Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
May 16, 2020
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
I'm just ordering parts for this build in a bit of rushed fashion as everything seems to be going out of stock here in Australia, one quick question as I keep seeing posts about the NVMe drive needing to be in the right slot -

- Can I utilize both NVMe slots on the Designare both for macOS? I'd ideally like to have a ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB for OS/programs and a ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 2TB for home directory

- Could I additionally have a 1TB SATA SSD for dual boot into Windows? (I have a Samsung 860 EVO already that I thought I'd use - booting into Windows will be rare so I'd rather have both NVMe slots for macOS.)
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,874
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks so much for your help – apologies for missing the MSR post (this is quite a thread). Will monitor the thread more closely in the future, especially when updates are out.

Re: new EFI folder – I wasn't sure when during the process this part should happen. The OS seems to be booting fine without it, but I assume I should still revise my EFI on my primary hard drive using the new files, correct?
Good to hear that macOS is booting now. Did unlocking MSR do the trick? If so, it's not strictly necessary to update the EFI if system is booting.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,874
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
FINALLY! I think I have found the problem. So, I did everything above and to my surprise it worked perfectly until I plugged my UAD Apollo Twin MK2 Thunderbolt interface. After I plugged the interface back, did a few restarts and started to crash again so I think the issue is related to TB3 somehow. What I can do to avoid this is when I need to switch I will shut down the computer and the interface and power them on again to boot into the other os.

I still have FwRuntimeServices because with OpenRuntime I can't get it to boot at all. It panics at "VirtualSMC" but as long as FwRuntimeServices works fine I don't mind sticking with it.

Thank you so much for your help! I did a double EFI back-up from this state.
Glad to hear it, but I wonder if other UAD Apollo Twin owners experience the same thing when switching between macOS and Windows...
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,874
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm just ordering parts for this build in a bit of rushed fashion as everything seems to be going out of stock here in Australia, one quick question as I keep seeing posts about the NVMe drive needing to be in the right slot -

- Can I utilize both NVMe slots on the Designare both for macOS? I'd ideally like to have a ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB for OS/programs and a ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 2TB for home directory

- Could I additionally have a 1TB SATA SSD for dual boot into Windows? (I have a Samsung 860 EVO already that I thought I'd use - booting into Windows will be rare so I'd rather have both NVMe slots for macOS.)
Hello @Mobofunk,

Yes and yes...
  • We can certainly populate both NVMe slots with macOS drives. In Post #1 you'll find a procedure for splitting System and Home folders onto separate drives. This is done after macOS installation on the system drive (512GB in your case) is completed.
  • We can also install Windows on a SATA SSD (Samsung 860 EVO). Just be aware that certain SATA ports are disabled when both NVMe slots are occupied with PCIe NVMe SSDs. There are 6 SATA ports; ports 3 and 4 are always available; these are labeled in the manual as SATA2 and SATA3 (because numbering starts at 0 in the manual).
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,874
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@NCMacGuy @vicantu

Alas we tried, but I agree for now we should park this... alongside all those shiny jets. :)
@NCMacGuy @vicantu

I was able to adapt and test the full Osy86 Thunderbolt SSDT on my Asus X99 Deluxe II. There are a couple of small, but significant errors and omissions in the GitHub code, so it required more work to properly customize.

