Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Mar 25, 2020
Messages
2
Motherboard
Designare
CPU
I9
Graphics
RX 580
Hello @GTR18

Some questions:
  • Are you using Clover 5103 or newer? At the Clover Boot Menu either look along the bottom of the screen or press A for "about".
  • When you say "everything freezes after 5 minutes" does this mean:
    • You have already completed post-installation?
    • The internal Mojave SSD contains an EFI partition with CLOVER installed?
    • But when you boot from the Mojave SSD (i.e. remove USB flash disk) you can login fully to Mojave, but 5 minutes later Mojave freezes?

I got to set up this without issues on March 12 and worked without issues for 1 month. Then for some reason it started to freeze from time to time until reaching a state where it will boot and past the login screen but freeze after 5 minutes.

Tried to make a clean set up but always but it always froze at the 2 phase or while setting up the password for the user account.

After 2 weeks of struggle i sorted out to use @NoiseCoalition https://github.com/NoiseCoalition/Clover set up with a clover version on 4934. While this one allowed me to finish the post installation but still froze after 5 minutes from login screen..

After removing 2 8gbs sticks and changing ram memory frequency from 3600 to 1800, everything is working without further issue.

Regarding the questions.
  • Yes, got to arrive on the post installation and boot from the SSD but after 5 minutes passed login, it will freeze.
  • Yes, current set up have a EFi partition with the clover in it.
  • Previously using the 32 gb at 3200mh and booting from the mojave ssd, i was able to login fully to mojave and freezing after 5 minutes.

 
Joined
Jan 13, 2019
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks. Can't remember the last time I checked for those updated kexts... will do so now.

My boot issue did clear up-- Was partly due to my internal NVMe boot drive not showing up with a name in the BIOS list of available drives (following F12 at startup). I'd forgotten that the third item in drive list--just a blank bar with no name!--IS the NVMe drive I want.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2012
Messages
141
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The Inateck card was a viable solution but @ziggenpuss ' fix was also basically correct (eliminating unused ports didn't help but isolating USB devices on a powered hub was the fix). I'm sorry if I ever doubted you @ziggenpuss - I didn't check my setup correctly. I'm 99% sure that my freezes were the result of a passive (unpowered) hub that I thought was powered.

Yup, the Inateck card seems to be the solution for me here too. I used Ableton a bit this weekend, although, not a whole lot. I still haven't rebooted the system or had a single USB drop out since I installed the Inateck card how long ago. I'm going to go ahead and say the issue is finally resolved on my end by utilizing this card.

I do find it interesting about your comment regarding the unpowered USB hub. I don't have anything like this on my system, *however*, the USB Apple Keyboard does in fact have 2 USB ports on either side of it (I'm not using either), so .... maybe it does have an unpowered hub inside of it? Maybe this could be the source of it for some people like myself too? I'm certain my mouse, nor my Ableton Push 2 have hubs in them. Regardless, the external card seems to have done the trick!

I'm going to consider it resolved on my end, but I'm going to try to keep the system up without rebooting for as long as possible, and also try to dive into Ableton more heavily in the upcoming days/weeks to see if I can cause any issues. Will report back if I do, but I don't expect to see anything.

This has been a game changer for me. My #1 source of frustration and unreliability with my system has been seemingly resolved. Thanks to Casey and everyone else for helping with this!



The 10.15.6 release information mentions a fix for USB-related issues (see below). Although the description does not match the USB-freezes reported here in this thread, I'm hoping this will fix those nasty USB-freezes several of you are struggling with.
Interesting. I'm still on Mojave, but I'm very interested to see if this update fixes this USB dropout issue without the need for external hubs or cards.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
92
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
This suggests that Luna is using USB 2.0 protocol, which has been disabled on all USB-C/TB3 ports to maintain 15-port limit. But there is another USB SSDT at the bottom of Post #1 that enables USB 2 on TB3 ports. It's in the Fractal Design Define R6 zip, and the particular file to use is:

SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-FD-DEFINE-R6-USB2-ON-TB-V3.aml

Only one SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE... can be used at a time, so temporarily move the existing one (SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-V7.aml) to a different folder such as CLOVER/misc.
Casey, you were right on. I plugged Luna into one of the USB-C on my Caldigit dock and it showed up. But, it's showing speed unto 12Mb/s, which is USB 1 speed. So this little device is USB1 in disguise as USB-C. It's drawing 100mA. Screenshot attached.

