Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Oct 19, 2012
Messages
24
Motherboard
Samsung RC720 Sandy Bridge
CPU
i5 2410M
Graphics
GT520M + HD3000 Optimus
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi to all.

I have a Asus EX3 TB3 Card.

I Flashed the AlpineRidgeEX3-NVM18-NATA.bin.

All OK

Admins-iMac:~ admin$ flashrom -p ch341a_spi -w /Users/admin/Downloads/ASUS-THUNDERBOLT-EX-3-3/AlpineRidgeEX3-NVM18-NATA.bin

flashrom v1.2 on Darwin 18.7.0 (x86_64)
flashrom is free software, get the source code at https://flashrom.org

Calibrating delay loop... OK.

Found Winbond flash chip "W25Q80.V" (1024 kB, SPI) on ch341a_spi.

Reading old flash chip contents... done.
Erasing and writing flash chip... Erase/write done.
Verifying flash... VERIFIED.

My ASUS EX3 has NMB-3 (B) Serial so I think is the right one or maybe I make a mistake.

But not in Windows or macOS there is no Thunderbolt Device or Unknokn Hardware

Do we need to Pin 3+5 like the Titan Ridge?
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,027
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ --I am trying the SSDT for my un-flashed GC-Alpine ridge card from the repository. In my config.plist I have only the _E17 rename enabled.

Upon booting, 3 times out of 4 the display as well as the display peripherals (mic, audio out, camera) work. Occasionally, the display lights up but no peripherals. Not a big deal since I can reboot and all is well again.

A USB stick via a USB-c to USB 3 dongle attached to the unused TB port on the AR does not connect.

In about this Mac--system report--Thunderbolt it shows "no drivers loaded". in --PCI it shows the Thunderbolt NHI but not the USB controller.

The TB tree in IOReg doesn't look right. Shouldn't the device be attached to ThunderboltPort5?

Attached is a screen shot of the first part of the TB tree in IOReg, the full IOReg, and my DSDT saved from MaciASL-->new from ACPI-->DSDT.

Thanks!


View attachment 470667
Although RP21 is correct, Thunderbolt Bus is not being activated. Do you have any previous Thunderbolt SSDT in CLOVER/ACPI/patched? If so, it must be moved out.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,027
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi to all.

I have a Asus EX3 TB3 Card.

I Flashed the AlpineRidgeEX3-NVM18-NATA.bin.

All OK

Admins-iMac:~ admin$ flashrom -p ch341a_spi -w /Users/admin/Downloads/ASUS-THUNDERBOLT-EX-3-3/AlpineRidgeEX3-NVM18-NATA.bin

flashrom v1.2 on Darwin 18.7.0 (x86_64)
flashrom is free software, get the source code at https://flashrom.org

Calibrating delay loop... OK.

Found Winbond flash chip "W25Q80.V" (1024 kB, SPI) on ch341a_spi.

Reading old flash chip contents... done.
Erasing and writing flash chip... Erase/write done.
Verifying flash... VERIFIED.

My ASUS EX3 has NMB-3 (B) Serial so I think is the right one or maybe I make a mistake.

But not in Windows or macOS there is no Thunderbolt Device or Unknokn Hardware

Do we need to Pin 3+5 like the Titan Ridge?
  • Which motherboard are you using?
  • Does it have a Thunderbolt header (THB_C)?
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2012
Messages
24
Motherboard
Samsung RC720 Sandy Bridge
CPU
i5 2410M
Graphics
GT520M + HD3000 Optimus
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
The Dell 3060 has No Thunderbolt Header.

Its a Dell 3060 Desktop PC

With a AlpineRidge TB3 Card and Flashed Firmware its OK in the same PC in macOS Catalina

On the Dell 3060

TitanRidge with Flashed Firmware and Pin 3+5 its OK
Gigabyte AlpineRidge without Pin everything is OK
ASUS Ex3 with Flashed Firmware no Thunderbolt Device in Windows and macOS
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,027
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The Dell 3060 has No Thunderbolt Header.

Its a Dell 3060 Desktop PC

With a AlpineRidge and Flashed Firmware its OK in macOS Catalina.
Please clarify:
  • The flashed Asus ThunderboltEX 3 works correctly in macOS Catalina and Thunderbolt Bus is activated (see System Information --> Thunderbolt)?
  • But the same flashed card does not work in Windows? Windows simply says "Unknown"? If so, boot macOS first then warm-boot into Windows.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2012
Messages
24
Motherboard
Samsung RC720 Sandy Bridge
CPU
i5 2410M
Graphics
GT520M + HD3000 Optimus
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Sorry for my English.

The Flashed ASUS EX3 TB3 not working in Windows and not in macOS Catalina.

There is no Unknown Device or Thunderbolt Device in Windows and not in macOS

When I change the ASUS EX3 TB3 Card with my other GigaByte AlpineRidge in the same Dell 3060 its working.

So my Question is:

Must we Pin some Pins together or is it only Firmware Flash + ....aml ?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 11, 2019
Messages
7
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, thanks a lot for this guide. I've noticed that you've upgraded from the RX 580 to the RX 5700 xt. Is there a guide to do so that I've missed?
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
1,118
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have the last model of the 17 inch MBP from 2011-2012. It's a tank in every sense of the word, but this thing has been a beast. I also have a 2019 MBP and it probably weighs less then half the weight, but I just love that old thing. It's still my preference to surf on, the screen is huge. Dropped an SSD in 4 years ago and it was like a new machine. Ah the good old days when you could upgrade your laptop.

Congrats on the system!

I have a 2011 MBP that I still use. Getting a bit long in the tooth, no airdrop, latest version of Logic Pro will not run properly, etc. The GPU died the other day. Known problem. Switched it off, using builtin graphics now.

The new MBP's are ridiculously expensive, no way I can afford one.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,027
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sorry for my English.

The Flashed ASUS EX3 TB3 not working in Windows and not in macOS Catalina.

There is no Unknown Device or Thunderbolt Device in Windows and not in macOS

When I change the ASUS EX3 TB3 Card with my other GigaByte AlpineRidge in the same Dell 3060 its working.

So my Question is:

Must we Pin some Pins together or is it only Firmware Flash + ....aml ?
Okay, I understand! I think the flashed Asus Thunderbolt3 EX (TB-EX 3) might only work in Asus motherboard with THB_C header cable. It also did not work for me on my Gigabyte or ASRock motherboard.

But if you flash the original firmware back to the Asus TB-EX 3, we might be able to activate Thunderbolt bus with special SSDT. But this requires (a) original DSDT.aml for your motherboard, and (b) IORegistryExplorer output with Asus TB-EX 3 installed.
 
Joined
May 28, 2019
Messages
5
Motherboard
Z390 designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RTX2070
Please check the following:
  • System Preferences --> Security & Privacy --> Location Services --> enabled
  • Clover Configurator --> Boot Arguments --> shikigva = 16 or 80 (remove "shiki-id" if it exists)
  • Connect to same WiFi network as other AirPlay devices
  • Login to same iCloud account as other AirPlay devices and iOS devices (for Sidecar)

hi @CaseySJ

thanks for your reply, very helpful. It works.

I found my Location services is disabled.
I also add shikigva=16.
Besides, My clover have no EmuVariableUefi-64.efi , I add it.
Then generate new serial number from scratch.

after that, it works, mirror option back,
imessage / facetime /continue/ handsoff/sidecar are working .

thanks
 
Top