If you're up for another test, feel free to try the attached V2:
  • NUC 7:
    • Needs _E20 renamed to XE20
    • Needs _INI renamed to XINI
    • Please replace existing SSDT-DTPG.aml with SSDT-DTPG-V2.aml attached here
    • And use SSDT-TbtOnPCH-NUC-7-OSY86-V2.aml
    • Boot without any Thunderbolt device connected and run IORegistryExplorer to check if Thunderbolt Bus is activated under RP01
    • If so, hot-plug a Thunderbolt device and restart IORegistryExplorer to see the updated device tree
  • NUC 8:
    • Needs _E40 renamed to XE40
    • Does not need _INI renamed to XINI
    • Please replace existing SSDT-DTPG.aml with SSDT-DTPG-V2.aml attached here
    • And use SSDT-TbtOnPCH-NUC-8-OSY86-V2.aml
    • Boot without any Thunderbolt device connected and run IORegistryExplorer to check if Thunderbolt Bus is activated under RP05
    • If so, hot-plug a Thunderbolt device and restart IORegistryExplorer to see the updated device tree
The benefit of the full SSDT is better Thunderbolt power management. When we boot the system without any Thunderbolt devices connected, we see this (power turned off, which is good):
Code:
% pmset -g powerstate | grep Thunderbolt
AppleThunderboltHAL         0          0  None
IOThunderboltController     0          0  None
IOThunderboltSwitchType3    0          0  None
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    0          0  None
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    0          0  None
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    0          0  None
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    0          0  None
But when we hot plug a Thunderbolt device, power turns on:
Code:
% pmset -g powerstate | grep Thunderbolt
AppleThunderboltHAL         3          3  ON
IOThunderboltController     2          2  ON
IOThunderboltSwitchType3    2          2  ON
IOThunderboltSwitchType3    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
IOThunderboltSwitchType3    2          2  ON
IOThunderboltSwitchType3    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltPCIUpAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
With the short version that omits all the power functions (_PS0 and _PS3) we see that Thunderbolt is powered on even without any devices connected:
Code:
% pmset -g powerstate | grep Thunderbolt
AppleThunderboltHAL         3          3  ON
IOThunderboltController     2          2  ON
IOThunderboltSwitchType3    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-TbtOnPCH-NUC-8-OSY86-V2.aml
    17.3 KB · Views: 50
  • SSDT-TbtOnPCH-NUC-7-OSY86-V2.aml
    17.3 KB · Views: 43
  • SSDT-DTPG-V2.aml
    129 bytes · Views: 53
Last edited:
Joined
May 16, 2020
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Thanks so much! While you're here, instead of me making a new thread, my last big question is on what video card & ram.

I was keen for a Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8G NITRO+ due to it being compatible with Mojave (I'm still on Sierra on my dying iMac!) but it's discontinued here and they are going for high prices even on the used market.

My second option is the Gigabyte AMD, Radeon RX 5700 XT, Gaming OC, I like this option as it gives me more future proofing and power but I see quite a few posts with fan issues with the 5700 xt - have those issues been fixed so the card will use its fan off mode where the fans remain off until a certain temperature has been met? I would hate for it to be running at full fan speed 24/7. Can we also utilise the intel onboard graphics for preview etc like we can with the RX 580, I like the idea of leveraging the cpu(9900k) graphics instead of them going to waste

Also was the photo's app issue sorted? I saw your post saying it should be fixed in 10.15.4

lastly - with Ram - I'm looking at G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB (2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz - is the 2 x 16gb kit ok (I work in audio and can see a possibility of needing 64gb further down the track), I see most of the guides here use the 4 x 8gb kit.. Also, is there any point in going for faster ram? RGB is unimportant to me so if there is a cheaper alternative that is as reliable then please suggest

Will leave you alone after this! Thanks again
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,874
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks so much! While you're here, instead of me making a new thread, my last big question is on what video card & ram.

I was keen for a Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8G NITRO+ due to it being compatible with Mojave (I'm still on Sierra on my dying iMac!) but it's discontinued here and they are going for high prices even on the used market.

