Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
175
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I believe the jury is still out on that, unfortunately. Some of my tests showed that WiFi speed was normal after wake-from-sleep (with "Wake for Network Access" enabled), but other tests later on showed degraded WiFi speeds. So buyer beware...

Wake-on-LAN is handled by "Wake for Network Access" in System Preferences --> Energy Saver.
I'll try it. Thanks
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,123
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
its not present on the flash drive at this time. i think
this is what i see when booting, it goes to yellow screen and blue screen eventually black.
Correct - the old "Drivers64UEFI" folder is not present, which is good. When you say "yellow" screen do you mean the Gigabyte splash screen? And "blue" screen is the photo on the right?
its weird sometimes it loads and sometimes it doesnt.
is there a an efi folder i should copy? or should i redo it all over from the start?
...
When you say "sometimes it loads and sometimes it doesn't" do you mean that sometimes the USB flash disk allows Mojave to boot up properly and sometimes it doesn't?

I can take a look at your EFI folder and make some revisions. Simply remove serial numbers from SMBIOS section of config.plist then compress and upload the EFI folder.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
88
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
The USB-C version should work fine.
I just tried Luna Display on one of my TB ports on the back of Designare. It tells me the devices is drawing too much power, and gets disabled. I am trying to use Luna Display to cast my Hackintosh screen to my MBP. Let me know if you have any thoughts on possible solution. Both TB ports work well with my 4K monitor, but somehow won't work with Luna Display.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,123
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I just tried Luna Display on one of my TB ports on the back of Designare. It tells me the devices is drawing too much power, and gets disabled. I am trying to use Luna Display to cast my Hackintosh screen to my MBP. Let me know if you have any thoughts on possible solution. Both TB ports work well with my 4K monitor, but somehow won't work with Luna Display.
Does the power draw message appear as soon as Luna is connected or only when establishing a connection to the MBP? Under System Information --> USB you will find an entry for the Luna device along with its power requirements. Please post a screenshot of that:
  1. Immediately after inserting the Luna into USB-C/TB3 port (but before trying to connect MBP)
  2. While trying to connect to MBP
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
88
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Does the power draw message appear as soon as Luna is connected or only when establishing a connection to the MBP? Under System Information --> USB you will find an entry for the Luna device along with its power requirements. Please post a screenshot of that:
  1. Immediately after inserting the Luna into USB-C/TB3 port (but before trying to connect MBP)
  2. While trying to connect to MBP
After rebooting, it's not even being recognized. There is no entry under USB that say Luna. Strange.
When I plug it into my MBP, it shows up under USB 3.0 requiring 100mA. 500mA required.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 20, 2013
Messages
1,115
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Good to know! I'll add that to the Sleep Aid.

SIP can certainly be enabled.

File Vault can also be enabled, but I have no experience with it. So if you succeed in enabling File Vault, please let us know how you did it...

Hi @CaseySJ

I wanted to report that I've got OC 0.5.9 working with 10.14.6. using the OpenCore-STANDARD-0.5.9 for Designare Z390 package - NVRAM with a BIOS update F9h) UAD Apollo 8 Thunderbolt powerswap still works, too. Question: Can I safely enable SIP 0x0 or 0x3 when running OpenCore? Or were you discussing SIP with Clover?

Please and thank you.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2020
Messages
2
Motherboard
Designare
CPU
I9
Graphics
RX 580
Hi @CaseySJ. Thanks for all the information.

Have been trying this same set up for 2 weeks already. Everything works great until i arrive to the post installation step where for some reason everything freezes after 5 minutes from login.

I have a 4 stick ram package and tried the installation from 0 with only 16gb on it and it worked flawless. Any idea what may cause this issue?
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2019
Messages
34
Motherboard
GigabyteZ390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I just did a clean install on this config using UniBeast 10.3.0 - Catalina and followed up using MultiBeast 12.3.0.

The system is up and running with a Serial Number and iMessage working. But when I load the config.plist up to view the SMBIOS settings, its mostly blank. See my screen shot.

At this stage the system is running nice but I'm sure it needs the proper Kexts and other things. What is my best move at this stage? Thanks.

Screen_Shot_2020-07-14_at_8_52_18_PM.png
 
Top