Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,107
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@AlexD,

Thank you for the kind words. @Elias64Fr and "DSM2" have been instrumental in paving the way for Thunderbolt Bus. But of course the primary credit goes to "Osy86" who has done truly groundbreaking work in this area.

The problem you're experiencing (Thunderbolt does not work when booted with a TB device connected) seems to be very common. We may be able to fix this with additional SSDT modifications. I'll continue to work on this. We know that @Elias64Fr's Asus Maximus Extreme is working very well with his SSDT, so that's where I'll start. We may just need to import a few additional methods into the SSDT (I hope).
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2018
Messages
446
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@StefanAM In the SSDT you need to change RP05 to RP21, _E2C to _E17, XE2C to XE17. For DSB4 duplicate device DSB1, rename it to DSB4 and change the _ADR to 0x00040000

Thank You! I flashed original firmware. I used the ssdt you modified according with my DSDT, renamed in acpi/patch - copying the values you provided in config.plist file (not sure if it's ok, or it must be customised in function of my mobo and TB3). Also changed what @CaseySJ said at post 20772. I don't have DROM visible on Hackintool/Logs/System.
My AR TB3 isn't Asus, but GB.
Please, tell me what I need to do next. Also, in this context (switching old ssdt for patched firmware with the new one for original) do I need SSDT-DTPG.aml anymore?
 

Attachments

  • System DSDT.dsl
    1.8 MB · Views: 59
  • iMac.ioreg
    21.7 MB · Views: 56
  • Captură de ecran din 2020-05-13 la 16.54.10.png
    Captură de ecran din 2020-05-13 la 16.54.10.png
    92.2 KB · Views: 51
  • Captură de ecran din 2020-05-13 la 16.55.21.png
    Captură de ecran din 2020-05-13 la 16.55.21.png
    290.3 KB · Views: 47
  • Captură de ecran din 2020-05-13 la 16.56.23.png
    Captură de ecran din 2020-05-13 la 16.56.23.png
    269.8 KB · Views: 64
  • Captură de ecran din 2020-05-13 la 16.57.38.png
    Captură de ecran din 2020-05-13 la 16.57.38.png
    201.9 KB · Views: 45
  • SSDT-TbtOnPch.aml
    4.5 KB · Views: 42

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,107
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
do I need a clover update after the firmware patch? so that thunderbold is recognized? help me pls
Hello @sttefzheu,

Please describe the problem you are seeing. Even better, please post screenshots of (a) what is working and (b) what is not working.

Because you might be using a language translator, it is hard for us to understand your posts. So screenshots can be more helpful.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,107
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...
Once I put SSDT-TbtOnPch-ASRock-Z370-ITX-AC.aml (no changes was needed: same _E17 event and RP21 location) to CLOVER/ACPI/patched and rebooted – Thunderbolt Bus appeared in System Information under Thunderbolt section!
...
Was it necessary to apply an ACPI rename for the RP21 _INI() method? Or did you simply rename the _INI() method in the SSDT to PINI()?
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
820
Motherboard
GA-Z390-Aorus Pro
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 590
It's been a while since I've last checked this wonderful thread. So many incredible things were achieved through the last months by collective enormous efforts of truly amazing people whom I really admire.

Thank you for all your hard work guys!

I'm going now through the whole Thunderbolt journey documented here and there in this thread.
It's absolutely amazing achievement!



I'm currently using Z390 Aorus Pro motherboard and GC-Alpine Ridge card with my Apple Thunderbolt Display.
It all worked perfectly with all functions of the display. I used old TB3HP SSDT since last summer. No problems at all.

So today I decided to try this SSDT-only approach to activate Thunderbolt Bus on my system.
It worked! I can't believe my eyes.

Once I put SSDT-TbtOnPch-ASRock-Z370-ITX-AC.aml (no changes was needed: same _E17 event and RP21 location) to CLOVER/ACPI/patched and rebooted – Thunderbolt Bus appeared in System Information under Thunderbolt section!

But unfortunately, it only happens when no device is connected to the TB card.

If I try to boot with Apple Thunderbolt Display connected before turning machine on, it will not show up.
And Thunderbolt section of System Information will say No hardware found.

So the only way to have both Thunderbolt Bus properly appear AND Apple Thunderbolt Display working is to connect the display to the GC-Alpine Ridge only AFTER you've booted the system.

@CaseySJ Just in case my information might be useful, you can add my config to repository.
Z390 Aorus Pro + GC-Alpine Ridge + Apple Thunderbolt Display.
Thunderbolt Bus appears. Display is working perfectly. But only when plugged in after system booted.

Just need to figure out what happens when I try to boot with display already connected and it will be a miracle :)
I have the same hardware setup as you. I'm using the no-flash approach but I'm using an SSDT that @dgsga created and modded for my AR. his approach also uses clover/OC device property injection for DROM. (I will experiment later with an AR SSDT if @CaseySJ creates one).

anyway, once in a while a boot doesn't load TB properly ("no hardware found"). what I have done in that case is first a PSU power off for a few seconds, and if that isn't sufficient, I do a CMOS reset. then everything is fine with the TB display connected at boot (until some unknown event or sequence of events again triggers the "no hardware connected" problem).
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2018
Messages
60
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ,

Thank you again for your wonderful work and truly incredible collaboration with @Elias64Fr !
I'm digging through the whole TB investigation process now step by step.
It's unbeliveable, I feel like I'm reading a fascinating detective book.

