Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jul 27, 2020
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390
CPU
Intel Core i9-9900K
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon PULSE RX 580 8GB
Hackintoshron,

Did you just replace one kext or build a new config.plist as well?
The reason I'm asking is that I just replaced the two kexts (Lilu and WhateverGreen) but not sure if I need to go thru the whole process with opencore. I don't use clover.

Thanks,

Vlad

Interesting. I just tried Netflix in Safari and it's actually working! It hasn't worked since I built the machine and I stopped trying months ago and just use Chrome if I wanted it. I'm not sure what fixed it though. I have installed the recently released Lilu and Whatever green kexts just last night, but I haven't rebooted my machine yet. I did install a new cable for my LG TV I'm using as a monitor, but I don't think it was the cable as everything else was working fine. I'll take it though! I'm using Shikigva=80 with my SAPPHIRE PULSE Radeon RX 5700 XT.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
298
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hackintoshron,

Did you just replace one kext or build a new config.plist as well?
The reason I'm asking is that I just replaced the two kexts (Lilu and WhateverGreen) but not sure if I need to go thru the whole process with opencore. I don't use clover.

Thanks,

Vlad
I have yet to upgrade to OpenCore, still on Clover 5120. I don't think replacing these kexts last night solved the issue unless the system has injected those kexts updates without me having to restart the machine because I still haven't restarted the machine since I installed the new kext updates last night that came with the new OpenCore update that @CaseySJ just put up.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2019
Messages
2
Motherboard
Asus E5-465G
CPU
Intel Core i5 8250u
Graphics
Mx 150
The new 10-core iMac 2020:

Since Apple has released the new iMac with 10th gen chip, I'm wondering should I use iMac 19,1 or this new iMac 10th gen SMBIOS. I would like to keep sidecar working but wonder would there be any issue with sticking with iMac 19,1.
PS: I'm thinking of upgrading my aging CPU(i5 6600) to either 8th or 10th gen.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2011
Messages
24
Motherboard
z390 designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm just jump OpenCore and Netflix work on Safari.
But, when I use Safari for video, my Geekbench score drop 26K and can't come back till restart.
I'm using LG 5k so connection over TB3 may be this cause problem.
I read same problem who using eGPU.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
173
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Have you seen this? ;)
An AMD GPU is really the way to go. There are too many compromises when we use iGPU to drive a monitor.

Yeah, I've seen that, that's why I mentioned it. It's kind a weekend-long project, bc I know very little about OpenCore, so before I try I have to study a bit...
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,915
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Since apple has released the new iMac with 10th gen chip, im wondering should i use iMac 19,1 or this new iMac 10th gen SMBIOS. I would like to keep sidecar working but wonder would there be any issue with sticking with iMac 19,1.
PS: im thinking of upgrading my aging CPU(i5 6600) to either 8th or 10th gen.
The new iMac20,1 SMBIOS (if it's called that) is more suited to Comet Lake-S systems such as Gigabyte Z490 Vision D. We'll need to wait for either a supplemental update to Catalina, 10.15.7, or Big Sur public beta.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2013
Messages
117
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm on OC 0.6.0 and no problem with my AirPods Pro
(iMacPro1,1)

Maybe you need to reset NVRAM?

When you boot your PC, click to space on your keyboard when OC bootloader is loaded, select Reset NVRAM
View attachment 482851
Yeah, ok I'm an idiot. I reset the NVRAM and now everything is showing/working correctly. Thanks.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2014
Messages
261
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700
Graphics
Radeon Pro WX 9100
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Recent Issue: I have a recent issue where both my monitors (LG 4K driven on DP from my Graphics card) go black, white or grey. The whole system freezes and has to be rebooted. It is training me to save often lol. Happens once a day or two days. I am using this a lot more than before though. It never happened prior to Catalina.


Hardware Overview:
Model Name: iMac
Model Identifier: iMac19,1
Processor Name: 8-Core Intel Core i9
Processor Speed: 3.60 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 8
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 12 MB
Memory: 64 GB
Boot ROM Version: 1037.100.345.0.0
Apple ROM Info: Apple ROM Version.
Board-ID : Mac-AA95B1DDAB278B95
⌘ Powered by Clover revision: 5118 (master, commit 6529f815d)
SMC Version (system): 2.46f12
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,915
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Recent Issue: I have a recent issue where both my monitors (LG 4K driven on DP from my Graphics card) go black, white or grey. The whole system freezes and has to be rebooted. It is training me to save often lol. Happens once a day or two days. I am using this a lot more than before though. It never happened prior to Catalina.


Hardware Overview:
Model Name: iMac
Model Identifier: iMac19,1
Processor Name: 8-Core Intel Core i9
Processor Speed: 3.60 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 8
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 12 MB
Memory: 64 GB
Boot ROM Version: 1037.100.345.0.0
Apple ROM Info: Apple ROM Version.
Board-ID : Mac-AA95B1DDAB278B95
⌘ Powered by Clover revision: 5118 (master, commit 6529f815d)
SMC Version (system): 2.46f12
Here are a few suggestions:
  • Double check that all Hackintosh kexts have been removed from /Library/Extensions
  • Install latest kexts in CLOVER/kexts/Other
  • Update Clover to latest version (v5120) or try the new OpenCore 0.6.0 EFI (guide posted yesterday) by installing it on a USB flash disk (so that the main Catalina SSD is not affected)
  • Check if the problem occurs if only one monitor is used or whether it occurs only when two monitors are used
  • Remove RadeonBoost if you're using it
  • If nothing seems to work, then it's a good idea to install a fresh copy of Catalina on a spare SSD (for example, a cheap 128GB SATA SSD mounted in a USB 3 enclosure) and check again
 
Top