Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
138
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
In terms of audio stuff, which can be kinda finicky at times, most of my plugins work,

Can you elaborate a little more about which ones were giving you problems, thx!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,079
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I used flashrom in a Linux VM.
You're absolutely right!

I had moved the first jumper marked I2C/SPI to pins 2 and 3, thinking that was the SPI setting, but it needs to be connected to first two pins (closest to USB jack). Now flashrom can communicate with the device without any problem.

I used a multimeter to verify that all SPI pins are indeed 3.3V.

Good find!


CH341A.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
131
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Can you elaborate a little more about which ones were giving you problems, thx!

This was mostly me doing CYA as I didn't want to claim that everything worked since I haven't tested them all just yet.
The ones that I use the most all appear to be working, which largely come from:
- NativeInstruments (A lot of Kontak stuff)
- SolemnTones
- NeuralDSP
- FabFilter
- SpitFire Audio

All that stuff seems to work. I ran the plugin validation and everything passed, so I assume things will be pretty stable.
However, I have not tested all plugins yet as there are many of them, so there's no telling whether anything will break in the future. It's looking good, compatibility-wise, though, at least in my specific case.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2019
Messages
15
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 DESIGNARE
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I had the same problem after security update 004! I then used my backup and went back to the previous version.

what do you mean by security update? I'm having weird UAD issues, but they happen on windows too.

Updated to latest opencore and 10.15.6 a few days ago. Things seemed fine initially and the update worked as expected. However, over the last couple days my UAD Apollo's have been dropping connection intermittently, also Ableton Live has been crashing a lot. May have something to do with the "audio updates" or also maybe the thunderbolt firmware? Also my SIMBIOS isn’t displayed correctly. I guess I'll start by updating to the newest mobo firmware as there have been a couple of versions since last I did. If anyone has any info or recommendations I would greatly appreciate it! Oh, and let me know if there's anymore info I can provide to help with diagnosis.

In what way does it drop connection? On my machine I'll periodically hear a high pitched squeak noise, and then there's nothing I can do to connect my apollo to the software until I reboot. I figured this was some hackintosh issue until it happened to me on windows 10 also. Not sure if you're having the same thing, but if so I think it's apollo's drivers.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2020
Messages
52
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 Designare
CPU
9700k
Graphics
Sapphire Pulse RX580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
To answer your questions:
  1. Yes you can still copy/paste serial numbers and System UUID from Clover (or from Hackintool) into OpenCore.View attachment 483606
  2. If you use the EFI ZIP provided in the OpenCore 0.6.0 Mini-Guide and unlock MSR 0xE2 (easy method described in the bottom of the same mini-guide), then native NVRAM will work.
  3. Enabling native NVRAM is highly recommended. But it may be necessary to Reset NVRAM (from the OpenCore Picker menu) when changing Boot Arguments.

So can I just replace my current EFI Boot and Clover Folders with the BOOT and OC folders in the EFI Zip provided in the Open Core 0.6.0 Mini guide? Then copy and paste system UUID from clover and be good to go getting NVRAM working? Just want to make sure I understand before I proceed.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2020
Messages
48
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9700K
Graphics
RX Vega 56
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@geogaddi LOL, BoC is the best!

So, i think i got it figured. I am running two apollo 16s daisy chained and the second one was disconnecting, red lit EXT light, and then reconnecting. In my case, when updating opencore, i didnt have my SIMBIOS info entered correctly. I was able to boot, but only because my selected drive got switched in BIOS and I was booting off of the old previous version of OC.

I tried booting the correct drive and got the dreaded "NO!" circle. I booted again from my backup drive, got into my EFI, and added the correct SIMBIOS info, and was able to boot perfectly. SIMBIOS displayed correctly and all. Also, the apollos snapped right in upon boot and seem to have remedied themselves.

Of note, i had to replace the Thunderbolt .aml in EFI>OC with the one for my flashed controller. If you have a UAD device that is acting funky, I highly recommend flashing it with the modified firmware elsewhere in this thread, it literally solved all the issues I was having with my soundcards.

Also, does your interface have the newest firmware on it? What kind of TB adapter are you using? What does it say in system info > thunderbolt? Have you flashed the TB controller?
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,079
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
** Mini-Guide for Flashing SPI ROM Chips using 3.3V CH341A Programmer **
Please do not quote the entire mini-guide. Post a link instead.