My guess is that I will have to remove USBMap.kext from my Opencore EFI and will have to use the SSDT version SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-FD-DEFINE-R6-USB2-ON-TB-V3.aml with USBInjectall.kext enabled. Correct? Or can this coexist with my current USBMap.kext? I never installed SSDT-UIAC-Desginare.

I am also wondering if my current EFI setup is the reason for stability? I have not encountered a single USB freeze of KP since I installed Catalina with OC.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2020-07-15 at 11.11.15 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-07-15 at 11.11.15 PM.png
    318.7 KB · Views: 51
Joined
Mar 10, 2011
Messages
342
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare TRX40
CPU
Ryzen 3970x
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
How do I Identify the USB-C ports on the Titan Ridge ver 2.0 so I can configure them
I am 1 or 2 away from the 15 limit
I see controller but no additional ports other than the default 26 in Hackintool only want them to support 3.0 and up (no 2.0/1.1)
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2014
Messages
262
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700
Graphics
Radeon Pro WX 9100
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just updated to 10.15.6 No issues and it was faster on my hack than on 2016MBPro. Two reboots, I just watched clover do its thing and we are all good. Mine was a very recent full reinstall to 10.15.5 following this updated guide. I am running multiple USB things including Focusrite USB audio Scarlett 18i/8. Im getting a Blackmagic Design ATEM Mini today and we shall see how that works. It has USB C connection but not sure what protocol it uses yet. Only thing I had to do on the Hack vs MBPro was log back into iMessage upon final boot. did that and immediately came up. Loving this machine.
Jules
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
444
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
How do I Identify the USB-C ports on the Titan Ridge ver 2.0 so I can configure them
I am 1 or 2 away from the 15 limit
I see controller but no additional ports other than the default 26 in Hackintool only want them to support 3.0 and up (no 2.0/1.1)
First page of this thread, there is a picture of the board with each port clearly identified.

Edit: Oh, sorry, you mean on an addon TB card? Not sure... Is an add on card tied with the 15 ports limit, someone?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,436
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Casey, you were right on. I plugged Luna into one of the USB-C on my Caldigit dock and it showed up. But, it's showing speed unto 12Mb/s, which is USB 1 speed. So this little device is USB1 in disguise as USB-C. It's drawing 100mA. Screenshot attached.

My guess is that I will have to remove USBMap.kext from my Opencore EFI and will have to use the SSDT version SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-FD-DEFINE-R6-USB2-ON-TB-V3.aml with USBInjectall.kext enabled. Correct? Or can this coexist with my current USBMap.kext? I never installed SSDT-UIAC-Desginare.

I am also wondering if my current EFI setup is the reason for stability? I have not encountered a single USB freeze of KP since I installed Catalina with OC.
Because you're using OpenCore, you can go ahead and violate the 15 port limit of macOS by doing two things:
  1. Enabling the XhciPortLimit kernel quirk in config.plist
  2. Modifying your USBPorts.kext by adding HS08 and HS13 as type 9 (USB-C)
We are doing this in the Z490 Vision D build; in fact we have enabled every USB port on that build.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,436
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Oh no i hope not, i just got it through the link on amazon from this site. If it really is the card i can return it.

I have not installed windows on the other partition yet, just kind of set it to the side.

What do you suggest I do now for the post install? should I go back and do what your guide suggests?

Thanks
Please note that any of the 3 components below might be suspect. In retrospect, I should not have said defective because that word causes undue alarm.
  • GPU
  • video cable
  • monitor
Are you using HDMI or DisplayPort?
Are you using a straight HDMI-to-HDMI or DP-to-DP cable (no adapters)?
What is the make/model of the monitor? Does it support HDR (high dynamic range)?

Also try enabling CSM Support in BIOS (Boot section).
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,436
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
How do I Identify the USB-C ports on the Titan Ridge ver 2.0 so I can configure them
I am 1 or 2 away from the 15 limit
I see controller but no additional ports other than the default 26 in Hackintool only want them to support 3.0 and up (no 2.0/1.1)
Fortunately the 15 port limit is per USB controller. The GC-Titan Ridge has its own USB controller, so its ports do not count towards the internal 15 port limit. The GC-Titan Ridge could supply another 15 ports, theoretically, but it supplies 4:
  • SSP1 (SS = SuperSpeed = USB 3.x)
  • SSP2
  • HS01 (HS = HighSpeed = USB 2.x)
  • HS02
These are defined already in the Thunderbolt SSDT, but on a flashed add-in-card it may be necessary to pre-connect a USB-C device for it to show up. "Pre-connect" means to connect the device before macOS boots.
 
Last edited:
Top