Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,012
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It detects my RX580 without problems.

View attachment 476135

That's great! When you get some free time, would you mind running a "render" of the .ISO/DVD to h.264 conversion feature that Video Proc advertises and post an in-process screen shot of Activity monitor. Like this:

Activity Monitor plus CPU and GPU.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,464
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
These two models are what I tested
LacieMobileDrive(4TB)
Mfr. Part Number: STHG4000402
UPC or EAN No.: 763649130636

LacieRugged2TB
Mfr. Part Number: STFR2000800
UPC or EAN No.: 3660619400157

Does the LaCie Mobile mount...
  • ...when connected via USB-C to USB-A cable?
    • Yes
  • ...when connected via USB-C to USB-C cable to front panel USB-C port (if you have one)?
    • Only the back IO port. I do not have a front panel
  • ...when connected to either of the two Thunderbolt ports?
    • No
I will check BIOS settings again.
EDIT: Also here are the screenshots attached
EDIT2: BIOS settings are set based on the guide below
Both of your LaCie drives are USB-C 3.x models. If you boot the system with those drives already connected, do they show up in macOS?

Also, are you certain that the USB-C cable supports USB 3.x protocol? Most USB-C to USB-C cables on the market only support USB 2.x, which we have disabled on the Thunderbolt/USB-C ports to avoid exceeding macOS's 15-port limit.

One way to check this is by connecting the LaCie to a real Mac using the same USB-C cable and running IORegistryExplorer on the Mac. Then scroll down to XHC (please do not use IORegistry's "search" field because it hides details) and check if the LaCie is attached to any HSxx ports or if it's attached to the Mac's Thunderbolt ports at either RP05 or RP21 or RP09 (depends on the Mac).
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2020
Messages
7
Motherboard
Z390 Designare D4
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
this link
Hi there, Firstly, thank you so much for this incredible guide. It was a painless setup. I'm interested to overclock my system, and having never done it before, was excited to check out this guide. However, my BIOS is newer than the one used here and uses different terms, which is frustrating as the guide looks perfect. Do you know of any resources to 'translate' the old bios terms so I could follow this? Many thanks
 
Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
8
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
I5 9600k
Graphics
RX580 8gb
Please link for Z390 designare bios F9G. On link for guide the only new version f9h, but he is black screen for me. F9b is normal working.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,464
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Does this method disable the bt+wifi card for windows disk also? I have clover managing double boot
The Fenvi FV-T919 or other Broadcom card is not disabled in Windows, but if possible, do not install drivers for this card in Windows. Let Windows use the Intel CNVi module.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
114
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Aorus RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The Fenvi FV-T919 or other Broadcom card is not disabled in Windows, but if possible, do not install drivers for this card in Windows. Let Windows use the Intel CNVi module.
How do I do that? Currently no connection within windows but all good on high sierra side (lan though)
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
16,464
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
How do I do that? Currently no connection within windows but all good on high sierra side (lan though)
Please clarify the problem you're trying to solve:
  • Are you trying to enable the Fenvi FV-T919 in Windows?
  • Are you trying to enable the Intel CNVi WiFi/BT in Windows?
  • Are you trying to enable any WiFi/BT in Windows?
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
114
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Aorus RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Please clarify the problem you're trying to solve:
  • Are you trying to enable the Fenvi FV-T919 in Windows?
  • Are you trying to enable the Intel CNVi WiFi/BT in Windows?
  • Are you trying to enable any WiFi/BT in Windows?
I’m trying to enable wifi bt in windows without pci cards. No matter how, I bought the mobo for tb3, didn’t even know about double wifi option till now ahah
 
Top