Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,501
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
does anyone know where i get the original firmware for the disigner 390 so i can use the interface under windows?

please help (=
In the first step of flashing Thunderbolt firmware, we read the original firmware 3 times and compare the checksums of the three files. Those three files are the original firmware. If all three checksums are the same, then we can use any one of those files and flash it back to the Thunderbolt chip.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,501
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What would be the symptoms of having done so?
In some cases, macOS installer will not be able to start if RadeonBoost is present. The safest thing, therefore, is to remove this kext when installing or upgrading macOS. It can be reinstalled afterwards.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,501
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm about 1 meter from the Fenvi antennas,
tried with the Gigabyte ones, its a little bit better, but the differences isn't so much.
I even can't go to the toilet with my AirPods because the sound lags.
my iPhone 6 have a better antenna on it :crazy:
View attachment 476986View attachment 476987View attachment 476988
The signal can be attenuated by any metal object in the line of sight. If you are 1 meter away and there are no objects in the line of sight, then there should not be any attenuation (i.e. signal loss). If it's happening anyway, it might indicate a bad module or a bad connection somewhere on the module.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,501
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Dug my TB3 dock out tonight (model: OWCTB3DK14PSG) - Unfortunately, it seems my computer doesn't care for it. I get an error that says something along the lines of this computer doesn't support thunderbolt accessories. Even under Windows, it doesn't seem to recognize. I plug it in and get a similar message about it not working properly, and 'Port 2' never populated, while Port 1 remained active and working for my thunderbolt audio interface.

Interestingly enough, rebooting with the dock plugged in would keep my primary monitor from working once OSX booted, but the secondary one would work fine. Odd.
I have the same TB3 Dock, namely the OWC 14-Port Thunderbolt 3 dock. It was purchased on November 27, 2018 and has worked well ever since...
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,501
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I think there is a misunderstanding, the two images of the contents of the /EFI/CLOVER/drivers64UEFI and /EFI/ CLOVER/drivers/UEFI folders are related to two different configurations in the installation of macOS Mojave on my system drive: the first is based on CLOVER r. 4920 (in this case I can start Ubuntu from CLOVER), the second one (the new one) is based on CLOVER r. 5119 (in this case it is not possible to start Ubuntu from Clover while I can do it using the F12 key at startup). I added these images in case they could be useful in determining the reason for this problem.

For the reasons I wrote above, I can answer the two questions:
  • Yes
  • Yes
I found this thread about the same problem, it seems to me, but without finding the solution:
Understood. Seems like an issue with Clover 5xxx. The problem can be reported to the developer on GitHub:
A question:
Having to use the "Catalina 10.15.4 Fresh Install" zip package instead of the "May 2020 Update" package in order to have a dual boot configuration with Mojave/Catalina could I have different performances in macOS Catalina in terms of functionality or other?
In other words: how are the two packages different from their use with macOS Catalina?
Thanks in advance
The May 2020 Update includes new versions of the UEFI memory driver (OcQuirks/OpenRuntime) and newer Acidanthera kexts (Lilu, WEG, AppleALC, VirtualSMC). It also includes USBWakeFixup and its companion SSDT called SSDT-USBW.

I suspect that the new UEFI memory driver may not be compatible with Mojave. We can, however, update the Acidanthera kexts, but leave the UEFI memory driver alone.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,501
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, I'm on 10.14.6 and I went back to Clover 4xxx so you'll see driver64uefi below. Not sure if there was something specific you wanted for the "finder window" screenshot, if so just let me know. Thanks!
  • Is this for your Lenovo system?
  • Are the two EFI folders the same (on internal SSD and backup SSD)?
    • Same config.plist, same drivers64UEFI, and same kexts/Other?
  • Occasionally, a CMOS Reset helps with issues like this. But BIOS parameters will need to be re-configured afterwards.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2019
Messages
23
Motherboard
Lenovo Mahobay
CPU
i5-3470T
Graphics
HD 2500
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  • Is this for your Lenovo system?
  • Are the two EFI folders the same (on internal SSD and backup SSD)?
    • Same config.plist, same drivers64UEFI, and same kexts/Other?
  • Occasionally, a CMOS Reset helps with issues like this. But BIOS parameters will need to be re-configured afterwards.
Yeah, it's the Lenovo in my profile. Everything looks the same. I'll give the CMOS reset a try. Thanks for taking a look!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,501
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
you have the original i have the firmewäre not ?
It is very important to save the original firmware when we flash the chip. I am truly surprised that you didn't save the original file. Please see here:

Screen Shot 2020-06-19 at 5.05.02 AM.png
 
Top