Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jun 13, 2020
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
To: @bmoney @ralphonz @jleahy2 @kellymac12 @iamjoehan

cc: @boob @ssccrab

All of you have reported USB port instability issues that occur anywhere from once a week to couple of times a day.
  • Do any of you already own a Thunderbolt 3 Dock with multiple USB ports?
  • If so, have you tried moving your 'complex' USB devices to the Thunderbolt dock?
    • Keyboard and mouse can most likely remain where they are. These are 'simple' USB devices.
Thunderbolt docks contain their own USB controller and power management firmware. Whereas most Intel-based motherboards use Intel's USB 3.x controller built into the PCH chipset, Thunderbolt docks use completely different ASMedia controllers.

Connecting 'complex' USB devices to a Thunderbolt 3 Dock might be useful in determining whether or not USB instability is due to something on the motherboard.

No Thunderbolt 3 Dock for me but I can test that out in a few weeks. I do get power from these ports though. When I plug my devices in, they'll power and I can hear the disk starting to spin.

It's funny my buddy used this guide to build his Hackintosh (Clover) with the same MB and he's got his working fine. I'm wondering if the switch to Opencore might be an issue? Unless other Opencore users don't have this issue...
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,192
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well... my RX 580 works with VideoProc. Normally, I use iMac 19,1 but to make VideoProc to utilize my RX 580, settings are as follows,
macOS: 10.14.6
SMBIOS: iMacPro 1,1
IGPU: disabled
Framebuffer: Orinoco FrameBuffer is injected (For me this was required to have GPU name to show up on VideoProc but was not required for dgpu enc/dec to work with VideoProc)
Above setting also works with my LGA 775 hackintosh with Core 2 Quad Q9550. There is no way this system can encode HEVC file that fast on VideoProc if RX 580 is not utilized.

Even though Intel is checked, RX 580 is being utilized.

I used this tool by @mitch_de for testing purposes.
Well, I have no words... :)
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
129
Motherboard
z390 Designaire
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
AMD Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
  2. 512K
  3. Classic
  4. Lisa
  5. Plus
  6. Portable
  7. Power Mac
  8. PowerBook
  9. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you. That’s the “AMD bug” I was thinking of. Will add a Quick Reference link to that post shortly.
Its not a bug per se. VideoProc like handbrake and ffmpeg use the Apple videotoolbox API which AFAIK is the only way to access quicksync on MacOs. Videotoolbox uses quicksync only for encoding if its available. This is a design decision by Apple. There are numerous comparisons between QS, NVENC and VCE/VCN that generally conclude that QS produces the best quality at lower bitrates as measured by VMAF. All hardware solutions produce lower quality for a given bitrate than software encoding. At high bitrates the difference in quality is diminished.
TLDR If you want best quality use software encode. If you need faster encoding with lower quality use quicksync. If you don't care about quality use VCE/VCN.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,192
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Its not a bug per se. VideoProc like handbrake and ffmpeg use the Apple videotoolbox API which AFAIK is the only way to access quicksync on MacOs. Videotoolbox uses quicksync only for encoding if its available. This is a design decision by Apple. There are numerous comparisons between QS, NVENC and VCE/VCN that generally conclude that QS produces the best quality at lower bitrates as measured by VMAF. All hardware solutions produce lower quality for a given bitrate than software encoding. At high bitrates the difference in quality is diminished.
TLDR If you want best quality use software encode. If you need faster encoding with lower quality use quicksync. If you don't care about quality use VCE/VCN.
This is quite helpful. Will add a link to this post in the same Quick Reference entry.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2016
Messages
72
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
No Thunderbolt 3 Dock for me but I can test that out in a few weeks. I do get power from these ports though. When I plug my devices in, they'll power and I can hear the disk starting to spin.

It's funny my buddy used this guide to build his Hackintosh (Clover) with the same MB and he's got his working fine. I'm wondering if the switch to Opencore might be an issue? Unless other Opencore users don't have this issue...

I was rocking Clover, and then switched to OpenCore to try to improve the USB issue...
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
796
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
That's great! When you get some free time, would you mind running a "render" of the .ISO/DVD to h.264 conversion feature that Video Proc advertises and post an in-process screen shot of Activity monitor. Like this:

View attachment 476375

I don't have a DVD drive so couldn't try that but I did just run a conversion from 1 format to another (MP4 H.264 to MP4 HEVC). As suspected, it is only the iGPU being used and not the AMD.
Screenshot 2020-06-16 at 23.22.33.pngScreenshot 2020-06-16 at 23.22.41.png
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2018
Messages
106
Motherboard
GA EP45-UD3P
CPU
Q9550
Graphics
Sapphire RX 580 Nitro+ L.E
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I don't have a DVD drive so couldn't try that but I did just run a conversion from 1 format to another (MP4 H.264 to MP4 HEVC). As suspected, it is only the iGPU being used and not the AMD.
View attachment 476615View attachment 476614
Which configuration are you using? Are you using iMacPro 1,1? is your IGU disabled? because I have a different result when converting from HEVC to H264.
Screen Shot 2020-06-16 at 3.43.31 PM.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,192
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I see. Was your Thunderbolt port straight up not working as well?
I believe your Thunderbolt ports are working, but you're connecting USB-C drives to those ports (not Thunderbolt drives). The type of USB-C cable makes a significant difference -- the cable must be rated for USB 3.x. Most USB-C to USB-C cables are only capable of USB 2.0, but USB 2.0 has been turned OFF on both Thunderbolt ports.
 
Top