Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
411
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hi, my hack has been running great for a while now (currently OS 10.14.6 and Clover 5.13.0.1) Yesterday I finally tried swapping out OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi for OcQuirks-4.efi and FwRuntimeServices.efi. It booted fine but I had the strangest issues. In Logic Pro 10.5.1 several plugins had display problems, missing knobs and controls, and the playhead bar disappeared from the arrange window. I switched back to OsxAptioFix and everything is working again.

I guess if it aint broke...
Which SMBIOS? No problems here with OcQuirks and iMacPro1,1 definition. Running Reaper, not Logic however...

RX560 here but you made me curious, I will check all my plugins. Did you cleared the NVRAM, which BIOS version (f9b, g or h or other)? WEG or no? FakeSMC or VirtualSMC? Myself, using latest AppleALC, VirtualSMC and Lilu since yesterday. No WEG, it crashes iTunes instantly.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
411
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
First « irritating » bug: the USB-C connector on my Fractal Design R6 looks to be temperamental: Portable SSD Samsung T5 connects « physically » (powering) 4 times out of 5. Fortunately, once it’s working and as I won’t normally plug/unplug this device, it remains fine, even able to wiggle the cable, until I disconnect it physically again... Boot/reboot/sleep/shutting power completely, it remains ok once it has been powered... Strange!

The Thunderbolt ports and my old Orico PCIe have no trouble plugging/unplugging the T5. Duplicated in Windows and happens too in BIOS screen, so it is really hardware. Cleaning the port with iso alcohol didn’t helped nor a spare USB-C cable.

Created a ticket at Fractal Design hoping they ship me the audio/USB-C replacement module and cable...
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
285
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@xtreem.p,

Looks like I gave you some bad information! Apologies...

When holding the card vertically with the gold pins pointed down, we need to jump the middle and bottom pins on the GC-Alpine Ridge.

Have you already tried that?

Hi, no worries... yes ive tried the combos 1,3 and 3,5
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2012
Messages
207
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
i9-7960x
Graphics
Vega 56
@CaseySJ - I am seeing both of the quick reference links from Titan Ridge DROM Micro-Guides (v1.0 and 2.0) link to post #16,237. Is there a Micro-Guide for the 2.0?

Thank you!
 
Joined
May 15, 2011
Messages
44
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Designare
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey Guys I'm having a weird behavior on my Hackintosh. My actual problem today I can't make my USBs work properly.
I don't have any USB 3.0 working as well. The same for USB 3.1.
I removed USBPorts.Kext and then I lost 2 (frontal) USB 2.0 and I was able to plug my WD BLACK 5TB, but the fenvi card for bluetooth doesn't work at all. If I put the USBPorts.kext back on /Kext/other, all the USBs work, but I can't use my external HD.
I have a spliter. I don't if I did something stupid.
I tried everything I found Including the instructions in the spoiler titled: If USB Ports Cannot Charge High Current Devices
I appreciate your help and kindness.
Fab
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2020-08-20 at 1.46.47 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-08-20 at 1.46.47 AM.png
    958.5 KB · Views: 24
  • Screen Shot 2020-08-20 at 1.47.35 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-08-20 at 1.47.35 AM.png
    999.1 KB · Views: 32
  • Screen Shot 2020-08-20 at 1.51.10 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-08-20 at 1.51.10 AM.png
    204.3 KB · Views: 35
  • Screen Shot 2020-08-20 at 2.01.02 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-08-20 at 2.01.02 AM.png
    551.8 KB · Views: 31
  • Screen Shot 2020-08-20 at 2.03.17 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-08-20 at 2.03.17 AM.png
    68.8 KB · Views: 33
  • Screen Shot 2020-08-20 at 2.09.35 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-08-20 at 2.09.35 AM.png
    758.1 KB · Views: 30

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
6,803
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490i Aorus Ultra - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i5-10600K
Graphics
GT 1030
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hey Guys I'm having a weird behavior on my Hackintosh. My actual problem today I can't make my USBs work properly.
I don't have any USB 3.0 working as well. The same for USB 3.1.
I removed USBPorts.Kext and then I lost 2 (frontal) USB 2.0 and I was able to plug my WD BLACK 5TB, but the fenvi card for bluetooth doesn't work at all. If I put the USBPorts.kext back on /Kext/other, all the USBs work, but I can't use my external HD.
I have a spliter. I don't if I did something stupid.
I tried everything I found Including the instructions in the spoiler titled: If USB Ports Cannot Charge High Current Devices
I appreciate your help and kindness.
Fab


Hi there,

The Hackintool screengrab shows all ports and duplicated. The IORegistryExplorer screengrab shows just the unmodified first 15. Clearly these snapshots are from two different states of your system and problem.

If you are using the default files from this thread then you need to review what extra kexts you have added to EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other and Library/Extensions. Something is causing this disparity.

The USBPorts kext is a pre-configured set-up created with Hackintool. When you remove it and reboot, you are left only with macOS's standard 15-ports. These start at HS01, run up to HS14 and then add either the first SS01 port or USR1. On a big motherboard like yours, this means a lot of ports become "invisible".

Hubs, such as the NZXT are not configurable, only the single port they connect to is, and that effects everything else attached to it.

:)
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2018
Messages
126
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ,

I have a question as I'm still on Mojave would the Gigabyte RX 5700 XT work on my system or not? If yes do I need to change framebuffer and parameters in clover?

I searched the entire thread for an update guide but I seem to be lost.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2019
Messages
125
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
I was afraid of that! Gigabyte RGB Fusion addresses the SMBus in addition to USB bus, so it will probably not work through a VM. I will leave the next decision entirely up to you, namely:
  • If you want to address the edge lighting issue on AORUS Xtreme, it will require running Windows natively. It will also require a couple of hours with WireShark to capture USB traffic between Gigabyte's RGB Fusion app and the ITE Tech lighting controller (I can provide illustrated screenshots for doing this).

Hi Casey,

Its bugging me that much that I'm willing to make a full CCC backup of my system, remove MacOS, install Windows 10 and then restore from backup once I have captured the USB traffic. I would class my skill level as intermediate with this type of thing so once I obtain the traffic I would certainly require some guidance as to what to do next. Hopefully there are others out there with the same MB that could benefit from this.

I have also been keeping an eye on the OpenRGB project on GitHub, I think you may have mentioned this to me previously, just waiting to see if they work on a guide for installing this on MacOS. I also have Thermaltake Riing Plus fans that are connected via a MB USB header and also Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro Memory that I wouldn't mind trying to control.

On another note: I migrated to OpenCore 0.6.0 from Clover and all seems to be working well, except I seem to have lost the ability to play video content on Safari (Primevideo & Stan) Netflix and Apple TV+ work Fine. I using Shiki value 80 as was with Clover so I am not certain what has happened there.

Anyways, thanks a million for all that you do on here :)
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,026
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Simply type kextstat. This will generate a complete list. We can choose to display third party kexts as follows: kextstat | grep -v apple.

Thanks for that Casey. In pursuit of the mile after going the extra mile:

Can I substitute my Apollo device as the boot chime audio device, by translating or spoofing the "IOHDACodecAddress" seen in this guide?

kextstat  grep -v apple_tail end.png
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,026
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What is your SIP setting in Clover or OpenCore?

Sorry, I didn't see this update. Here's the Terminal value with OC 0.6.0. NVRAM is working and SIP was set in Recovery: When I set the value csrutil enable in Recovery<Terminal and then reboot, the attached graphic shows every SIP parameter as enabled. A restart or two down the line, and I get this:

Screen Shot 2020-08-20 at 4.22.37 AM.png
 
Top