Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,090
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I doubt the hardware is at fault, but who knows?
Just had the same issue again. I checked with IORegistryExplorer what was going on while replugging HS11 (Bluetooth) and HS12 (front USB). Didn't get bluetooth back to work, but noticed an oddity in HS11: it showed "UsbConnector 0x0", just like HS12..
Checked the usb SSDT, which defined HS11 as 0xff. It's really weird. Just to test, I replaced 0xff with 255. Upon rebooting bluetooth worked again and HS11 showed up as 0xff, but I'll just have to wait and see I guess.. ?
If you're running Catalina, did you have Mojave on the same SSD before (i.e. you upgraded from Mojave to Catalina)? If so, please do this:
  • Post a screenshot of /Library/Extensions
  • Run this command in Terminal kextstat | grep -v apple and post a screenshot of the result
  • Then mount EFI partition of macOS SSD, select USBInjectAll.kext from CLOVER/kexts/Other and choose Get Info from the the Finder. What is the version of USBInjectAll.kext?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,090
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi everyone! For the past few weeks I've been trying to throubleshoot my problem with KPs. Just a short recap: I was facing random KPs after I booted back from Windows to MacOS and I found out that the Windows SSD caused this. I changed all my drives related to Windows and the problem started again. Without the Windows SSD plugged in works just fine.

Honestly I'm really tired of this already but I really need the Windows boot also! I'm out of ideas..

Anyone with the same issue?
Are you running an NTFS driver such as Paragon NTFS? If so, try uninstalling the driver and reboot.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,090
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It's in the repository :)


@CaseySJ I just looked at the z370a and z370a-II sections of the repository and the SSDT's are identical. Also, the name changes are a lot more concise and clean in the Z370a spoiler. Mine (version 2) was...superfluous.

I other words z370a-II can be removed and z370a can be used for both. I don't won't to clutter your repo :)
I created separate spoilers intentionally in order to avoid future confusion. Although the SSDTs might be the same, the ACPI renames are different.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,090
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Casey
I have Gigabyte GC-Titan Ridge add-in-card-PCIe card in X299 WU8 System.
I see your post #16,393
Please recommend a guide for how to Flashing to GC-TITAN-RIDGE-NVM23-Elias64Fr.bin pathed Fimware toGC-Titan Ridge add-in-card?
Thanks for your amazing job.
@nmano, please look through the references pointed out by @NorthAmTransAm. But also look at the Thunderbolt DROM Micro-Guide for GC-Titan Ridge because it tells you which chip to flash (the one with the blue dot).

Screen Shot 2020-05-15 at 8.39.24 AM.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,090
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
hi, i have a running system 14.5.4 and have to update to 14.5.6 to use the new logic update .... month were passed and i have to find out what i have to do again ;-)

is it possible to update directly to 14.5.6 with skipping 14.5.5 ? if it is possible - where can i find the pages relating to this ( in this huge thread ) ? ;-)
Yes we can simply do an in-place update from Mojave 10.14.5 to 10.14.6 using System Preferences --> Software Update. However, we must always make a full bootable backup before doing the update. Expect the update to fail (though most likely it will succeed).

While the updating is taking place do not walk away from the computer. Each time the system reboots by itself and the Clover Boot Menu appears, press an arrow key on the keyboard to stop the countdown. Then:
  • If you see a boot option with the word Install such as "Boot macOS Install from ..." then choose that option at the Clover Boot Menu.
  • That option will automatically disappear after one or two reboots. If you don't see that option, then choose "Boot macOS Mojave from ...".
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,090
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
MassDrop CTRL keyboard. It works fine when connected to a type-A port. It just doesn't work when connected to a hub via thunderbolt (type-a or otherwise), but it is my only USB2 device that has issues; except for other keyboards. Any keyboard connected via the Thunderbolt hub stops working as soon as MacOS starts loading.
Please try the attached SSDT:
  • Move the existing SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-V7.aml from CLOVER/ACPI/patched to another folder such as CLOVER/misc
  • Copy the attached file into CLOVER/ACPI/patched and reboot.
    • This version enables USB 2 on the second Thunderbolt port, the one closest to the yellow USB Type A port on the rear IO panel.
    • To maintain a 15-port limit, this version disables SS01 -- the front panel USB-C port. If your computer case does not have a USB-C port then nothing is lost. But if do have this port we can disable a different port later.
    • For now, just check if the keyboard connects.
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-V7B-ZIPTIE.aml
    846 bytes · Views: 45

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,090
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I can not get it there is always not recognized under Windows what can I do I have it with the programCH341A with AsProgrammer
ws25q80dv this is the type in the software with which I try
Because Windows does not recognize the Thunderbolt controller and the UID is 0x00000000 it could mean a couple of things:
  • One of the surface mount devices near the Winbond chip got damaged or removed.
  • The Winbond chip itself is damaged.
Some suggestions:
  • Carefully try to connect the CH341A to W25Q80DV chip and just read the firmware. Raspberry Pi is the preferred tool because it provides more useful information during read and write. Anyway, carefully try to read the firmware. Follow the Supplemental Procedure.
  • If you cannot read the chip, then some options are:
    • Take motherboard to a local PC repair shop and ask them to try and read the chip.
    • If the chip is damaged, PC repair shop could replace the chip and program it for you.
    • If the cost of this is higher than the cost of a new motherboard, then you have these options:
      • Option 1: Buy an add-in Thunderbolt card such as GC-Alpine Ridge or GC-Titan Ridge. Your motherboard's on-board controller will not work, but a PCIe card can be added.
      • Option 2: Replace the motherboard.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2016
Messages
346
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Z170X-Designare bios does not list GPIO3 Force Pwr as an option under Thunderbolt. Thunderbolt Security is listed, and yes, set to none is the way to get partial TB3 support (devices plugged in at boot only, no howstwap) with this board.

I have attached the latest Z-170X-Designare bios if anyone wants to take a stab at modding it.

@qthegaijin

I am not an expert on this issue, but on Page 432 of this thread there is a

***Mini Guide: Using UEFITool and ifrextract to View Firmware Settings***

Using your supplied BIOS file and following the procedure I attempted to locate GPIO3 Force Pwr in the BIOS file.

It appears to me that by default GPIO3 Force Pwr is set to ON. Apparently there is no need to change the value in the BIOS to try a Thunderbolt modification on your mobo.

Here is an appropriate section from Setup.txt obtained using the Mini Guide that appears to me to indicate that GPIO3 Force Pwr is defaulted to ON.

Screen Shot 2020-05-15 at 11.44.04 AM.png
Since your BIOS shouldn't need to be modified if my evaluation is correct, there isn't any risk to proceed under the assumption that GPIO3 Force Pwr is ON.
 
Top