Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Aug 4, 2020
Messages
46
Motherboard
Gygabite Z390 Designare
CPU
INTEL Core I7-9700K
Graphics
Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 580 8GD5
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Did you tried the trick in the first post: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...olt-3-i7-9700k-amd-rx-580.267551/post-2118036

«Disabling wake from USB». Only wake by power button.

@brousseau6933, Thx a lot!!
It works for me!!

At least my first tries, I force going to Sleep and hopefully all fans and lights go OFF!
For waking up, as expected, only works the power button, but it's not a main concern!

I have just ordered another wifi card, a true Fenvi T919 (not the MQUPIN Fenvi) and will try other methods, but if not, it's OK for me.
Thank you again!
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
53
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare iMac19,1
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
I have a monitor with a bunch of usb ports and I needed to connect an i1Display Pro directly to the monitor, plus I want to connect phones and stuff since those ports are easy to access. I was gonna come here to ask for help with getting usb 2.0 devices to work through the Designare's TB3 ports, but I figured it out on my own and thought I'd share the solution for others who might need usb 2.0 through usb-c/TB3.

I remapped the usb ports by editing SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-V7.aml using MaciASL. Since my case doesn't have a front usb-c port I removed SS01 and added HS13 (which is the lower of the two TB3 ports). That means removing:

C++:
"SS01",
                    Package (0x04)
                    {
                        "UsbConnector",
                        0x09,
                        "port",
                        Buffer (0x04)
                        {
                             0x11, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00                           // ....
                        }
                    },

And adding:

C++:
"HS13",
                    Package (0x04)
                    {
                        "UsbConnector",
                        0x09,
                        "port",
                        Buffer (0x04)
                        {
                             0x0D, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00                           // ....
                        }
                    },

I also removed SS05 since I use HS05 for a logitech dongle (bad reception if I put it in the back) and added HS08 so both TB3 ports work with usb 2.0 devices.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2019
Messages
248
Motherboard
Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ ,

Do you know if any body has tried Antelope Audio with flashed TB bus? I 'm about to buy one Antelope Audio Zen Studio+ but saw the in the 1st post that Antelope has some issues with non-flash TB.

Also if I flash a Alpine ridge card on post 16393, Thunderbolt Bus/Local Node is enabled right? Like on Z390.

Thanks,
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,220
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ ,

Do you know if any body has tried Antelope Audio with flashed TB bus? I 'm about to buy one Antelope Audio Zen Studio+ but saw the in the 1st post that Antelope has some issues with non-flash TB.

Also if I flash a Alpine ridge card on post 16393, Thunderbolt Bus/Local Node is enabled right? Like on Z390.

Thanks,
Unfortunately, Antelope Audio Thunderbolt devices will not work with Mojave or Catalina regardless of flashed or unflashed Thunderbolt firmware.

Feel free to search this thread for posts by @qthegaijin to see for yourself...
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2019
Messages
248
Motherboard
Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks! Found the post #17565.

Looks like I have to go with UAD box. Thanks!

Unfortunately, Antelope Audio Thunderbolt devices will not work with Mojave or Catalina regardless of flashed or unflashed Thunderbolt firmware.

Feel free to search this thread for posts by @qthegaijin to see for yourself...
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,022
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for the reply @jiffyslot but I was referring to the TB Titan Ridge flash for the onboard thunderbolt controller. I think I going to attempt anyway as this is the best way to run TB devices.

Sure thing. For some odd reason, I have full "Thunderswap" for my Apollo 8 without the onboard TB chip flash. I can't recall if I added the Apollo's UUID, but I finally got it to work back in the early days of the 'rona. It works with Clover and with OC. Weird but wonderful.
Thanks! Found the post #17565.

Looks like I have to go with UAD box. Thanks!

FWIW, they just released a new box.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2013
Messages
38
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro - Flashed
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Hi everyone, I am having an interesting issue with my Designaire and am looking for some advice on how to troubleshoot/isolate the problem before I proceed down the path of simplifying my system materially.

I have updated my Designaire to boot OC and am running the latest Catalina. I am using two displays, one of which is connected to a TB2 ATEN switch and then to my Designaire. When using Zoom and on a video call using the TB attached monitor, the screen will blank out after a minute or two and then return when I wiggle the trackpad. Interestingly, this does not happen when I move the Zoom window to the direct attached monitor. I do not have this problem when not using Zoom.

Do you have any advice on how I can confirm via logs or other artifacts what is causing this problem? In parallel I am going to rebuild a simplified system to see if this occurs on a vanilla install running only Zoom.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,220
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ops, sorry. I thought the forum would do that automatically.
I've given the following advice a few times recently, and it applies here as well:
  • If wake-from-sleep was working prior to Clover 5120, and shutdown was occurring within a short time, then it's best to re-validate that by booting from the previous EFI folder as follows:
    • Connect your bootable backup disk
    • Reboot and press F12 at the Gigabyte splash screen to open the BIOS Boot Menu (not Clover Boot Menu)
    • Select the bootable backup disk
    • When the old version of Clover appears, select the internal macOS SSD
  • Does wake-from-sleep work properly? Does the system shut down rapidly?
  • If both answers are 'yes' then begin comparing each of the following folders between the old and new versions of Clover because the Clover 5120 installer may have installed additional files that you might not have noticed:
    • Compare the CLOVER/Kexts/Other folders. Are the old and new folders identical?
    • Compare the CLOVER/drivers/UEFI folders.
    • Compare the CLOVER/ACPI/patched folders.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,220
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi everyone, I am having an interesting issue with my Designaire and am looking for some advice on how to troubleshoot/isolate the problem before I proceed down the path of simplifying my system materially.

I have updated my Designaire to boot OC and am running the latest Catalina. I am using two displays, one of which is connected to a TB2 ATEN switch and then to my Designaire. When using Zoom and on a video call using the TB attached monitor, the screen will blank out after a minute or two and then return when I wiggle the trackpad. Interestingly, this does not happen when I move the Zoom window to the direct attached monitor. I do not have this problem when not using Zoom.

Do you have any advice on how I can confirm via logs or other artifacts what is causing this problem? In parallel I am going to rebuild a simplified system to see if this occurs on a vanilla install running only Zoom.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!
Implicit in your description is the assertion that moving to OpenCore created this problem. If you still have the previous CLOVER EFI folder, try booting through CLOVER again to re-validate the assertion. If the problem does in fact occur only through OpenCore, then we can start by looking for differences between the CLOVER and OC EFI folders. For example:
  • Which versions of Lilu and WhateverGreen are in CLOVER, and which versions are in OpenCore?
  • Are there any pertinent differences in Boot Arguments between the two (particularly agdpmod)?
  • Because you have multiple monitors, have you tried various agdpmod arguments (pikera, vit9696, ignore)?
  • In System Preferences --> Energy Saver, if the monitor set to sleep after N minutes, have you tried increasing N?
 
Top