I also fully agree with you that something in SSDT can be imroved further to properly handle both cold and warm boot with and without devices connected.

To answer your question about ACPI rename:

I was having difficulties making a proper patch to rename RP21._INI to RP21.XINI so I decided to edit DSDT directly.
Tried to de-cypher your hex sequences but no luck.
So, I dumped original tables via F4 and then just hard-coded XINI and XE17 in DSDT.aml which I put in ACPI/patched
Not ideal, but works as a temporary solution once I figure out proper patch for RP21._INI to RP21.XINI rename
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,107
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank You! I flashed original firmware. I used the ssdt you modified according with my DSDT, renamed in acpi/patch - copying the values you provided in config.plist file (not sure if it's ok, or it must be customised in function of my mobo and TB3). Also changed what @CaseySJ said at post 20772. I don't have DROM visible on Hackintool/Logs/System.
My AR TB3 isn't Asus, but GB.
Please, tell me what I need to do next. Also, in this context (switching old ssdt for patched firmware with the new one for original) do I need SSDT-DTPG.aml anymore?
Please try the new procedure just added to the Repository:

Screen Shot 2020-05-13 at 7.26.40 AM.png

Your board only needs the _E17 to XE17 rename as mentioned in the guide. Please disable or delete the "_INI" to "XINI" rename.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,107
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ,

Thank you again for your wonderful work and truly incredible collaboration with @Elias64Fr !
I'm digging through the whole TB investigation process now step by step.
It's unbeliveable, I feel like I'm reading a fascinating detective book.

I also fully agree with you that something in SSDT can be imroved further to properly handle both cold and warm boot with and without devices connected.

To answer your question about ACPI rename:

I was having difficulties making a proper patch to rename RP21._INI to RP21.XINI so I decided to edit DSDT directly.
Tried to de-cypher your hex sequences but no luck.
So, I dumped original tables via F4 and then just hard-coded XINI and XE17 in DSDT.aml which I put in ACPI/patched
Not ideal, but works as a temporary solution once I figure out proper patch for RP21._INI to RP21.XINI rename
Fortunately for your board there is no need to rename _INI() because Gigabyte's awesome amazing wonderful DSDT checks if there's a PINI() method and if it exists, then _INI() automatically calls PINI().

So all we have to do is edit the SSDT-TbtOnPCH and rename the "_INI" method to "PINI". Then find and remove all references to XINI. This has been done in the Repository.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2017
Messages
396
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This looks like a memory driver issue. If you were using OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi, then check that no other memory drivers (such as AptioMemoryFix.efi, OsxAptioFix3Drv.efi, etc) are installed in CLOVER/drivers/UEFI.
It was the memory driver. After a brief panic, I remembered that I still had my USB install, so I hit F 12 and booted off of the USB install UEFI partition and into an earlier r4920 version of Clover. Once I got into clover, I just selected my normal macOS Mojave disk and booted without any problems.

Now this is where things get really weird. I had none of the above mentioned drivers in my old folder. I remember previously unlocking my MSR register, but I was always relying on RC scripts and nvram emulations. However if you take another look at my screenshot that I posted of two directories side-by-side, you will notice that my drivers64UEFI folder doesn't have any. Given that my hack has been rock solid for last year and a half, how was this possible?

And last but not least... I have gone ahead and implemented native NVRAM as per your instructions. Somewhere in those instructions there should also be a warning that updating the Motherboard BIOS/Firmware will lock the MSR Register thereby breaking NVRAM as well as introduce other issues and that it will once again have to be unlocked. I decided against updating to F9b and did all the work on the current F6 (perhaps foolishly), however, new users might first wish to update to latest one PRIOR to undertaking the effort to unlock the MSR. This is especially important because unlocking MSR is not for the faint of heart and should only be done when absolutely necessary. So it's best to do this once and not have to do it again.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,107
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It was the memory driver. After a brief panic, I remembered that I still had my USB install, so I hit F 12 and booted off of the USB install UEFI partition and into an earlier r4920 version of Clover. Once I got into clover, I just selected my normal macOS Mojave disk and booted without any problems.

Now this is where things get really weird. I had none of the above mentioned drivers in my old folder. I remember previously unlocking my MSR register, but I was always relying on RC scripts and nvram emulations. However if you take another look at my screenshot that I posted of two directories side-by-side, you will notice that my drivers64UEFI folder doesn't have any. Given that my hack has been rock solid for last year and a half, how was this possible?

And last but not least... I have gone ahead and implemented native NVRAM as per your instructions. Somewhere in those instructions there should also be a warning that updating the Motherboard BIOS/Firmware will lock the MSR Register thereby breaking NVRAM as well as introduce other issues and that it will once again have to be unlocked. I decided against updating to F9b and did all the work on the current F6 (perhaps foolishly), however, new users might first wish to update to latest one PRIOR to undertaking the effort to unlock the MSR. This is especially important because unlocking MSR is not for the faint of heart and should only be done when absolutely necessary. So it's best to do this once and not have to do it again.
Please see this guide for unlocking MSR 0xE2 on Designare Z390 -- and the "URGENT NOTE" at the bottom of the guide.
 
Top