19 Dec 2021:
Warning!
Thunderbolt 4 Docks will not connect to flashed Thunderbolt 3 controllers.​

Disclaimer:
  • The procedure described here can brick / damage the device being modified.
  • You assume all risk and liability for carrying out any of the steps listed here.
  • You further understand that the steps listed here may or may not be accurate or applicable to your particular components.
Purpose:
  • SPI (Serial Peripheral Interface) Flash ROM chips such as BIOS and Thunderbolt Firmware chips can be read, erased, and reprogrammed using an external device such as a low-cost USB-based CH341a Programmer or a Raspberry Pi, Rock Pi, or other device that supports the SPI interface.
  • The most common USB-based CH341a programmers supply 5V to the Vcc (or main power) pin. However, BIOS and Thunderbolt Firmware chips such as Winbond W25Q80DV or Macronix MX25L8006E require 3.3V for Vcc.
  • Thanks to @gazzmanzx6 for discovering the Arceli low-cost USB-based CH341a programmer that natively supports 3.3V for Vcc.
  • The product is available from Amazon for under US$10: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07MPY65JN/
  • If the Arcelli is sold out, two identical alternatives are:
  • This product does not come with any accessories, so the following accessories are required:

51Sk9OIW2jL._AC_SL1000_.jpg 81ffhH-vuOL._AC_SL1500_.jpg 61aJvqD+zsL._AC_SL1500_.jpg

Pro Tips:
  • Avoid USB hubs and connect the CH341a directly to a USB port on the front of the case or on the rear IO panel. Disconnect any unnecessary external USB devices to allow the USB port to deliver stable voltage and the full amount of electrical current to the CH341a.

Step 1: Install flashrom on MacOS:
  • First install Homebrew by copying-and-pasting the following command in Terminal:
    • /bin/bash -c "$(curl -fsSL https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Homebrew/install/master/install.sh)"
  • Now install flashrom as follows:
    • brew install flashrom

Step 2: Connect Arceli CH341a Programmer to SOIC8 Clip:
  • Refer to the diagram below to configure the device and connect the 8 pins of Arceli CH341a to the SOIC8 clip.
    Wiring Diagram.png
  • After moving both of the lower jumpers to Pins 2 and 3, they should look like this (image courtesy of @NCMacGuy):
    Arcelli with Correct Jumpers.jpg
  • Connect the 8 (or 7) wires from CH341a programmer to the appropriate pins on the SOIC ribbon cable itself (image on the left) or to the back side of the small circuit board (image on the right). The red wire on SOIC8 ribbon cable is Pin 1.
    SOIC Clip.jpg
    SOIC8 Clip Pins.jpg
  • The physical chip (Winbond or Macronix) has this pin specification:
    SPI-Flash-Pins.png
NOTES:
  • If flashing an on-board Thunderbolt controller (built into the motherboard of Designare Z390, Z490 Vision D), then do not connect Vcc (Pin 8), but connect all other pins. After shutting down the Designare or Vision D, keep the power supply (PSU) turned on (but computer must be shut down). This will supply power to Vcc(or pin 8).
    • Update 18 October 2020: Ignore the above and (a) flip PSU switch to OFF, (b) connect Vcc on Arcelli to Pin 8 on SOIC clip. The Arcelli should be able to power the Thunderbolt SPI ROM chip directly.
  • If flashing any device that is not already connected to a power source, Vcc (Pin 8) must be connected.
  • Note that the SOIC8 clip contains one red colored wire. That wire is Pin 1. Then Pin 2 is on the same side as Pin 1 and adjacent to Pin 1. Refer to the pin diagram above.
  • Documentation for the Arceli CH341a Programmer is available here.

Step 3: Connect SOIC8 Clip to Flash ROM chip (before connecting CH341a to USB port on computer)
  • Carefully attach the SOIC8 clip to the Winbond (or Macronix) chip. Pin 1 on the chip is marked with a small round dimple. If unsure about this, stop and ask.
  • Squeeze and unsqueeze the spring-loaded clip slowly and gently. Never rush. Make sure the clip is oriented such that the red wire is connected to the small dimple pin (Pin 1) on the physical chip. Red Wire Orientation.jpg
  • Now connect the CH341a to a USB port and check that the power LED turns red (not blue).Red LED and 8 Pins.jpg

Step 4: Read the Flash Chip.
  • First we read the contents of the flash chip and store a backup of the original ROM. We use flashrom within Terminal to read the contents 3 times and verify that all three files are identical. This gives us confidence that the chip was read correctly.
sudo flashrom -p ch341a_spi -r Give_the_Contents_a_Name.bin

Code:
% sudo flashrom -p ch341a_spi -r firmware-1.bin
Password: <enter your password>
flashrom v1.2 on Darwin 19.3.0 (x86_64)
flashrom is free software, get the source code at https://flashrom.org

