Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
92
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Correction :) : my system has iGPU disabled, so only using the Vega 64, and I get to do very quick HEVC and H.264 de- and encoding. VDA Decoder is 'fully supported' according to Hackintool.

Late reply, but I think there is a broad misconception that turning off iGPU and enabling hardware encoding will speed up rendering and export especially in H.264 and HEVC. I know many users have chosen iMacPro1,1 SMBIOS for this reason and disable their iGPU. It may be worthwhile to spend some time to test this in real life. Video export in FCPX or Resolve involves two steps. One is rendering and the other is encoding. Rendering, if background rending is turned off, could benefit from a powerful GPU as it relies mostly on GPU, but, if you have the horsepower, you should utilize background rendering. But, the encoding portion of the export is mostly CPU dependent as this is a sequential process. Software can only process timeline sequentially, so this is where multithreaded CPU will speed up the process. The only exception to this sequential encoding process is QuickSync. Intel offers the IGPU to perform certain encoding functions on the side, significantly enhancing the export time. Close to 5x with QuickSync compared to CPU alone. This is why iMac with iGPU exports HEVC or H.264 faster than MacPro. This is where T2 chip comes in to help those new xeon ImacPro's without iGPU.

Just to illustrate this, do a simple H.264 or HEVC export, and monitor your CPU and GPU usage in Activity Monitor. You will see only a small portion of that process utilize GPU over 50%. The rest is your CPU trying to take a group of pictures and encode them to the right codec. Since CPU can only work with a group of pictures, this process gets spread out through the available threads of your CPU. This is why CPU never come to load during this process as it is limited by the sequential nature of video. Your GPU pretty much sits idle except for the rendering portion of the process. Now, Adobe Premier is a complete different story, and hardly utilizes the power of GPU, and takes a different approach to the utilization of CPU, and will max out on the load. FCPX And Resolve have much more balanced approach and hence almost 4-5x times faster in export.

So if you have a powerful GPU, you may gain some speed during the rendering portion of H.264 Export, but you will lose significant time during the sequential encoding process without QuickSync. This is the reason why people with iGPU should consider using iMac19,1 SMBIOS and put it in headless mode (as that is how iMac‘s utilize iGPU) if you do H.264/265 encoding in FCPX with background rending turned on. That way you will cut significant time during export.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,827
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@verendus,

Very informative post; reference added to Going the Extra Mile:


Screen Shot 2020-06-20 at 1.25.30 PM.png
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
92
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Just added some additional info on how to make sense of this on watching the activity monitor.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2019
Messages
119
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
*** Mini-Guide: Using Hackintool to Set Headless Platform ID 0x3E980003 ***

@CaseySJ the June 20 updates included at the top of extra miles section describing symbios and platform id are a little confusing to me. For Catalina 10.15.5 are you now suggesting hackintool over a clover device entry or is the left over from earlier days? Ideally I have an RX590 installed, I'd like to run 10.15.5 headless with a 19,1 model. Will this device definition in clover cover or are changes needed? What tool were you using to validate graphics operating modes? I've forgotten what it was.

Ive also attached a hackintool screen.




1592689298711.png
 

Attachments

  • 1592688343534.png
    1592688343534.png
    79.5 KB · Views: 76
Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
56
Motherboard
Giga Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Late reply, but I think there is a broad misconception that turning off iGPU and enabling hardware encoding will speed up rendering and export especially in H.264 and HEVC. I know many users have chosen iMacPro1,1 SMBIOS for this reason and disable their iGPU. It may be worthwhile to spend some time to test this in real life. Video export in FCPX or Resolve involves two steps. One is rendering and the other is encoding. Rendering, if background rending is turned off, could benefit from a powerful GPU as it relies mostly on GPU, but, if you have the horsepower, you should utilize background rendering. But, the encoding portion of the export is mostly CPU dependent as this is a sequential process. Software can only process timeline sequentially, so this is where multithreaded CPU will speed up the process. The only exception to this sequential encoding process is QuickSync. Intel offers the IGPU to perform certain encoding functions on the side, significantly enhancing the export time. Close to 5x with QuickSync compared to CPU alone. This is why iMac with iGPU exports HEVC or H.264 faster than MacPro. This is where T2 chip comes in to help those new xeon ImacPro's without iGPU.

