Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jul 22, 2016
Messages
283
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for testing this despite the odds! In my last reply to @vicantu I posted a ZIP containing two debug files. It would be helpful to copy these files as listed below. They will enable logging using the same Thunderbolt SSDT that was posted yesterday evening.
  • Replace SSDT-DTPG-V2.aml with SSDT-DTPG-V3.aml (CLOVER/ACPI/patched)
  • Copy ACPIDebug.kext to CLOVER/kexts/Other
After rebooting we can examine the logs like this: log show --last boot | grep ACPIDebug

@CaseySJ

I followed your instructions and have attached two log files - "First Boot - No TB3," then after hot plug and restart "Second Boot - With TB3."

EDIT: One other oddity I noticed. After the reboot with TB3 drive connected the System Info - Thunderbolt now shows the first three lines for the TB bus. I didn't see this prior to making today's addition of debugging files.
 

Attachments

  • First Boot - No TB3.txt
    5.7 KB · Views: 29
  • Second Boot - With TB3.txt
    5.1 KB · Views: 32
Last edited:

elfcake

Banned
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
1,740
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Replacement motherboard has arrived, time to rebuild my HackWinLinitosh. :)
Wow! Thanks for the info!!! Will get in it now.

Don't believe it. If it is showing as out of stock but will allow you to backorder then try that. Mine broke 9 days ago. Amazon said they were out of stock (being replaced under guarantee) and expected delivery was mid/end June.
Every day I received an update email reducing that time. Last Friday they said expect delivery on Tuesday, and it was delivered about 1/2 hour ago. It is in an Amazon Locker so I just have to pop out shortly and pick it up. Then it is time to rebuild my HackWinLinitosh. :)
 

elfcake

Banned
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
1,740
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Replacement motherboard has arrived, time to rebuild my HackWinLinitosh. :)


Don't believe it. If it is showing as out of stock but will allow you to backorder then try that. Mine broke 9 days ago. Amazon said they were out of stock (being replaced under guarantee) and expected delivery was mid/end June.
Every day I received an update email reducing that time. Last Friday they said expect delivery on Tuesday, and it was delivered about 1/2 hour ago. It is in an Amazon Locker so I just have to pop out shortly and pick it up. Then it is time to rebuild my HackWinLinitosh. :)
Damn! Broke? Lucky it was under warranty.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
49
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
Asus Geforce GTC 660 Ti
You do not have to, but you should!

Correct.


Casey, I want to thank you for your hard work and contribution to this whole Thunderbolt procedure. I was able to get my Gigabyte Titan Ridge card flashed (modified firmware) and working in my Gigabyte Designare Z390 mobo Hackintosh running Catalina. Initially I couldn't get anything to bridge pin #1 & #3 header pin together so I end up using a small piece of paperclip cut, inserted into the header connection. I had to twist the two ends in a U shape so it fits snug. Booted up the computer into Catalina (Opencore w/Windows 10 also) and the card is detected. You MUST bridge the two pins otherwise the card will NOT work.
 

elfcake

Banned
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
1,740
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Damn! Broke? Lucky it was under warranty.
Replacement motherboard has arrived, time to rebuild my HackWinLinitosh. :)


Don't believe it. If it is showing as out of stock but will allow you to backorder then try that. Mine broke 9 days ago. Amazon said they were out of stock (being replaced under guarantee) and expected delivery was mid/end June.
Every day I received an update email reducing that time. Last Friday they said expect delivery on Tuesday, and it was delivered about 1/2 hour ago. It is in an Amazon Locker so I just have to pop out shortly and pick it up. Then it is time to rebuild my HackWinLinitosh. :)
I do not see an option for back order on Amazon. Found it on NewEgg
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,019
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Casey, I want to thank you for your hard work and contribution to this whole Thunderbolt procedure. I was able to get my Gigabyte Titan Ridge card flashed (modified firmware) and working in my Gigabyte Designare Z390 mobo Hackintosh running Catalina. Initially I couldn't get anything to bridge pin #1 & #3 header pin together so I end up using a small piece of paperclip cut, inserted into the header connection. I had to twist the two ends in a U shape so it fits snug. Booted up the computer into Catalina (Opencore w/Windows 10 also) and the card is detected. You MUST bridge the two pins otherwise the card will NOT work.
Glad to hear it! I purchased this type of breadboard wire set that contains all three types of jumper wires. Also note that the pins you connected on GC-Titan Ridge are technically pins 3 and 5.
 

elfcake

Banned
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
1,740
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Glad to hear it! I purchased this type of breadboard wire set that contains all three types of jumper wires. Also note that the pins you connected on GC-Titan Ridge are technically pins 3 and 5.
Do I understand this correctly? In addition to the TB3 that is board mounted on the Designare, a Titan Ridge AIC is also added?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,019
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Do I understand this correctly? In addition to the TB3 that is board mounted on the Designare, a Titan Ridge AIC is also added?
If you need Thunderbolt Bus (most folks don't) on the Designare Z390, then there are at least two choices:
  • Flash the on-board Thunderbolt firmware chip or (not 'and')
  • Flash the Thunderbolt firmware on a GC-Titan Ridge add-in-card.
A third option is to use an Alpine Ridge add-in-card and activate Thunderbolt Bus using SSDT alone, although this might be the most convenient, but least functional/reliable of the three options.

Edit: Looks like I misunderstood the question. If you're asking whether this motherboard with its own on-board Thunderbolt can support an additional Thunderbolt add-in-card, then the answer is yes, absolutely it can.
 
