Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,300
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Right you are! Will fix all the DROM micro-guides soon.
We can also add a link here like this, isn't better?
Capture d’écran 2020-08-10 à 00.56.23.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,914
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 9, 2020
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700
Graphics
RX 560
Why dont you use F9g #22,669?
As a first timer, "install that [beta] version at your own risk" scared me off. Also the TweakTown link was a dead end/removed post. Thought it'd be best to use official firmware

EDIT: I see your link leads to a working version
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,300
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
As a first timer, "install that [beta] version at your own risk" scared me off. Also the TweakTown link was a dead end/removed post. Thought it'd be best to use official firmware

EDIT: I see your link leads to a working version
F9g is pretty stable, most of us using this version
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,914
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi all! Trying to unlock MSR 0xE2 and, for me, Reply 2 is from a Setup variable that is 7 bytes long, not 9. Is this a big deal? BIOS v F9b.
This is okay; no problem if it says 7 bytes instead of 9. The change will still be made to Reply 1.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2011
Messages
29
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
ok so onto board number two (I have two builds i'm working on that are almost identical...) but board number two gives me completely different checksums... how do i fix that?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,914
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
ok so onto board number two (I have two builds i'm working on that are almost identical...) but board number two gives me completely different checksums... how do i fix that?
Nothing to fix because checksums will be different between boards. We have to ensure that checksums are the same for each board when the firmware is read 3 times in a row. We should also run “strings” command on the files to make sure that they contain some readable text.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2011
Messages
29
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Nothing to fix because checksums will be different between boards. We have to ensure that checksums are the same for each board when the firmware is read 3 times in a row. We should also run “strings” command on the files to make sure that they contain some readable text.

I understand. What I meant was on this second board, I read the chip 3 times and the checksums showed 3 different values. What do I need to do to fix this?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,914
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I understand. What I meant was on this second board, I read the chip 3 times and the checksums showed 3 different values. What do I need to do to fix this?
Oh, that’s not good! This generally means the SOIC clip is not attached properly. Gently lift and reseat the clip. At least the device is being recognized and read. Also try using spispeed 2048 or 4096 instead of 1024.
 
Top