Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,774
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ,

I've been following this thread pretty attentively since its inception and I don't think I've seen a mention about getting the red USB Type-A ports running at their 3.1 gen 2 speeds of 10Gbps as reported by Gigabyte's documentation of the Z390 Designare. I'm just curious about whether or not this is even possible as I was fairly certain that 10Gbps was relegated to Type-C USB ports on real Macs until I noticed yesterday that Everymac.com reports that the 2018 Mac mini has 3.1 gen 2 Type-A ports. I'm currently awaiting some C to A adapters that should be able to do 10Gbps to investigate this claim on my own Mac mini.

With that being said, I just wanted to bring this up as a point of curiousity and completely understand if it is of minimal interest for you to look into or pursue. Finding devices and accessories that use Type-A 3.1 gen 2 seems to be the most difficult thing to do.
When your Type-C to Type-A adapter arrives, I would be curious to know what speeds you get on those red ports...
 
Joined
May 8, 2011
Messages
41
Motherboard
ASUS B150M-A/M.2
CPU
i5 8400
Graphics
RX 560
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Now I got thunderbolt working on header-less mainboard. I appreciate it.
But I have some problems. I hope your advice.
* I'm using GC-Alpine-Ridge with connecting jumper.

1. No hot plug : It should be connected before power on and hot plug is not working.
2. Thunderbolt@5 is empty. Is this important?

Screen Shot 2020-10-24 at 12.48.48 AM.png

EFI & ioreg attached.

* Solved : Edit TB SSDT. In my case, I plugged tb card in pcie 16x. So, I edited RP21 to PEG0 & PXSX to PEGP..
then, Volla! IOThunderboltPort@5 shows informations & hot plug is working.
 

Attachments

  • Archive.zip
    8.8 MB · Views: 38
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
78
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
To determine the Root Port name, we can simply download and run IORegistryExplorer. Then select File --> Save As... and post the saved file.
Attached!

***edit***
Im also confused as to why we would need to use the DTPG.aml file attached to the thunderbolt drom micro guide post. If I use that DTPG file the TB3 goes from 20Gbs x2 to 40Gbs without a proper ssdt installed.
 

Attachments

  • JLO’s iMac.ioreg
    8.7 MB · Views: 38
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 6, 2010
Messages
68
Motherboard
AsRock Z490 ITX/TB3
CPU
i7 107000K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ Just wanted to report another success with thunderbolt firmware patching that could help others. I finally managed to extract the thunderbolt firmware from the ASRock Z490 itx/tb3 which has the Titan Ridge LP (low power, one port) chip, device ID 15e7. Tried the four byte patch approach initially but this resulted in devices never connecting even though the IOregistry showed a full thunderbolt tree. Tried all sorts of different combinations of patches and was on the verge of giving up when I thought I'd try your NVM50 patched firmware for the Vision D. I replaced all instances of the thunderbolt device id's for the Vision chip with those for the LP chip. So:
All instances of EA15 -> E715 in the first section of the active region
All instances of 8680EA15 -> 8680E715 in the firmware
All instances of 8680EB15 -> 8680E815 in the firmware
All instances of 8680EC15 -> 8680E915 in the firmware

I also replaced the Vision D DROM section with the Asrock DROM section that had been fixed using thunderboltutil.sh.

Result SUCCESS! I was very surprised that it worked...
Attached is the modified firmware and SSDT to add to the repo. Users need to correct the DROM in the SSDT with their own UID and fixed checksums
Screenshot 2020-10-23 at 17.44.54.png
 

Attachments

  • itx:tb3.zip
    280.3 KB · Views: 81
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
42
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Some questions/comments/statements:
  • Catalina was a fresh installation.
  • Catalina SSD has its own EFI partition with its own EFI folder.
  • Catalina SSD uses Clover. Which version?
Then:
  • Mojave was not modified in any way.
  • Mojave SSD has its own EFI partition with its own EFI folder.
  • Mojave SSD uses Clover and it is still working fine to boot Mojave.
Then:
  • You use F12 at BIOS to choose either Catalina or Mojave.
  • When you choose Mojave, everything is fine with booting Mojave.
  • When you choose Catalina, Catalina does not boot. It shows the "No Entry" symbol.
If correct so far, then:
  • Select Catalina SSD from F12 BIOS Boot Menu.
  • At the Clover Boot Menu, press spacebar to reveal options.
  • Use arrow keys to select Verbose.
  • Press spacebar to toggle it on.
  • Press Esc to return to BIOS Boot Menu.
  • Boot Catalina.
  • What do you see on screen?
  • And again, what version of Clover are you using on the Catalina SSD?
Hi @CaseySJ
Thanks for your answer

I'll try to be as clear as possible:


Some questions/comments/statements
  • Catalina was a fresh installation.
    Yes It was a fresh installation

  • Catalina SSD has its own EFI partition with its own EFI folder.
    Yes, I at first I used the Catalina fresh installation mini guide to prepare the USB stick and I replaced all the files in the EFI from "May 2020 Update - Catalina 10.15.4 Fresh Install.zip". (as in the guide)
    However the USB stick didn't work. It didn't showed up in the bios. I did all the process twice and again no USB boot available in the bios.