My second option is the Gigabyte AMD, Radeon RX 5700 XT, Gaming OC, I like this option as it gives me more future proofing and power but I see quite a few posts with fan issues with the 5700 xt - have those issues been fixed so the card will use its fan off mode where the fans remain off until a certain temperature has been met? I would hate for it to be running at full fan speed 24/7. Can we also utilise the intel onboard graphics for preview etc like we can with the RX 580, I like the idea of leveraging the cpu(9900k) graphics instead of them going to waste
Yes I think the issues with RX 5700 XT have been sorted out. My PowerColor Red Dragon has never exhibited those issues, but with a Hackintosh there are no guarantees, no promises. We should always purchase components from a retailer that has a good return/exchange policy. This thread is long enough that one can search it for almost any issue and find multiple user reports from which to decide. The Intel iGPU will be used for compute tasks if the Catalina build guide is followed.
Also was the photo's app issue sorted? I saw your post saying it should be fixed in 10.15.4
See above.
lastly - with Ram - I'm looking at G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB (2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz - is the 2 x 16gb kit ok (I work in audio and can see a possibility of needing 64gb further down the track), I see most of the guides here use the 4 x 8gb kit.. Also, is there any point in going for faster ram? RGB is unimportant to me so if there is a cheaper alternative that is as reliable then please suggest
Ever since Clover 5103 there has been good compatibility with 8GB, 16GB and even 32GB memory modules (max 128GB). It may be necessary to turn off X.M.P. Profile and use the memory at 2666MHz or 2933MHz for best reliability. But try with X.M.P. Profile enabled to see how the system responds. Even the USD$6000 Mac Pro uses only 2666MHz and 2933MHz memory. Don't let anyone tell you that you're suffering the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune by down-clocking memory to these speeds.

Finally, Hackintosh is about experimentation and self-reliance. There is no AppleCare or Apple Genius or Tech Support Hotline. Anyone unable or unwilling to experiment, to do some research, and to at least try to be self-reliant should visit an Apple online or retail store instead.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 10, 2019
Messages
14
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900k
Graphics
Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT
Good to hear that macOS is booting now. Did unlocking MSR do the trick? If so, it's not strictly necessary to update the EFI if system is booting.

Yes the MSR solved it, though I did have to revert back to shikigva=32. I will see if I run into any problems and keep the updated EFI on hand just in case. Thanks again for your help
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2018
Messages
54
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i7BEH
CPU
i7-8559U
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@NCMacGuy @vicantu

I was able to adapt and test the full Osy86 Thunderbolt SSDT on my Asus X99 Deluxe II. There are a couple of small, but significant errors and omissions in the GitHub code, so it required more work to properly customize.

If you're up for another test, feel free to try the attached V2:
  • NUC 7:
    • Needs _E20 renamed to XE20
    • Needs _INI renamed to XINI
    • Please replace existing SSDT-DTPG.aml with SSDT-DTPG-V2.aml attached here
    • And use SSDT-TbtOnPCH-NUC-7-OSY86-V2.aml
    • Boot without any Thunderbolt device connected and run IORegistryExplorer to check if Thunderbolt Bus is activated under RP01
    • If so, hot-plug a Thunderbolt device and restart IORegistryExplorer to see the updated device tree
  • NUC 8:
    • Needs _E40 renamed to XE20
    • Does not need _INI renamed to XINI
    • Please replace existing SSDT-DTPG.aml with SSDT-DTPG-V2.aml attached here
    • And use SSDT-TbtOnPCH-NUC-8-OSY86-V2.aml
    • Boot without any Thunderbolt device connected and run IORegistryExplorer to check if Thunderbolt Bus is activated under RP05
    • If so, hot-plug a Thunderbolt device and restart IORegistryExplorer to see the updated device tree
The benefit of the full SSDT is better Thunderbolt power management. When we boot the system without any Thunderbolt devices connected, we see this (power turned off, which is good):
Code:
% pmset -g powerstate | grep Thunderbolt
AppleThunderboltHAL         0          0  None
IOThunderboltController     0          0  None
IOThunderboltSwitchType3    0          0  None
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    0          0  None
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    0          0  None
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    0          0  None
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    0          0  None
But when we hot plug a Thunderbolt device, power turns on:
Code:
% pmset -g powerstate | grep Thunderbolt
AppleThunderboltHAL         3          3  ON
IOThunderboltController     2          2  ON
IOThunderboltSwitchType3    2          2  ON
IOThunderboltSwitchType3    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
IOThunderboltSwitchType3    2          2  ON
IOThunderboltSwitchType3    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltPCIUpAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
With the short version that omits all the power functions (_PS0 and _PS3) we see that Thunderbolt is powered on even without any devices connected:
Code:
% pmset -g powerstate | grep Thunderbolt
AppleThunderboltHAL         3          3  ON
IOThunderboltController     2          2  ON
IOThunderboltSwitchType3    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
AppleThunderboltDPOutAda    2          2  ON
WOW! Thank you for helping us!!