Just to illustrate this, do a simple H.264 or HEVC export, and monitor your CPU and GPU usage in Activity Monitor. You will see only a small portion of that process utilize GPU over 50%. The rest is your CPU trying to take a group of pictures and encode them to the right codec. Since CPU can only work with a group of pictures, this process gets spread out through the available threads of your CPU. This is why CPU never come to load during this process as it is limited by the sequential nature of video. Your GPU pretty much sits idle except for the rendering portion of the process. Now, Adobe Premier is a complete different story, and hardly utilizes the power of GPU, and takes a different approach to the utilization of CPU, and will max out on the load. FCPX And Resolve have much more balanced approach and hence almost 4-5x times faster in export.

So if you have a powerful GPU, you may gain some speed during the rendering portion of H.264 Export, but you will lose significant time during the sequential encoding process without QuickSync. This is the reason why people with iGPU should consider using iMac19,1 SMBIOS and put it in headless mode (as that is how iMac‘s utilize iGPU) if you do H.264/265 encoding in FCPX with background rending turned on. That way you will cut significant time during export.
Totally agree regarding IQSV. But not the dGPU usage and Adobe part. Which version of Premier Pro r u using?
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
56
Motherboard
Giga Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I'm not sure if it will or not in your case, but I'd definitely be interested to hear your experience with it compared to your current EFI to see if there's any discernible difference or improvements of any kind. The DSDT may not align properly with your system though, as it was built for mine, I dunknow. Again, there very well may be 'bad practices', etc inside here so... I'd consider this nothing more than just experimental at this point.


Casey - My apologies if this isn't allowed or you don't want this up. Please feel free to remove the file if so.
Thanks.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
92
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Totally agree regarding IQSV. But not the dGPU usage and Adobe part. Which version of Premier Pro r u using?

I use the whole creative suite subscription, but haven't used PP for a while due to the way they utilize Radeon Hardware. PP has favored CUDA. I am not sure if things have changed, but I don't think I've touched PP for about a year except for some testing here and there.

Regarding your dGPU usage, let me know which part you disagree. How much dGUP utilization do see when you are exporting video? Activity monitor is not the most accurate processor polling tool, but it should give a fairly decent picture of how the software utilize each processor.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
46
Motherboard
Asrock Fatal1ty Z370 Professional Gaming i7
CPU
i7 8700k
Graphics
EVGA 1080Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes. I was struggling with an issue where Native Instruments plugins I legitimately own would need to be authorized every time I rebooted. After a long time of searching around online, I finally discovered that they were relying on the CPU's speed to do some kind of calculation for some reason, which isn't usually filled out by people in Clover.

I went in to Clover -> CPU -> and set my Frequency MHz to a value of '3700' (for 3.7ghz), rebooted, and reauthorized the software and the problem has finally went away. Seems kind of an odd parameter to use. I've talked to Waves who and a few other companies who have told me they use the ethernet hardware ID's. Native Instruments is the only one I've ever had a problem with. I was glad to have finally found a fix, and it was cool of them to actually give one/support the Hackintosh community.

Do you know how you would change these settings if you built using OpenCore? I'm having an issue with my build where Native Access isn't working (the icon just disappears from the dock right away) and I'm wondering if it's the same issue. I don't use Clover though. Thanks!
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2012
Messages
141
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Do you know how you would change these settings if you built using OpenCore? I'm having an issue with my build where Native Access isn't working (the icon just disappears from the dock right away) and I'm wondering if it's the same issue. I don't use Clover though. Thanks!
I don't unfortunately. I haven't messed with OC too much, simply because I'm more familiar with Clover, and I also found an issue with Native Access where it would reset my authentication each time I rebooted the computer if I didn't put a CPU frequency setting into Clover (evidently, they use this value when calculating their hashes?), so... I've stuck with it for now - as I'm not sure if that's a setting that is available in OC or not?
 
Last edited:
Top