Calibrating delay loop... OK.
libusb: info [darwin_claim_interface] no interface found; setting configuration: 1
Found Winbond flash chip "W25Q80.V" (1024 kB, SPI) on ch341a_spi.
Reading flash... done.
Code:
% sudo flashrom -p ch341a_spi -r firmware-2.bin
flashrom v1.2 on Darwin 19.3.0 (x86_64)
flashrom is free software, get the source code at https://flashrom.org

Calibrating delay loop... OK.
Found Winbond flash chip "W25Q80.V" (1024 kB, SPI) on ch341a_spi.
Reading flash... done.
Code:
% sudo flashrom -p ch341a_spi -r firmware-3.bin
flashrom v1.2 on Darwin 19.3.0 (x86_64)
flashrom is free software, get the source code at https://flashrom.org

Calibrating delay loop... OK.
Found Winbond flash chip "W25Q80.V" (1024 kB, SPI) on ch341a_spi.
Reading flash... done.
  • Then compute and compare checksums for all 3 files to ensure they match:
Code:
% shasum firmware-1.bin
3c1e2555a8203a0dc20b7cfe2577636112a82367  firmware-1.bin

% shasum firmware-2.bin
3c1e2555a8203a0dc20b7cfe2577636112a82367  firmware-2.bin

% shasum firmware-3.bin
3c1e2555a8203a0dc20b7cfe2577636112a82367  firmware-3.bin
  • We see that all 3 checksums match so we can be confident that data was read correctly.
Step 5: Program Modified Firmware into the Flash Chip.
  • Be sure that you have followed Step 4 and kept a copy of the original firmware.
  • Locate the modified firmware and program it into the chip as follows:
Code:
% sudo flashrom -p ch341a_spi -w Name_of_Modified_Firmware.bin
  • This will (a) erase the chip, (b) program new firmware into the chip, and (c) verify the new content.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 15, 2019
Messages
9
Motherboard
z370 gigabyte aorus
CPU
intel 8700
Graphics
intel u630
Hi ! now I'm using a ssdt but with the hotplug disabled ( #24,232 ) because the UAD driver always causes a kernel panic on a hotplug. I am using version 33 of the firmware. With the hotplug disabled, there is no kernel panic but I have to reboot to be able to use the apollo. On the first boot, the apollo is listed in the thunderbolt bus but not linked. After a reboot the apollo is linked.

hi! thanks @yosoyoco, so that means, you are using the apollo with the alpine ridge but disabled hotplug in the SSDT?

i patched my alpine ridge with this rom: 3. GC-ALPINE-RIDGE-NVM21-V3-NATA.bin and
jumped pins 1 and 3 (not 3 and 5) instead of connecting to THB_C header.
( i didn't t try the other 2 mods from @Elias64Fr yet, see list below ) and i think! i created a SSDT via http://hackindrom.zapto.org/ (only changed the root adresses for my board z370 gigabyte).


what i get is: a kernel panic on first boot, which i a bit annoying) BUT all is working so far pretty well with my system ( apollo 8x tb3 -> quad satellite + internal uad quad ), incl. hotplug on second boot (warm boot). there is room for improvement - especially i'd like to get rid of the kernel panic and the need to boot 2 times but it's not too important atm.

Gigabyte GC-Alpine Ridge add-in-card 1. GC-ALPINE RIDGE-NVM20-V1-Elias64Fr.bin
2. GC-ALPINE RIDGE-NVM20-V2-Elias64Fr.bin
3. GC-ALPINE-RIDGE-NVM21-V3-NATA.bin
PCIe card
Some issues were reported with
V1 and V2. Try V3 by @NorthAmTransAm.
May need to jump pins 3 and 5 instead
of connecting to THB_C header.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,079
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ, I lost interest in updating Catalina when 10.15.5 broke built-in HDMI and Carbon Copy Cloner lost some backup abilities. My interest got piqued again recently when these issues were reportedly solved in 10.15.6 and OpenCore 0.6.0 was released.

I must have missed something in your thread during my absence from the scene. For my system, everything works in 10.15.6 except for built-in audio. It is baffling to me that layout-ids 11, 7 and 16 no longer work. I would greatly appreciate your help and advice on this.
Let's check the basics:
  • In System Information --> Audio, do you see the usual set of Built-In audio devices?
    Screen Shot 2020-08-11 at 3.49.27 PM.png
  • How are you testing audio? With a front-panel headphone or other speaker? With a headphone or other speaker connected to the green rear audio jack?
  • Do either the front panel audio jack or the rear green audio jack work? Or both are inoperative?
  • Is the proper Sound Output device selected?
    Screen Shot 2020-08-11 at 3.52.14 PM.png
 
Top