Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,927
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ
Some developments - In addition to my main Hackintosh I have a Mac Mini with Thunderbolt 2 running Mojave. Using a TB3 to TB2 adapter I was able to successfully test the RedLine16 which told me that 1) the Thunderbolt connection on the unit works fine, and 2) I have taken some screenshots of what IOreg sees when its working. There are a lot of similarities between the two but also some differences. Surprisingly in the aged Mac Mini the firmware version is higher although this is TB2 not 3. I don't know if that is important. The reg is different in IO reg as its the pciedebug and assigned address. Not sure what this means but if these can be adjusted I may be able to succeed. I don't know enough really so looking for advice....3rd August is Titan Ridge -
I wish it were that straightforward. This problem is beyond my ability to solve.
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2012
Messages
223
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
i9-7960x
Graphics
Vega 56
Please do two things:
  • Reset NVRAM from the OpenCore Picker Menu
  • Check your serial number on Apple's website (click here). If the result comes back as:
We’re sorry, but this serial number isn’t valid. Please check your information and try again.

... then your serial number is OKAY. It means no one else is using it. Otherwise you will need to change the number.
Thanks for the quick reply, Casey.

I've been using this serial number for several years - does that influence the check?
When I originally implemented it, I checked and got the 'serial isn't valid' message - now I am getting 'Valid Purchase Date, Telephone technical: expired, repairs and service: expried'
Also, I am on Clover - not sure how to properly reset NVRAM

Edit: Oddly enough, I was able to log out and log back in after several attempts on Mojave! Is there anything I can do to prevent this mishap when I go back to Catalina? I don't see why I can't be logged into several OS's
 
Joined
May 3, 2020
Messages
76
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z590 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ

Hi Casey, I tried deleting the CMOS, but the problem still persists. I did the SSDT with the guide you gave me, and the one you recommended was more precise, since I did not duplicate ports and the names appeared correctly. If I don't connect anything to my TR but I enable GPIO3 Force power, it gets stuck on startup showing this message ...

PS: I'm also going to leave a picture of my connection, since I only have 1 6-pin connector left on my motherboard, I couldn't give it more power, could that be the problem?
 

Attachments

  • IMG-1480.jpg
    IMG-1480.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 46
  • IMG-1481.jpg
    IMG-1481.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 48
  • IMG-1482.jpg
    IMG-1482.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 49
  • IMG-1483.jpg
    IMG-1483.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 48
  • IMG-1484.jpg
    IMG-1484.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 50
  • IMG-1485.jpg
    IMG-1485.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 51
  • IMG-1486.jpg
    IMG-1486.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 49
Joined
Sep 11, 2012
Messages
629
Motherboard
Gigabyte X79-UP4
CPU
i7-3930
Graphics
WX4100
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
I wish it were that straightforward. This problem is beyond my ability to solve.
thanks anyway - maybe someone else will spot something thats editable in there....
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,086
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Something odd over here on my Mojave system. So I replaced my OC 0.5.9 EFI with a OC 0.6.0 EFI, did all the same setups with a new config file, and made sure that the same (but updated) Tools and Resources were in the new folder as before. On reboot, I was able to Clear NVRAM only once. The the options present in 0.5.9 are no longer there: The sequence goes BIOS ➝ (F12-selected) UEFI SSD partition ➝ EFI ➝
Then only two options appear in the picker: MacOS SSD and OpenCore.EFI the pre-OS boot tools no longer appear. I've reverted back to 0.5.9 for now and the tools are back.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,927
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...
Then only two options appear in the picker: MacOS SSD and OpenCore.EFI the pre-OS boot tools no longer appear. I've reverted back to 0.5.9 for now and the tools are back.
Do the other picker items appear when spacebar is pressed? Feel free to customize the Picker behavior as follows:
  • HideAuxiliary -- this hides PreBoot volumes and any tools that have Auxiliary checkbox enabled.
  • In the screenshot below we see:
    • HideAuxiliary is enabled, hence PreBoot volumes hidden
    • Three out of four tools have Auxiliary checkbox enabled; hence they're also hidden
  • Simply pressing spacebar at the Picker Menu expands the list of boot options
Screen Shot 2020-08-05 at 1.55.52 PM.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,927
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for the quick reply, Casey.

I've been using this serial number for several years - does that influence the check?
When I originally implemented it, I checked and got the 'serial isn't valid' message - now I am getting 'Valid Purchase Date, Telephone technical: expired, repairs and service: expried'
Also, I am on Clover - not sure how to properly reset NVRAM

Edit: Oddly enough, I was able to log out and log back in after several attempts on Mojave! Is there anything I can do to prevent this mishap when I go back to Catalina? I don't see why I can't be logged into several OS's
Because you're getting "Valid Purchase Date, ..." it means your serial number has been taken by a real Mac owner. You should immediately change your serial number. And remove that computer from your iCloud settings. Changing serial number can require some apps to be relicensed.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2019
Messages
53
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
For some reason, the Mausi driver version 2.5.1d1 doesn't work when injected specifically into Mojave 10.14.6 (with all the latest security patches). If I use the 1.0.2 version of the Mausi driver, the interface shows up properly in Mojave. This was reproducible for me with both OpenCore and Clover.

I am successfully using IntelMausi 1.0.3 on Mojave (found it through Clover Configurator Kexts Installer)
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,086
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Do the other picker items appear when spacebar is pressed? Feel free to customize the Picker behavior as follows:
  • HideAuxiliary -- this hides PreBoot volumes and any tools that have Auxiliary checkbox enabled.
  • In the screenshot below we see:
    • HideAuxiliary is enabled, hence PreBoot volumes hidden
    • Three out of four tools have Auxiliary checkbox enabled; hence they're also hidden
  • Simply pressing spacebar at the Picker Menu expands the list of boot options
View attachment 482991

Ahh! I was using PList Pro 1.9.2 (paid version) to edit the setup. Is OC Config now safe to use without risk of corrupting the setup file? I was warned off it earlier in various forums. What say you?

FWIW, I'm using the BIOS "Z390DESIGNARE.F9h" which allows me to flip the CFG lock in the setup screen.
 
Top