    So I decided to create the USB stick using Unibest 10.3.0 instead, than replacing again all the files from the EFI folder with the ones here: "May 2020 Update - Catalina 10.15.4 Fresh Install.zip".
    So from comparing the Catalina guide, I skipped all the part below here:

    Screenshot 2020-10-23 at 18.42.38.png
  • Catalina SSD uses Clover. Which version?
    Yes, the version is: 5119
Then:
  • Mojave was not modified in any way.
    No, I didn't touch the EFI folder.
  • Mojave SSD has its own EFI partition with its own EFI folder.
    Yes, it has.
  • Mojave SSD uses Clover and it is still working fine to boot Mojave.
    Yes, Mojave SSD uses Clover same 5119 version,
    and It can still boot, however only if the Catalina SSD is attached.
    As soon as I disconnect it and try to boot Mojave (as I used to do for the past 6 months) it can't boot.


    Then:
    • You use F12 at BIOS to choose either Catalina or Mojave.
      Yes, correct.
    • When you choose Mojave, everything is fine with booting Mojave.
      No, it's fine only if the Catalina SSD is also attached. otherwise I see the "No Entry" symbol.
    • When you choose Catalina, Catalina does not boot. It shows the "No Entry" symbol.
      No, Catalina always boot when I chose Catalina at BIOS.


    • If correct so far, then:
      • Select Catalina SSD from F12 BIOS Boot Menu.
      • At the Clover Boot Menu, press spacebar to reveal options.
      • Use arrow keys to select Verbose.
      • Press spacebar to toggle it on.
      • Press Esc to return to BIOS Boot Menu.
      • Boot Catalina.
      • What do you see on screen?
      • And again, what version of Clover are you using on the Catalina SSD?

        Should I try all the steps below with the Mojave one (since it's the one that doesn't always boot?)



 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,774
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ Just wanted to report another success with thunderbolt firmware patching that could help others. I finally managed to extract the thunderbolt firmware from the ASRock Z490 itx/tb3 which has the Titan Ridge LP (low power, one port) chip, device ID 15e7. Tried the four byte patch approach initially but this resulted in devices never connecting even though the IOregistry showed a full thunderbolt tree. Tried all sorts of different combinations of patches and was on the verge of giving up when I thought I'd try your NVM50 patched firmware for the Vision D. I replaced all instances of the thunderbolt device id's for the Vision chip with those for the LP chip. So:
All instances of EA15 -> E715 in the first section of the active region
All instances of 8680EA15 -> 8680E715 in the firmware
All instances of 8680EB15 -> 8680E815 in the firmware
All instances of 8680EC15 -> 8680E915 in the firmware

I also replaced the Vision D DROM section with the Asrock DROM section that had been fixed using thunderboltutil.sh.

Result SUCCESS! I was very surprised that it worked...
Attached is the modified firmware and SSDT to add to the repo. Users need to correct the DROM in the SSDT with their own UID and fixed checksums
This is awesome! Will add it to the Repository soon.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
42
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Just few more info: @CaseySJ


- I tried to remove the Mojave SSD and boot only with the Catalina SSD on the system.
It does boot correctly.

- I tried to activate verbose mode on the Mojave boot, again only the "No entry" symbol appeared.
However I did notice something that make me think I something is wrong with my Mojave Clover.
This may help to identify the issue.

Is that supposed to be 10.14.6?
PXL_20201023_182857720.jpg
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,774
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ
Thanks for your answer

I'll try to be as clear as possible:
Thanks -- that's much clearer.
Should I try all the steps below with the Mojave one (since it's the one that doesn't always boot?)
Yes, please press F12 and choose the Mojave SSD, then enable Verbose mode and boot Mojave.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,774
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just few more info: @CaseySJ


- I tried to remove the Mojave SSD and boot only with the Catalina SSD on the system.
It does boot correctly.

- I tried to activate verbose mode on the Mojave boot, again only the "No entry" symbol appeared.
However I did notice something that make me think I something is wrong with my Mojave Clover.
This may help to identify the issue.

Is that supposed to be 10.14.6?
After selecting Mojave SSD from the F12 BIOS Boot Menu, try clearing NVRAM at the Clover Boot Menu (press F1 for help -- and I believe F11 is Clear NVRAM). Then reboot, press F12, select Mojave SSD again, and check if Clover still says 10.15.7.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
455
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Ahhh!!! Presonus Quantum 2626 works as expected...

Bit of digital noise (HDD activity) at max volume but I'll look for solutions.

Reboot/Wake/Cold/Warm/Unplug/Replug, it just works!
 
Top