware, it puts the controller in "OS Managed Mode" instead of "Internal Connection Manager" (ICM) mode. Windows and Linux require ICM. MacOS works with both ICM and OS Managed Mode, but OS Managed Mode allows macOS to provide extra Thunderbolt functionality (such as Thunderbolt Bus).

This is why the Thunderbolt Firmware Repository states: After flashing, Thunderbolt may not work fully under Windows and Linux.

Screen Shot 2020-11-06 at 3.38.50 AM.png


So let's focus only on the macOS issues:
  • Please run IORegistryExplorer and select File --> Save As..., then post the saved file.
  • Also, Thunderbolt Security in BIOS must be set to No Security.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,915
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello Casey,

I think this may have fixed the issue however I am unable to get past the OC Picker Menu, I have no mouse or keyboard control, infact, it appears as though the system has crashed at that point as it doesn't automatically select the boot option and then continue after any time has passed. I am not too certain as to what other setting have changed in your ZIP file because all previous OC updates have work like a charm.

I did notice that in 0.6.3 you choose the "Board ID" as one of the credentials to be copied across whereas all previous OC versions you have selected the "Board Serial Number" to be copied across.

I will attempt to create the USB from scratch and re-download your zip file.
Thank you -- you're absolutely right!! Mistake in the screenshot -- it should specify "Board Serial Number" instead of "Board ID". This has been fixed.

Screen Shot 2020-11-06 at 3.47.17 AM.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,915
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
** CORRECTION to OpenCore 0.6.3 Mini-Guide **

If you recently upgraded to OpenCore 0.6.3, please note that the instructions for Board Serial Number were wrong.
  • The original OpenCore 0.6.3 mini-guide instructed you to copy Board ID from Hackintool into the MLB field in OpenCore Configurator.
  • However, we need to copy Board Serial Number from Hackintool (as shown below) into MLB.
  • Please make this correction. Your original Board Serial Number can be found in the previous OpenCore 0.6.2 config.plist.

Screen Shot 2020-11-06 at 3.47.17 AM.png
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,300
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
** CORRECTION to OpenCore 0.6.3 Mini-Guide **

If you recently upgraded to OpenCore 0.6.3, please note that the instructions for Board Serial Number were wrong.
  • The original OpenCore 0.6.3 mini-guide instructed you to copy Board ID from Hackintool into the MLB field in OpenCore Configurator.
  • However, we need to copy Board Serial Number from Hackintool (as shown below) into MLB.
  • Please make this correction. Your original Board Serial Number can be found in the previous OpenCore 0.6.2 config.plist.

View attachment 494450
Lets use CopyConfig next time
 
Top