Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,941
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for clearing that up! It looks like a pretty big a detailed SSDT for a rename compared to what I have in Clover / devices so I wondered if it also incorporated the SSDT-PNLF which is always included with whatevergreen and I just ignore?

Do you personally use the RX580 SSDT still or have you ditched it for the simple rename in Clover / Opencore?
Not only did I ditch the RX 580 SSDT a while ago, but ever since I've been recommending against it. Although it does no harm, it's an unnecessary complication.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,941
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ
I've been incredibly happy with this build for over a year, it served me well, but I am having a lot of trouble getting an internal PCIe card to work reliably.
Once the system recognises it it works like a charm, but the trouble I have is that it only shows up whimsically every few reboots (could be 2, could be 20) of the system and I haven't been able to understand how and why.

The card is a Magewell Pro Capture HDMI (http://www.magewell.com/products/pro-capture-hdmi)

Because I need this for work, I'm in the process of biting the bullet and getting a Mac Pro, as I can't risk one morning not being able to capture a tutorial or a demo of a product, but maybe it's could be interesting to create some literature on how one would address such hardware issues.

The device requires its own driver, and it appears (when it does) in the Camera section of the System Profiler, and as I said, once it decides to show up :)

I have been scraping the internet on how to create SSDT and DSDT for PCIe cards but am not even sure that would be the way to go.
Because the system unpredictably loads this device there must be an easier way to tackle this.
Any pointer is appreciated, mostly for my own mental sanity because although I'll jump off the Hackintosh train in the near future I still can't accept not having a solution for this :D

Also... it seems that lately the TB3 ports don't always show up...

Thank you
Ubi
This somewhat sounds like a CMOS issue. Please try either or both of these two options:
  • Shutdown and flip power switch on PSU to OFF for 10 seconds to let all capacitors discharge completely. Then flip it on and boot up the system. Do you see see these intermittent issues?
  • Alternatively, try CMOS Reset by following the procedure in the Designare manual. This will reset BIOS parameters to factory defaults and it may also re-lock MSR 0xE2. So we will need to configure BIOS again (starting with Save & Exit --> Load Optimized Defaults) and the check and unlock MSR 0xE2.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2013
Messages
55
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Intel IGPU might appear if you set ig-platform-id to 0x3E9B0007, but I've not tested this personally. Nevertheless, as @oreoapple pointed out, we can use VideoProc to ensure that Intel QuickSync / HW acceleration is working.

Tested with VIdeoProc, everything is working! :)
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2013
Messages
38
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro - Flashed
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
I'm curious on which card did you use on pci. I just bought a Camlink 4K and I'm having trouble with it. (in fact i Think it's OBS). I saw that the DeckLink Mini Recorder 4K has compability with Macs, just not sure if with our build.

I can't manage to use apple HT hardware for encoding, it is recording choppy and in wrong FPS... that's why I think it's an OBS thing. x264 works ok, but take a lot of my CPU when recording 4k.

If it's helpful, I'm running Casey's 390 golden build with a flashed motherboard thunderbolt chip and use the Camlink 4K flawlessly. I had troubles at first when I had the add-in Titan-Ridge card, which was always giving me some stability problems. I decided to simplify, pulled the add-in card, and been happy ever since.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2013
Messages
55
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If it's helpful, I'm running Casey's 390 golden build with a flashed motherboard thunderbolt chip and use the Camlink 4K flawlessly. I had troubles at first when I had the add-in Titan-Ridge card, which was always giving me some stability problems. I decided to simplify, pulled the add-in card, and been happy ever since.

Do you mind to elaborate? what do you mean by add-in card? And about flashing the chip, I see you have a different MB, would it apply to me?

And with camlink 4k, are you using OBS? I'm trying to record at 4k 24fps with apple HT hardware encoding but it's recording at 20 fps only.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
298
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
+ one further update - both cameras / speakers / mics now seem to be working... I've not changed anything since yesterday, so maybe Windows has found some drivers in the background. I've only tested this out on Win10 so can't guarantee it would work on other OS but it all seems to be coming through BIOS at startup so it *should* if driver issues can be resolved.
Are you saying that you haven't got this working in Mac OS yet?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,941
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Do you mind to elaborate? what do you mean by add-in card? And about flashing the chip, I see you have a different MB, would it apply to me?

And with camlink 4k, are you using OBS? I'm trying to record at 4k 24fps with apple HT hardware encoding but it's recording at 20 fps only.
@mathgeek also has a Designare Z390 listed in his signature that has been flashed. Camlink 4K is connected to one of the the on-board TB3 ports.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2013
Messages
38
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro - Flashed
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
@mathgeek also has a Designare Z390 listed in his signature that has been flashed. Camlink 4K is connected to one of the the on-board TB3 ports.

Thanks for clarifying, Casey. The Camlink 4K has a USB3 port and is plugged into my motherboard USB3 port. I haven't been using OBS, only as a webcam. If there is something I can do to test it using OBS and report back, pls let me know - happy to help.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
65
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designaire z390
CPU
i9-9990
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi All,

My USB ports randomly stopping keep happening. I started a thread over in hardware troubleshooting.


Best, B
 
Joined
May 27, 2020
Messages
17
Motherboard
Gigabyte arous z390e pro wifi
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Hello!

everytime i put the computer to sleep it wakes up after 2 seconds.
 
Top