Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
455
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
On the other hand, one can have zero crashing because of USB. I am also using DAW's with tons of USB devices(Console 1, Sensel, Novation keyboard, Touche SE, iLok, e-licenser, eMagic MT4, Seagate Harddrive, sd card reader, thumb drives, Logitech wifi mouse thingy, Apple wired keyboard, Griffin PowerMate with non-standard driver, Logitech camera, Wacom graphic tablet, cheap USB3 hub with USB3 and USB2 peripherals, etc) plugged in randomly, changed often in no apparent order, with zero problems.

Clover/Mojave/Bios F9b/No USB audio interface/using adapted USBPorts.kext
I have been watching all that unfold. In my case though all I had connected and powered up was my mouse, keyboard and an Epson Surecolor-P800 printer.

It was, however, just after I started a large (about 2TB) file copy from one internal spinning disk to another internal one. Maybe it was just a coincidence as it has not happened before or since. I even did the file copy again once I had rebooted (by screen sharing into it) and that ran fine. The initial copy had also frozen at the same time even though Youtube music was still playing.
Failing HDD? How old are they?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2018
Messages
790
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Failing HDD? How old are they?

Only a couple of years and used to store 'archive' material to free up space on my NVMe. Any mechanical device can fail at any time but these are server grade disks with a 7 year (if I remember correctly) guarantee and they check out ok.

As this is my first 'USB Freeze', I'm not too worried about it but will see if it happens again and then maybe delve deeper.
Thanks anyway.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,787
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
its boots now! it took a couple of tries for some reason each time seems to get further in the os.

1st attempt
View attachment 480566

2nd, froze after entering my pw
View attachment 480567
3rd
it worked, it seems to load up better when i select verbose option.

Anyway once booted up everything seems fine, what do i need to now in post?
Thanks @CaseySJ

I was also curious if you think i should run Catalina or big sur instead of mojave.

I tried to shut down and this is the error screen that came up
View attachment 480568
Those screenshots suggest that your graphics card is not working correctly or the video cable is defective or the monitor is defective.

In the first screenshot there should be a solid black background with an Apple logo and progress bar. The blue pattern is an error.

The second screenshot is clearly erroneous.

Do you have Windows installed on this machine? If so, do you see the same screen anomalies under Windows?
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,314
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Just updated to 10.15.6 (19G73) from 10.15.5.
Just a normal update
10.15.6 (19G73).png
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
92
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
This suggests that Luna is using USB 2.0 protocol, which has been disabled on all USB-C/TB3 ports to maintain 15-port limit. But there is another USB SSDT at the bottom of Post #1 that enables USB 2 on TB3 ports. It's in the Fractal Design Define R6 zip, and the particular file to use is:

SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-FD-DEFINE-R6-USB2-ON-TB-V3.aml

Only one SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE... can be used at a time, so temporarily move the existing one (SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-V7.aml) to a different folder such as CLOVER/misc.
Casey, you are such a rock star coming to rescue every time someone has issues with the board. I am on opencore and never installed SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-V7.aml on my ACPI. Do I need this SSDT for USB side of TB to function?
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
535
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690 Creator WiF
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
I have been watching all that unfold. In my case though all I had connected and powered up was my mouse, keyboard and an Epson Surecolor-P800 printer.

It was, however, just after I started a large (about 2TB) file copy from one internal spinning disk to another internal one. Maybe it was just a coincidence as it has not happened before or since. I even did the file copy again once I had rebooted (by screen sharing into it) and that ran fine. The initial copy had also frozen at the same time even though Youtube music was still playing.
Have you had a look at this? What version are you running? I ran into this problem on my 2013 Mac Pro when copy large files to/from my RAID.

https://appleinsider.com/articles/2...a-10154-from-hanging-when-copying-large-files
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2020
Messages
2
Motherboard
Designare
CPU
I9
Graphics
RX 580
Hello @GTR18

Some questions:
  • Are you using Clover 5103 or newer? At the Clover Boot Menu either look along the bottom of the screen or press A for "about".
  • When you say "everything freezes after 5 minutes" does this mean:
    • You have already completed post-installation?
    • The internal Mojave SSD contains an EFI partition with CLOVER installed?
    • But when you boot from the Mojave SSD (i.e. remove USB flash disk) you can login fully to Mojave, but 5 minutes later Mojave freezes?

I got to set up this without issues on March 12 and worked without issues for 1 month. Then for some reason it started to freeze from time to time until reaching a state where it will boot and past the login screen but freeze after 5 minutes.

Tried to make a clean set up but always but it always froze at the 2 phase or while setting up the password for the user account.

After 2 weeks of struggle i sorted out to use @NoiseCoalition https://github.com/NoiseCoalition/Clover set up with a clover version on 4934. While this one allowed me to finish the post installation but still froze after 5 minutes from login screen..

After removing 2 8gbs sticks and changing ram memory frequency from 3600 to 1800, everything is working without further issue.

Regarding the questions.
  • Yes, got to arrive on the post installation and boot from the SSD but after 5 minutes passed login, it will freeze.
  • Yes, current set up have a EFi partition with the clover in it.
  • Previously using the 32 gb at 3200mh and booting from the mojave ssd, i was able to login fully to mojave and freezing after 5 minutes.

 
Joined
Jan 13, 2019
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks. Can't remember the last time I checked for those updated kexts... will do so now.

My boot issue did clear up-- Was partly due to my internal NVMe boot drive not showing up with a name in the BIOS list of available drives (following F12 at startup). I'd forgotten that the third item in drive list--just a blank bar with no name!--IS the NVMe drive I want.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2012
Messages
141
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The Inateck card was a viable solution but @ziggenpuss ' fix was also basically correct (eliminating unused ports didn't help but isolating USB devices on a powered hub was the fix). I'm sorry if I ever doubted you @ziggenpuss - I didn't check my setup correctly. I'm 99% sure that my freezes were the result of a passive (unpowered) hub that I thought was powered.

Yup, the Inateck card seems to be the solution for me here too. I used Ableton a bit this weekend, although, not a whole lot. I still haven't rebooted the system or had a single USB drop out since I installed the Inateck card how long ago. I'm going to go ahead and say the issue is finally resolved on my end by utilizing this card.

I do find it interesting about your comment regarding the unpowered USB hub. I don't have anything like this on my system, *however*, the USB Apple Keyboard does in fact have 2 USB ports on either side of it (I'm not using either), so .... maybe it does have an unpowered hub inside of it? Maybe this could be the source of it for some people like myself too? I'm certain my mouse, nor my Ableton Push 2 have hubs in them. Regardless, the external card seems to have done the trick!

I'm going to consider it resolved on my end, but I'm going to try to keep the system up without rebooting for as long as possible, and also try to dive into Ableton more heavily in the upcoming days/weeks to see if I can cause any issues. Will report back if I do, but I don't expect to see anything.

This has been a game changer for me. My #1 source of frustration and unreliability with my system has been seemingly resolved. Thanks to Casey and everyone else for helping with this!



The 10.15.6 release information mentions a fix for USB-related issues (see below). Although the description does not match the USB-freezes reported here in this thread, I'm hoping this will fix those nasty USB-freezes several of you are struggling with.
Interesting. I'm still on Mojave, but I'm very interested to see if this update fixes this USB dropout issue without the need for external hubs or cards.
 
Top