Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jul 7, 2010
Messages
129
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS HERO X Z370
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @c0c0p0ps

The RX580 SSDT was only being used to rename the device, which is more easily done through Clover or OpenCore Device Properties. So you’re not missing out on anything!
Thanks for clearing that up! It looks like a pretty big a detailed SSDT for a rename compared to what I have in Clover / devices so I wondered if it also incorporated the SSDT-PNLF which is always included with whatevergreen and I just ignore?

Do you personally use the RX580 SSDT still or have you ditched it for the simple rename in Clover / Opencore?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2016
Messages
23
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390 (F9b)
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ
I've been incredibly happy with this build for over a year, it served me well, but I am having a lot of trouble getting an internal PCIe card to work reliably.
Once the system recognises it it works like a charm, but the trouble I have is that it only shows up whimsically every few reboots (could be 2, could be 20) of the system and I haven't been able to understand how and why.

The card is a Magewell Pro Capture HDMI (http://www.magewell.com/products/pro-capture-hdmi)

Because I need this for work, I'm in the process of biting the bullet and getting a Mac Pro, as I can't risk one morning not being able to capture a tutorial or a demo of a product, but maybe it's could be interesting to create some literature on how one would address such hardware issues.

The device requires its own driver, and it appears (when it does) in the Camera section of the System Profiler, and as I said, once it decides to show up :)

I have been scraping the internet on how to create SSDT and DSDT for PCIe cards but am not even sure that would be the way to go.
Because the system unpredictably loads this device there must be an easier way to tackle this.
Any pointer is appreciated, mostly for my own mental sanity because although I'll jump off the Hackintosh train in the near future I still can't accept not having a solution for this :D

Also... it seems that lately the TB3 ports don't always show up...

Thank you
Ubi
 
Joined
May 27, 2020
Messages
17
Motherboard
Gigabyte arous z390e pro wifi
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
hello my hackintosh wakes up after it goes to sleep 2 seconds later
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
1,194
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ
I've been incredibly happy with this build for over a year, it served me well, but I am having a lot of trouble getting an internal PCIe card to work reliably.
Once the system recognises it it works like a charm, but the trouble I have is that it only shows up whimsically every few reboots (could be 2, could be 20) of the system and I haven't been able to understand how and why.

The card is a Magewell Pro Capture HDMI (http://www.magewell.com/products/pro-capture-hdmi)


Ubi
Never heard of this company. Why don't you try a Black Magic card? I tried an Intensity and a mini recorder (both PCIe) at some point and they worked OK with the right(not necessarily latest) drivers.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2013
Messages
55
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Never heard of this company. Why don't you try a Black Magic card? I tried an Intensity and a mini recorder (both PCIe) at some point and they worked OK with the right(not necessarily latest) drivers.
I'm curious on which card did you use on pci. I just bought a Camlink 4K and I'm having trouble with it. (in fact i Think it's OBS). I saw that the DeckLink Mini Recorder 4K has compability with Macs, just not sure if with our build.

I can't manage to use apple HT hardware for encoding, it is recording choppy and in wrong FPS... that's why I think it's an OBS thing. x264 works ok, but take a lot of my CPU when recording 4k.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2014
Messages
33
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i5 9600K
Graphics
2x RX580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So I wanted to write about a bit of success I had. I used the opencore reference materials here and have OC 0.5.9 running. I edited the config and added the smalltree driver to get my intel 10G sfp+ card to work ( previously had it running in clover).

I'm running dual display via the RX580 via HDMI at 4k x60hz.

I was never able to get the thunderbolt chip to flash, but that's ok since I was going to run dual display anyway and dual thunderbolt displays probably would not have worked.

It is a joy to develop on a desktop machine that doesn't spin up a million fans while I'm doing multiple things at the same time. ( running logstash, ingesting large data from logstash into a local splunk instance - all the while doing a video conference).

I originally had an AMD board and tried getting OC running with it and had some success, but there was random lag and slow downs. Plus I couldn't run Docker desktop because of the missing instruction sets. The intel might be slower and have less cores, but compared to my 2017 MBP this thing SCREAMS!

Thank you @CaseySJ for all your support and assistance!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,126
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Quick question, I have my hackintosh in headless with IGPU+GPU mode and when testing with geekbench 5 it only shows my RX 580. On my real macbookpro I can see both... I wanted to test metal on the intel on the hackintosh, is it possible or I got wrong settings on my hack?
Intel IGPU might appear if you set ig-platform-id to 0x3E9B0007, but I've not tested this personally. Nevertheless, as @oreoapple pointed out, we can use VideoProc to ensure that Intel QuickSync / HW acceleration is working.
 
Top