Definitely this is a step in the good direction!, at least in my unflashed NUC8, I never got this booting without any TB3 device connected:

Screen Shot 2020-05-17 at 10.58.25 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-05-17 at 11.03.18 PM.png
+
Screen Shot 2020-05-18 at 12.42.11 AM.png

Screen Shot 2020-05-17 at 11.26.11 PM.png


But when I connected an external TB3 NVME disk the device is not mounted:

Screen Shot 2020-05-17 at 11.01.44 PM.png


I disconnected the drive:
Screen Shot 2020-05-17 at 11.01.52 PM.png


Then I connected my eGPU and also is not mounted and this appears:
Screen Shot 2020-05-17 at 11.02.24 PM.png
-------

Just to be shure I used: change _E40 to XE20 5F453430 58453430

<dict>
<key>Comment</key>
<string>change _E40 to XE20</string>
<key>Disabled</key>
<false/>
<key>Find</key>
<data>X0U0MA==</data>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>WEU0MA==</data>
</dict>

Is that correct?

Again , I think you are so close, I never got any similar before with my unflased unit,

Thanks again for you dedication and solidarity!



EDIT:

I did more test: again, I booted without any TB3 device BUT I sent to sleep the machine, then I woke it and then I connected my eGPU and it was recognized and working for 20 seconds!!, then my machine went black and rebooted itself.


Screen Shot 2020-05-17 at 11.26.11 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-05-17 at 11.43.52 PM.png


even the icon for eject my eGPU appeared on the top bar, definitely you are very near.


EDIT2:

Booted without any TB3 attached
Sleep without any TB3 attached
Wake Up without any TB3 attached
Connected external TB Drive and appears in Finder!!
But cannot navigate the directories and can not eject the drive or open Disk Utility


EDIT3:

On my 2 unflased NUC8s (this one with your files and the other without any of your files), as soon I execute on terminal: pmset - g powerstate | grep Thunderbolt or just pmset - g powerstate the system instantly reboots

wiht just pmset -g this is what appears:

$ pmset -g
System-wide power settings:
Currently in use:
standby 1
Sleep On Power Button 1
womp 1
autorestart 0
hibernatefile /var/vm/sleepimage
proximitywake 1
powernap 1
gpuswitch 2
networkoversleep 0
disksleep 10
standbydelayhigh 86400
sleep 10 (or 1 in my other machine)
hibernatemode 3
ttyskeepawake 1
displaysleep 10
tcpkeepalive 1
highstandbythreshold 50
standbydelaylow 86400
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    8.7 KB · Views: 31
  • Screen Shot 2020-05-17 at 11.55.42 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-05-17 at 11.55.42 PM.png
    448 KB · Views: 27
  • Screen Shot 2020-05-17 at 11.56.29 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-05-17 at 11.56.29 PM.png
    164.3 KB · Views: 32
  • Screen Shot 2020-05-17 at 11.56.50 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-05-17 at 11.56.50 PM.png
    179.9 KB · Views: 28
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 26, 2020
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
Intel i9 9900K
Graphics
Sapphire Nitro+ RX 580 8GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Glad to hear it, but I wonder if other UAD Apollo Twin owners experience the same thing when switching between macOS and Windows...
Me too, I think that’s why nobody on this thread had this issue, it is a specific and isolated scenario.
 
Top