Last edited:
F

FormerUser-594785

Guest
Then it's likely that MSR 0xE2 remained unlocked. Have you checked it?


Yes, before doing the procedure to unlock the MSR I checked and it was 0x01. (The computer started with both the f3 and the f9b BIOS.)
I remember when I did it the first time, and I still had Catalina 10.15.2 or 3, without unlocking the MSR, the computer didn't start.
I don't know what to think.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2018
Messages
54
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i7BEH
CPU
i7-8559U
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@vicantu,

Thank you for the detailed report; it's quite helpful. The SSDT you have already contains debug logging, but it's currently turned off. We can do the following:
  • First, hot plug a Thunderbolt device then restart IORegistryExplorer to see if the device tree appears under DSB1.
  • Next, to enable debug logging we just need to do this:
    • Download attached ZIP that contains 2 files.
    • Copy ACPIDebug.kext to CLOVER/kexts/Other
    • Copy SSDT-DTPG-V3.aml to CLOVER/ACPI/patched, but move the previous file (SSDT-DTPG-V2.aml) to CLOVER/misc
    • Reboot
  • Thunderbolt logs can then be seen as follows (in Terminal): log show --last boot | grep ACPIDebug
Thank you, here is the sequence of the test and the result:

1. I completely shut down and reboot the NUC8 with no TB3 device connected and using your SSDT-TbtOnPCH-NUC-8-OSY86-V2.aml and SSDT-DTPG-V2.aml installed, this is what appeared:

Screen Shot 2020-05-18 at 3.20.36 PM.png


2. Hot Plug a TB3 Drive an restarted IORegistryExplore, I don't see the device tree appearing under DSB1, I just see some changes under IOService:/AppleACPIPlatformExpert/PCI0@0/AppleACPIPCI/RP05@1C,4/IOPP/UPSB@0/IOPP/DSB0@0/IOPP/NHI0@0/AppleThunderboltHAL/AppleThunderboltNHIType3/IOThunderboltController/IOThunderboltPort@5/IOThunderboltSwitchType3/IOThunderboltPort@1

Like yesterday, the drive was not recognized or mounted by the Operative System

Screen Shot 2020-05-18 at 2.59.34 PM.png


3. I completed all of the following Keeping the TB3 Drive connected:
  • Copy ACPIDebug.kext to CLOVER/kexts/Other
  • Copy SSDT-DTPG-V3.aml to CLOVER/ACPI/patched, but move the previous file (SSDT-DTPG-V2.aml) to CLOVER/misc
  • Reboot
4: I run the Terminal command:

$ log show --last boot | grep ACPIDebug

2020-05-31 20:00:48.253519-0400 0xd3 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: Version 0.1.4 starting on OS X Darwin 19.4.
2020-05-31 20:00:48.253958-0400 0xd3 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: { "RSTR", 0x90039854, }
2020-05-31 20:00:48.254033-0400 0xd3 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: { "ROOT", 0xe00e4000, }
2020-05-31 20:00:48.254102-0400 0xd3 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: { "UPSB", 0xe0200000, }
2020-05-31 20:00:48.254188-0400 0xd3 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: { "DSB0", 0xe0300000, }
2020-05-31 20:00:48.254261-0400 0xd3 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: { "DSB1", 0xe0308000, }
2020-05-31 20:00:48.254329-0400 0xd3 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: { "DSB2", 0xe0310000, }
2020-05-31 20:00:48.254412-0400 0xd3 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: { "DSB4", 0xe0320000, }
2020-05-31 20:00:48.254480-0400 0xd3 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: { "NHI0", 0xe0400000, }
2020-05-31 20:00:48.254549-0400 0xd3 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: "TB3 _INI"
2020-05-31 20:00:48.254631-0400 0xd3 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: "Upstream VID/DID okay"
2020-05-31 20:00:48.254704-0400 0xd3 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: { "ICME 1", 0xffffffff, }
2020-05-31 20:00:48.254773-0400 0xd3 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: "Configure root"
2020-05-31 20:00:48.254851-0400 0xd3 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: "Configure UPSB"
2020-05-31 20:00:48.254917-0400 0xd3 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: "Wait for link training"
2020-05-31 20:00:48.254983-0400 0xd3 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: "Configure DSB"
2020-05-31 20:00:48.255048-0400 0xd3 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: "Wait for down link"
2020-05-31 20:00:48.255137-0400 0xd3 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: "Configure NHI"
2020-05-31 20:00:48.255204-0400 0xd3 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: { "NHI BAR", 0x90000000, }
2020-05-31 20:00:48.255271-0400 0xd3 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: "CNHI done"
2020-05-31 20:00:48.255351-0400 0xd3 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: { "ICME 2", 0x800001a7, }
2020-05-31 20:00:48.255419-0400 0xd3 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: { "ICME 3", 0x800001a7, }
2020-05-31 20:00:48.255486-0400 0xd3 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: { "ICME 4", 0x800001a7, }
2020-05-31 20:00:48.354227-0400 0x76 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: { "UGIO", 0xffffffffffffffff, 0xffffffffffffffff, }
2020-05-31 20:00:48.354387-0400 0x76 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: { "UGIO finish", 0x0, 0x0, }
2020-05-31 20:00:48.355705-0400 0x11e Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: { "CRMW", 0x13e, 0x0, }
2020-05-31 20:00:48.355841-0400 0x11e Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (kernel) ACPIDebug: { "CRMW", 0x23e, 0x0, }



I hope this helps solve the mistery, ready to proceed to test anything you want.

Thank you
 
Top