Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
194
Motherboard
AsRock Taïchi Z-370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I updated with this (RX 580) and seemed to have had no adverse symptoms... very curious to see what the story is here.
for me instability issues, scrreens always flickering from black to os back ground, until I removed it, redid my caches, restarted, reinstalled and redid coaches again....it somehow also "broke" safari... every time I was moving a safari window on my second monitor, safari kept crashing...

and I did have a hard time doing the last supplemental security update, so maybe I should have removed it before doing that for it to get smoother...
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
161
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Ouch! The drivers64UEFI folder must be deleted completely and immediately. Empty the trash after moving the whole folder into it. Because you're already on Clover 5xxx now, the screenshot below is just FYI.

View attachment 476952

I think there is a misunderstanding, the two images of the contents of the /EFI/CLOVER/drivers64UEFI and /EFI/ CLOVER/drivers/UEFI folders are related to two different configurations in the installation of macOS Mojave on my system drive: the first is based on CLOVER r. 4920 (in this case I can start Ubuntu from CLOVER), the second one (the new one) is based on CLOVER r. 5119 (in this case it is not possible to start Ubuntu from Clover while I can do it using the F12 key at startup). I added these images in case they could be useful in determining the reason for this problem.

In your case, however, some questions:
  • Are you saying that with Clover v4920 you were able to boot the Linux installation(s) properly?
  • But after the switch to Clover v5xxx the Grub boot loader appears, but Grub is unable to boot Linux?

For the reasons I wrote above, I can answer the two questions:
  • Yes
  • Yes
I found this thread about the same problem, it seems to me, but without finding the solution:

It's a good thing that you were able to test both the original "Catalina 10.15.4 Fresh Install" package and the new "May 2020 Update". Now we know that the May 2020 update does not play nicely with Mojave.

If you intend to have both (a) Mojave and (b) Catalina on the same physical SSD, but on different APFS Volumes, then the EFI folder needs to be capable of booting either of the two macOS versions. Right now only the original "Catalina 10.15.4 Fresh Install" can do that.

Yes -- if we use the original "Catalina 10.15.4 Fresh Install" zip package.

A question:
Having to use the "Catalina 10.15.4 Fresh Install" zip package instead of the "May 2020 Update" package in order to have a dual boot configuration with Mojave/Catalina could I have different performances in macOS Catalina in terms of functionality or other?
In other words: how are the two packages different from their use with macOS Catalina?
Thanks in advance
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,133
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have followed this guide before and it worked great. But on a new system I'm building, the backup clone doesn't seem to work on its own. When I boot to Clover on the internal disk, I can open MacOS on the backup just fine. But when I boot to Clover on the backup disk, Clover recognizes MacOS on both the disks (see photo attached), but it can't actually initialize the boot sequence on either one (see second photo attached).

I tried updating Clover to 5xxx but got the same result. Any suggestions?
Let's dig into this:
  • Are you running Mojave?
  • Please Mount EFI partition of the backup disk and post a screenshot of the following:
    • Open CLOVER folder
    • Expand the following subfolders:
      • drivers (if using Clover 5xxx)
      • drivers64UEFI (if using Clover 4xxx)
      • kexts/Other
      • ACPI/patched
    • Then post a screenshot of the Finder window
    • Open config.plist in Clover Configurator and post screenshot of the Boot page
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
560
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690 Creator WiF
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
I use NVM33 on my Titan I have considered changing to the one Casey is using on his z490 rig just to test.
I tested this out a few weeks ago on my GC-Titan Ridge. I got the same results as Designare NVM33 but one of the TB3 ports would not work. I've gone back to running patched NVM50 and I believe this version is giving me the best results. The designare NVM33 version would freeze every once in a while. Other than that, functionality was good.

EDIT- Just FYI- my old 17inch rMBP had problems with the ssd. I was able to connect to it via TB3 cable and TB3-->TB2 adapter, and it all worked! This laptop is TB1 and my Z390 connected to it no problem. I performed a CCC backup before replacing the drive. This was made possible by the excellent work of @CaseySJ and @Elias64Fr. Thanks again!
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,133
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ I'm having the most I'll fated time trying to follow the mini guide on Clean Installing Catalina 10.15.4+. I've stumbled at every bloody hurdle so far!
First I could not get SIP disabled, but I managed to figure that out after quite a bit of experimenting. Now I get this error when installing. Before you ask, it is a new (ish). Sandisk 16Gb USb 3.0. It has only been used for the previous successful Catalina Install late last year. Now I'm getting an error "The Install failed". Install log is attached.
When I look at my USB it looks like the clever and EFI was installed....
This looks like a Clover installation error. Clover failed to install on the USB flash disk?
  • USB flash disk contains an EFI partition, so that's okay.
  • Please try installing Clover again, but grab screenshots of the Customize and Install Location windows.
Screen Shot 2020-06-19 at 4.25.02 AM.pngScreen Shot 2020-06-19 at 4.25.05 AM.pngScreen Shot 2020-06-19 at 4.25.32 AM.png
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2019
Messages
23
Motherboard
Lenovo Mahobay
CPU
i5-3470T
Graphics
HD 2500
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Let's dig into this:
  • Are you running Mojave?
  • Please Mount EFI partition of the backupdisk and post a screenshot of the following:
    • Open CLOVER folder
    • Expand the following subfolders:
      • drivers (if using Clover 5xxx)
      • drivers64UEFI (if using Clover 4xxx)
      • kexts/Other
      • ACPI/patched
    • Then post a screenshot of the Finder window
    • Open config.plist in Clover Configurator and post screenshot of the Boot page
Yes, I'm on 10.14.6 and I went back to Clover 4xxx so you'll see driver64uefi below. Not sure if there was something specific you wanted for the "finder window" screenshot, if so just let me know. Thanks!
 

Attachments

  • Backup Boot.png
    Backup Boot.png
    583.2 KB · Views: 65
  • Backup Clover.png
    Backup Clover.png
    132.8 KB · Views: 62
  • Backup Driver.png
    Backup Driver.png
    200.5 KB · Views: 62
  • Backup Kext.png
    Backup Kext.png
    164 KB · Views: 64
  • Backup Patched.png
    Backup Patched.png
    165.3 KB · Views: 63

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,133
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
does anyone know where i get the original firmware for the disigner 390 so i can use the interface under windows?

please help (=
In the first step of flashing Thunderbolt firmware, we read the original firmware 3 times and compare the checksums of the three files. Those three files are the original firmware. If all three checksums are the same, then we can use any one of those files and flash it back to the Thunderbolt chip.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,133
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What would be the symptoms of having done so?
In some cases, macOS installer will not be able to start if RadeonBoost is present. The safest thing, therefore, is to remove this kext when installing or upgrading macOS. It can be reinstalled afterwards.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,133
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm about 1 meter from the Fenvi antennas,
tried with the Gigabyte ones, its a little bit better, but the differences isn't so much.
I even can't go to the toilet with my AirPods because the sound lags.
my iPhone 6 have a better antenna on it :crazy:
View attachment 476986View attachment 476987View attachment 476988
The signal can be attenuated by any metal object in the line of sight. If you are 1 meter away and there are no objects in the line of sight, then there should not be any attenuation (i.e. signal loss). If it's happening anyway, it might indicate a bad module or a bad connection somewhere on the module.
 
Last edited:
Top