Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,787
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks @CaseySJ for all of the hard work you (and others) have been putting into bringing full TB functionality for the rest of us.

I‘m a Gigabyte x299 Designare EX owner, and it’s unclear to me what my options for hot-swappable TB ports are. I don’t see my board listed in the list above ... could you help clarify?
Here’s what I understand as my options so far:

A. Use the on-board TB with an SSDT patch: functionality of just one port?* (free)​
B. Get a GC-Titan Ridge PCI card, and do an SSDT patch: functionality of two ports.* ** (~$95)​
C. A & B: functionality of one* on-board port + two Titan Ridge ports* ** = three ports.*** (~$95)​
D. On-board chip Firmware flashing for: two fully-functional, cold boot, hot-swappable ports.**** (~ $70 USD)​
E. A & D: two Titan Ridge ports* ** + two fully-functional, flashed, on-board ports**** = four ports. (~ $165 USD)​
* requires a device to be plugged in during boot, unless you jump the TB_C cable (if available)​
** no video pass-through?​
*** is it even possible to do an SSDT patch for both cards?​
**** is flashing even an option for x299 Designare users?​
Sorry if the stars are confusing, I’ve been up all night trying to make sense of all the information. But if you help expand on some details, or correct me where I’m wrong, that would be much appreciated.​
Thanks!​
Your Gigabyte X299 Designare EX is a great board! It contains two DisplayPort-Inputs and two Thunderbolt ports. Because it uses an Alpine Ridge controller, it should be possible to activate Thunderbolt Bus and Local Node with SSDT alone. That should enable both ports with hot plug capability.
  • Are you using KGP's Thunderbolt hot plug SSDT right now? If so, does hot plug work?
Also feel free to post the following:
  • Your board's DSDT by running MaciASL and selecting File --> New from ACPI --> DSDT.
  • Your IOReg (run IORegistryExplorer and select File --> Save As...)
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2010
Messages
68
Motherboard
AsRock Z490 ITX/TB3
CPU
i7 107000K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi! I'm really interested in this procedure. I have Alpine Ridge flashed and it's working perfect with my devices. But I'd like to use it also in other OS's. It's hard for me to follow points 4 and 5 from your guide. If you are so kind and give me a hand........ Thank you!
@StefanAM In the SSDT you need to change RP05 to RP21, _E2C to _E17, XE2C to XE17. For DSB4 duplicate device DSB1, rename it to DSB4 and change the _ADR to 0x00040000
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-TbtOnPch.zip
    4.7 KB · Views: 56
Joined
Mar 24, 2014
Messages
125
Motherboard
Aorus Xtreme Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega VII
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
Yes no DP-in is unfortunate, for a while I thought about getting a designare board but when I found out that one of the ports had to be driven from the IGPU it made me reconsider and since firmware patching has began I have even less reason now. I am really happy with how this system is running, and how the Thunderbolt 3 AIC is working with my devices.

But you have to admit: native TB is something else (meaning waaay better than AIC)
 
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
987
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Good point -- from the running system we can see that _E23 is the right one. The hot plug event handler is generally surrounded by other Thunderbolt methods under Scope GPE.

@losinka, there is nothing scary about this. You cannot damage the system if you pick the wrong event handler. The only thing that will happen is ... nothing. Specifically, no hot plug.

For total clarity: the RUNNING system's method is XTBT, so would that mean renaming it... XXTB? :)
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
793
Motherboard
Huawei Matebook D
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I don't wanna ruin everyone's RadeonBoost party, but so far in my testing, I only found my system to be slower with the kext. Let me explain:

I'm running a VEGA 64 8GB and 9900KS on Clover with iMacPro1,1 with iGPU disabled (in hindsight, the 9900KS doesn't make any sense whatsoever). I tried various setups: iMac19,1 instead of iMacPro, enabled and disabling iGPU, with and without the SSDT. Even though I do sometimes see a significant increase in GB5 scores, I have never experienced an increase in render times in DaVinci Resovle 16. Futhermore, all tested setups and combinations resulted in significantly lower performance. I tested the same video with each setup (a combination of multiple camera's and formats including H264, H265, retiming, LUTs and titles). For instance, using the setup as described above, without RadeonBoost, gets me about 55 fps when rendering 4K H264 clip. Using RB, this drops to around 30-35. As video rendering and video editing is the main reason I built this setup, this kext unfortunately doesn't make sense to me.

I think it's important to talk about this. Better GB scores are nice and all, but translation to real-world performance is way more important to me.
In my testing SMBIOS 18,3 is faster than 19,1. Not sure why.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
820
Motherboard
GA-Z390-Aorus Pro
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 590
For total clarity: the RUNNING system's method is XTBT, so would that mean renaming it... XXTB? :)

what would be interesting would be to use MaciASL to edit your "original" dsdt, changing the .GPE._E23 method to XE23. put the edited dsdt.aml into clover/acpi/patched and reboot. see if whatever gremlin renamed _E23 to XTBT is able to rename XE23 to XTBT.


if the running dsdt preserves the renamed XE23 then I would proceed with the rest of the guide.
 
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
987
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
what would be interesting would be to use MaciASL to edit your "original" dsdt, changing the .GPE._E23 method to XE23. put the edited dsdt.aml into clover/acpi/patched and reboot. see if whatever gremlin renamed _E23 to XTBT is able to rename XE23 to XTBT.


if the running dsdt preserves the renamed XE23 then I would proceed with the rest of the guide.

I think that would be a lot of hassle for me on OC as I think I'd have to drop my DSDT and ALL subsequent SSDTs then re-add them in ACPI, and wouldn't this be functionally identical?
Code:
    External (_GPE.XXTB, MethodObj)
    //
    Scope (\_GPE)
    {
        Method (XTBT, 0, NotSerialized)  // _Exx: Edge-Triggered GPE, xx=0x00-0xFF
        {
            If (_OSI ("Darwin"))
            {
                \_SB.PCI0.RP05.UPSB.AMPE ()
                \_SB.PCI0.RP05.UPSB.UMPE ()
            }
            Else
            {
                XXTB ()
            }
        }
    }
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
793
Motherboard
Huawei Matebook D
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
** Micro-Guide: Significantly Speed Up Intel UHD630 iGPU **
I tried this on an Asus Rog Strix Z370-I Gaming, Intel i7 8700, SMBIOS 19,1, latest Lilu and WhateverGreen BUT the system doesn't boot. I get a long boot bar...
The system works fine without it.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
793
Motherboard
Huawei Matebook D
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Correct -- DarkWake is when the computer wakes up, but keeps the monitor turned off. Hence "dark" wake. This mode is used to perform background tasks, process scheduled events and notifications, etc. The important thing to check is whether monitor is indeed off during a DarkWake event.

DarkWakes are both normal and desirable.
What if you don't want them?
For exAmple you have a PC in your bedroom and don't want the clicks and liquid cooling starting up...?
Is there a way to disable completely the function?
Thanks!
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2017
Messages
396
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  • MSR 0xE2 must be unlocked for native NVRAM. See procedure here.
    • VarOffset is 0x5C1 for BIOS F6, F7, F8, and F9b. If you're on an earlier version, please go through the full procedure to determine the VarOffset
I unlocked my MSR 0xE2 a while back. I'm still on F6 and haven't updated to F9b yet. Does the process for unlocking MSR 0xE2 have to be repeated once the Firmware is updated to F9b? Also, are there benefits to updating to F9b?
 
Top