Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jan 12, 2019
Messages
64
Motherboard
Asus X99-A II
CPU
i7-6800K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Let's check some things:
  • First, the pins:
    • Because Asus TB-EX3 is detached from motherboard and has no power source, we need to connect Pin 1 (3.3V power).
    • When three read attempts all produce difference checksums, we should not attempt to write to the chip!! Only when three consecutive read attempts are successful we know that all required pins are okay, power is okay, chip is in good state. Then we can reprogram the chip.
Are you able to read the chip successfully with all required pins connected?

Are you referring to pin 1 on RPi or Winbond side? I got pin 1(3.3v) on RPi going to pin 8 of wb. After the flash attempt reading the bin files using the strings command brings back nothing, whereas before they were not empty, different checksums but at least not empty. I will do the wiring from the beginning and try again.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,927
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks @CaseySJ for your help
attached is screen shot of doing the boot from Mojave SSD
View attachment 480190
Please connect the USB install disk to your Mac, mount its EFI partition, and post a screenshot of:
  • CLOVER/drivers64UEFI if using Clover 4xxx
  • CLOVER/drivers/UEFI if using Clover 5xxx
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,927
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Are you referring to pin 1 on RPi or Winbond side? I got pin 1(3.3v) on RPi going to pin 8 of wb. After the flash attempt reading the bin files using the strings command brings back nothing, whereas before they were not empty, different checksums but at least not empty. I will do the wiring from the beginning and try again.
Correct — pin 8 on the Winbond chip.

Edit: Pin 1 on Pi to Pin 8 on Winbond.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 12, 2019
Messages
64
Motherboard
Asus X99-A II
CPU
i7-6800K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Correct — pin 1 on the Winbond chip.

Sorry, just to clarify so I don't fry the chip. Do I connect the 3.3v pin from RPi to pin 1 of Winbond, together with pin 24(CE0)? Pin 1 already goes to pin 8(VCC on wb).
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,927
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sorry, just to clarify so I don't fry the chip. Do I connect the 3.3v pin from RPi to pin 1 of Winbond, together with pin 24(CE0)? Pin 1 already goes to pin 8(VCC on wb).
On the Winbond chip, Pin 4 is ground and Pin 8 is Vcc. Pin 1 is chip-select.

So I should correct myself: Pin 8 on Winbond should be connected to Vcc on the Raspberry Pi (any of the 3.3V power pins on Raspberry Pi).
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2014
Messages
31
Motherboard
HP 8470P
CPU
I5-3380M
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Any recommended alternatives to the aptio fix or can it just be removed once apple features are all up and running. Am in fear of bricking things
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2012
Messages
274
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sure, try darkwake=0. I think you've already enabled all the usual suspects listed in the Sleep Aid.

Hi @CaseySJ,

I've got an update. With Darkwake=0 set as a boot argument within Clover, and with WiFi on, the Hackintosh wakes a lot less frequently at around every 3 to 4 hours (before, without Darkwake = 0, it was exactly every hour). However, as my logs show, instead of it being a Darkwake from Normal Sleep, it is now a Wake from Normal sleep. The reason is the same, they both had the reason as /Network using AC. So from my understanding, with Darkwake=0, the PC actually fully wakes up now due to the same /Network reason code, rather than a Darkwake.

However, where it gets interesting is the entry directly below the Wake either says 2020-07-13 07:29:32 +0100 WakeDetails DriverReason:PXSX - DriverDetails: DriverReason:WiFi.ScanOffload when Darkwake=0 IS active, OR, DriverReason:WiFi.ScanOffload-Previous authentication no longer valid when Darkwake=0 WASN'T active. From Googling around, I can't really figure out what these both are. Any ideas?

I've uploaded my log file below (please note that the Darkwake=0 change went in from midnight on 13th July, and I left the PC sleeping all night). Do you mind taking a look at the log? And should I be trying the remaining fixes from the Sleep Aid, such as the TCPKeepAlive=0, as when using sudo pmset -g log | grep Maintenance, I can see a few references to mDNS responder, and TCPkeepalive (I've attached the log output for the above Maintenance command too)

Thank you!
 

Attachments

  • Hackintosh Sleep Log For Casey 13-07-20.txt.zip
    77.4 KB · Views: 53
  • Maintenance Wake Log for Casey 13-07-20.zip
    2 KB · Views: 54
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,927
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Any recommended alternatives to the aptio fix or can it just be removed once apple features are all up and running. Am in fear of bricking things
Please see this link in the Contents spoiler of Post #1:
Screen Shot 2020-07-13 at 6.15.44 AM.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,927
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
** REMINDER **
macOS 11.0 Big Sur has been released to developers that are paid members of Apple's Developer program. We know it is tempting to talk about it here, but discussion of Developer Betas is not permitted.

Please see Rules regarding (a) public beta (green box) and (b) developer beta (red box).
  • Discussion of Public Beta software is allowed, and a public beta of Big Sur is expected later this month.
  • Discussion of Developer Beta software is not allowed as it is subject to NDA. Already we have seen violations where certain YouTube channels and other publications have published benchmarks, which are expressly forbidden under the terms of the Developer Transition Kit.


RULES:

Rules - Developer and Public Beta.png
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
173
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@phrfpeixoto , @CaseySJ ,

Hello guys thank you for answering.
I have to admit I'm desperate !!!
Just received my brand new Fenvi-T919.

It does not work neither.
The computer runs perfectly fine without it, on Windows and on Mac (No Bluetooth on Mac- and Ethernet Wired).
It just runs the POST test perfectly only once without it. Then never runs it again.

So this morning I tried plugging my brand new Fenvi-T-919, shopped from Amazon- Delivered from Fenvi Source.
The computer does not pass the POST test on it.
However if I plug in, after the Post Test has been done on the rest of the PC (fenvi Unplugged) the card will work (WIFI and BT works well). But, it will only work for 1 single boot. Which means when I shutdown the computer, it will try to run post test and not work, boot Looping.
I tried Clearing CMOS, which did not solve the problem.
I tried plugging into the PCI-Ex1 Slot which did not solve the problem.

Here are some Videos to help you understand the problem.

What can I do, I'm Desperate, and really rely on you help and your hands. :(
What can I test more ?

Thank you


You clearly have a situation where multiple variables can interfere. I think that as @CaseySJ mentioned, you should go through an exhaustive elimination process:

Take the software out of the equation: Unplug your HDD/SSD, cut power (entirely) from the system, let it rest for a few seconds, Then remove all the non-essential hardware and load optimized bios defaults. Make sure the system posts and complains no OS is found.

Add-in your new Fenvi card. If it posts you can start to put your system together again, piece by piece, making sure the system continues to post consistently after each step. If all goes well, try setting up your BIOS settings back to the recommended for macOS, still making sure the system posts consistently. Finally, try to boot the OS.

If the issue shows up right away when adding the Fenvi:
- Try different slots on the motherboard.
- Try a different PSU.

I wouldn't bother replacing/testing your processor/RAM because those rarely go bad (unless you have a really crappy PSU). At this point, if the issue is still there, most likely you have a faulty Motherboard - Try testing your hardware on a different one (test under windows, on ANY motherboard that support it). Make sure each component work separately

If the issue happens during the system rebuilding after the Fenvi card had been validated, then you have to backtrack: What change did you do last when the issue started happening? Undo that and try variations (IE: If you changed multiple BIOS settings, backtrack and try the changes one by one) until you find the offending change.
 
Last edited:
Top