Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
172
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Sapphire RX580 Pulse 8GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
In Catalina we have found that on-board HDMI no longer works on this system (neither on the Z490 Vision D). But if you're running Mojave, it should work.
Thanks! I'm using Catalina. Is there any known workaround? Can I downgrade?
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2012
Messages
143
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hopefully your interest only extends to reading about it unless you want to head into the storm after a respit of smooth sailing. Catalina seems like a heap of unnecessary trouble for audio users. It seems to have in some way brutalized every fellow DAW person I know who upgraded. I'm going to wait it out until some really essential piece of SW I use won't work anymore on Mojave.

I actually initially jumped straight to Catalina, and I actually only lost one plugin, which..doesn't work on Mojave anyway for some reason, so that wasn't a problem for me. The issue that caused me to revert back to Mojave, was that while Ableton felt 'smoother' on Catalina, for some reason, when I loaded projects, if I opened grouped tracks up, the entire GUI would hard-lag for a good 2-3 seconds for some reason.

This only happens on Catalina. I have no idea why. I didn't experience it on High Sierra. I reverted to Mojave, and the problem isn't exhibited on there either. I don't know why, but it's super annoying. I can't seem to find reference to others experiencing it either for some reason.



@ziggenpuss @bmoney @kellymac12 @jleahy2 and all others suffering from USB-freezes on Catalina,

Macrumors is reporting that the Catalina 10.15.6 update has fixed usb-freezes for many (real Mac) users.

......

Although I have the 10.15.6 update installed and it's working properly, I can't verify if it fixes USB-freezes as the problem did not manifest itself on my system (only experienced it once).

Perhaps one of you affected most can install the update (optionally on a bootable backup) to validate it fixes your USB-freezes?

Hope 10.15.6 will put an end to the USB-misery you've been experiencing.

Please keep us informed. It def sounds promising! Until I can get my Ableton issue situated on Catalina, I'll be staying on Mojave, especially now that this USB card seemingly fixed my USB-dropout issue.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2014
Messages
303
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Good to know! Interesting that Clover 5120 now includes OcQuirks/OpenRuntime, and integrates "booter quirks" directly into the Clover config.plist. We may need to wait for an update to Clover Configurator.


View attachment 480753

It seems that they retracted 5120 for now and marked at as a pre-release (only the zip files are available on GitHub). 5119 works great tho, so no rush needed to update :)
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2019
Messages
209
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello!
Try to reset NVRAM.
In recovery mode open terminal enter nvram -c.
Restart the PC.

Would this be the same process as hitting SpaceBar and clear NVRAM from OpenCore Boot Menu? If so, I have cleared it, but still occurs. I clear it anytime I've made a change to EFI.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2019
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi all,

I want to first thank @Inqnuam for the dedication to making the Thunderbolt DROM procedure more accessible while also configurable and also would like to present some potential feedback from use of the generated .aml file.

This has only happened once so far - I woke up this morning to my computer being non-responsive and upon a cold reboot I was presented with this panic log. I'm also currently running Mojave 10.14.6.
Screen Shot 2020-07-18 at 6.28.42 AM.png
I can't tell for sure if it's related to the .aml, but I can see that it has something to do with Thunderbolt and it's the only change I've made to the system from using a .aml where I generated the hex values for myself via Option 3 of the DROM guide for the Titan Ridge V1 AIC. I must also note that I made modifications to the HackinDROM file, namely a change from RP05 to RP21 (because my onboard Designare Thunderbolt bus is using RP05 from what I've read?) and a modification to "Slot-5" for aesthetic reasons in my PCI devices tab. Since I know barely anything about how DROM works, I realize that the changes I made may be cause for issue in which case I apologize in advance if it is indeed the case.

For now, I'm going back to the previous .aml file I was using to see if stability might be better.

EDIT: In the efforts of troubleshooting I'll try to list any relevant information I can think of.
- No Thunderbolt devices connected
- No USB Type-C devices connected
- Onboard Designare Titan Ridge controller unmodified using SSDT-Z390-DESIGNARE-TB3HP-V4.aml
- AIC GC-Titan Ridge V1 controller flashed with GC-TITAN-RIDGE-NVM23-Elias64Fr.bin and using a HackinDROM SSDT that was retroactively modified to change the Slot information in Hardware > PCI and to assign RP21 instead of RP05
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,188
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hi all,

I want to first thank @Inqnuam for the dedication to making the Thunderbolt DROM procedure more accessible while also configurable and also would like to present some potential feedback from use of the generated .aml file.

This has only happened once so far - I woke up this morning to my computer being non-responsive and upon a cold reboot I was presented with this panic log. I'm also currently running Mojave 10.14.6.
View attachment 480857
I can't tell for sure if it's related to the .aml, but I can see that it has something to do with Thunderbolt and it's the only change I've made to the system from using a .aml where I generated the hex values for myself via Option 3 of the DROM guide for the Titan Ridge V1 AIC. I must also note that I made modifications to the HackinDROM file, namely a change from RP05 to RP21 (because my onboard Designare Thunderbolt bus is using RP05 from what I've read?) and a modification to "Slot-5" for aesthetic reasons in my PCI devices tab. Since I know barely anything about how DROM works, I realize that the changes I made may be cause for issue in which case I apologize in advance if it is indeed the case.

For now, I'm going back to the previous .aml file I was using to see if stability might be better.
Hello
Please don't mix your own hex with HackinDROM generated.
Use only HackinDROM or only the Manual Method or ThunderboltUtil if you can use it.
Theres 2 checksum to do when you modify hex in Thunderbolt DROM. CRC8 with Xor output 0xdb and CRC32c.
If you change Vendor and Device name you have to calculate byte length 3 times. 1st for Vendor Name 2nd for Device name and finally the byte length for the entire DROM.
Please upload your .aml file, also a screenshot of your ACPI folder.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
318
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
HD 630HD + RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
I'm finally getting around to flashing my Titan Ridge Rev2 card for testing. I just noticed that the Rev2 has an additional 3 pin header and cable that connects to the motherboard. Does anyone know what this header is used for? Anyone using the rev2 card without this header attached?
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,188
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I'm finally getting around to flashing my Titan Ridge Rev2 card for testing. I just noticed that the Rev2 has an additional 3 pin header and cable that connects to the motherboard. Does anyone know what this header is used for? Anyone using the rev2 card without this header attached?
Please read this conversation.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
318
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
HD 630HD + RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
please read this conversation.
I'm still curious about the extra 3 pin header. What its functionality is and whether it needs to be shorted like the 5 pin? I have a 5 pin header on my motherboard, but no 3 pin.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2019
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello
Please don't mix your own hex with HackinDROM generated.
Use only HackinDROM or only the Manual Method or ThunderboltUtil if you can use it.
Theres 2 checksum to do when you modify hex in Thunderbolt DROM. CRC8 with Xor output 0xdb and CRC32c.
If you change Vendor and Device name you have to calculate byte length 3 times. 1st for Vendor Name 2nd for Device name and finally the byte length for the entire DROM.
Please upload your .aml file, also a screenshot of your ACPI folder.
Thanks for the quick response!

It seems like I brought this issue upon myself by modifying things I didn't fully understand. Good to know that the byte length changes depending on how the file is configured. Still, I've attached a screenshot of my ACPI folder along with my .aml.

I feel silly for having potentially created a problem where there was none in the first place and I hope this isn't wasting too much of your time.
Screen Shot 2020-07-18 at 7.23.55 AM.png
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-TBOLT3-RP21-GC-TITAN-RIDGE-APPLE-DROM [HackinDROM].aml
    2.1 KB · Views: 42
Last edited:
Top