Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Feb 11, 2014
Messages
261
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700
Graphics
Radeon Pro WX 9100
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Here are a few suggestions:
  • Double check that all Hackintosh kexts have been removed from /Library/Extensions
  • Install latest kexts in CLOVER/kexts/Other
  • Update Clover to latest version (v5120) or try the new OpenCore 0.6.0 EFI (guide posted yesterday) by installing it on a USB flash disk (so that the main Catalina SSD is not affected)
  • Check if the problem occurs if only one monitor is used or whether it occurs only when two monitors are used
  • Remove RadeonBoost if you're using it
  • If nothing seems to work, then it's a good idea to install a fresh copy of Catalina on a spare SSD (for example, a cheap 128GB SATA SSD mounted in a USB 3 enclosure) and check again
Will do shortly!
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Onboard
Please delete OsxAptioFix3Drv-64.efi and replace it with OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi. Click here to download this file.

Hey @CaseySJ, thanks for the reply.

I had run across this solution previously. I tried it again just to confirm. Same issue.

Any other ideas?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,915
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey @CaseySJ, thanks for the reply.

I had run across this solution previously. I tried it again just to confirm. Same issue.

Any other ideas?
Sure, please do the following:
  • Check if slide=0 is included in your Clover Boot Arguments
  • If it is, then perform a CMOS Reset by powering the system down (but not flipping the switch on PSU to off position) and shorting the 2 designated pins for about 2-3 seconds as stated in the Designare manual.
  • After CMOS Reset, press DEL to enter BIOS Setup and configure BIOS parameters again starting with Save & Exit --> Load Optimized Defaults (this is necessary because it configures a number of BIOS parameters for us before we configure the rest by ourselves).
  • Now see if you can boot...
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
15
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Pro
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
I'm using an LG 5k Ultrafine with a Titan Ridge 1.0 on a Z390 Aorus Pro board. I'm on Elias64 nvm23 and using a DSDT from HackinDROM. For the most part it works well. I am experiencing a problem where randomly the screen will go black for 2-3 seconds then return. This can happen anywhere from once to several times an hour. Has anyone else experienced this?
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2014
Messages
261
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700
Graphics
Radeon Pro WX 9100
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Double check that all Hackintosh kexts have been removed from /Library/Extensions
Wow, found this. I deleted what is highlighted. Are there any more?
Screen Shot 2020-08-04 at 5.24.52 PM.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,915
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Wow, found this. I deleted what is highlighted. Are there any more?
View attachment 482899
Please see Steps 3, 4, 5 here for a complete list:
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2019
Messages
60
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designaire-F8
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX-580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
I upgraded my OpenCore installation to 0.6.0 (using Casey's posted EFI folder) and see only one ethernet device in System Report. Anyone else notice this, or is it just me? I verified the two ethernet kexts are in the right place and both devices appear when booting through Clover 5120.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2020-08-04 at 3.43.26 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-08-04 at 3.43.26 PM.png
    48.4 KB · Views: 36
Joined
Nov 17, 2019
Messages
209
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just as an update, Updated my Internal EFI on Boot drive to 0.6.0 haven't had any issues everything is working well and smooth as it did prior on 0.5.9. @CaseySJ I feel you get plenty of thanks already but an extra never hurts! The work you do is amazing and the support you give is second to none sir.

Some had mentioned issues with NVMe fix, I'll mention I'm running a WD Black 750 500GB and no issues on it either.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,915
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just as an update, Updated my Internal EFI on Boot drive to 0.6.0 haven't had any issues everything is working well and smooth as it did prior on 0.5.9. @CaseySJ I feel you get plenty of thanks already but an extra never hurts! The work you do is amazing and the support you give is second to none sir.

Some had mentioned issues with NVMe fix, ill mention I'm running a WD Black 750 500GB and no issues on it either.
Glad to hear it! Are both of your Ethernet ports showing in “System Information —> Ethernet Cards”?
 
Top