Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,965
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I can't find that entry at all, so that's interesting. Also, when I open the app 'MacX Video Converter Pro', it has a toggle/check to enable hardware encoding. It's enabled on my MacBook, not on my hackintosh.
Looks like Internal Graphics might be disabled in BIOS. It must be set to Enabled (not Auto).
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2010
Messages
129
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS HERO X Z370
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Good to know!

If anyone wants to test:

1) With TB Device on, fully enter sleep and then wake. The device shouldn't reconnect.
2) Reboot. Device shouldn't connect as, in my case, it needs a shutdown and unplug.
3) Check IOResources.

I'm wondering if this only applies TB via card. In other words, if you attempt sleep and break your TB and it's simply fixed by a reboot then it's likely you won't get the same missing USB power info.

Anyways, the hope is that the next time someone attempts to tackle the sleep issue is that this is a useful clue.

Happy Mothers days where it applies!
Fellow Mojave user with a Z370 based system. I patched out and created an EC-USBX SSDT using SSDTtime and use UIAC to add my USB ports. I'm using a GC Titan ridge flashed with the NVM33, and pin 3-5 force power jumper.

Did some testing on this, and have no change on my EC, AppleBusPowerController when cold booting, waking from sleep or rebooting after a wake from sleep. It shows up exactly the same, and recognises an iPhone 11 Pro plugged in for charging.

1) Entering and waking from sleep shows no devices as connected on wake same as you. If I quickly unplug / reinsert the TB cable to my dock then it immediately reconnects and correctly shows the drivers loaded under the system profile PCI for the dock ethernet and audio.

2) Rebooting after a wake, without doing the cable unplug / replug also fails to automatically recognise and reconnect the dock when reaching desktop again.

It feels to me like the only thing I am really missing from having a pretty much perfect thunderbolt implementation is the reconnection on wake from sleep. The fact that the drivers remain correctly loaded by macOS and pick up immediately after a quick unplug / replug of the cable means the devices should correctly work if we can just get them to automatically connect again.
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2019
Messages
75
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
Vega Frontier Edition
So I was wondering about an Issue my friend was facing.

So my friend got Z390 Designare recently. From my understanding the middle two SATA connectors would not work, if two M.2 SSDs are installed. My friend installed 2x M.2 SSDs. However, in this case he can only use those 2 mid section SATA connectors, but not the other SATA connectors.

I'm so confuzzled.

Has anyone experienced this, or am I just being silly?
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2018
Messages
85
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
hello do you know if this is the fake firmware for the gigabyte designer 390 and I can do this with SOP8 SOIC8 Test Clip For EEPROM 25CXX / 24CXX W CH341A 24 25 Series Flash Bios USB

1589213264728.png

s-l640.jpg



that's the file am i right?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,965
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So I was wondering about an Issue my friend was facing.

So my friend got Z390 Designare recently. From my understanding the middle two SATA connectors would not work, if two M.2 SSDs are installed. My friend installed 2x M.2 SSDs. However, in this case he can only use those 2 mid section SATA connectors, but not the other SATA connectors.

I'm so confuzzled.

Has anyone experienced this, or am I just being silly?
When both M.2 slots are occupied with PCIe SSDs then SATA ports 1, 2, and 3 are available. SATA ports are numbered from 0, so SATA port 1 is the second port, SATA port 2 is the third port, etc. So the middle two ports are definitely available.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,965
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Jun 23, 2019
Messages
75
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900K
Graphics
Vega Frontier Edition
When both M.2 slots are occupied with PCIe SSDs then SATA ports 1, 2, and 3 are available. SATA ports are numbered from 0, so SATA port 1 is the second port, SATA port 2 is the third port, etc. So the middle two ports are definitely available.


Thank you for your fast reply, CaseySJ. I appreciate it.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
329
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690 Creator WiF
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Some days I have three monitors some days I do not and yes they are all there every time I boot up. I do not have a Thunderbolt monitor though. I have two 4k monitors one on DP from the GPU one on DP from the Titan, and one 1080 on USB-C to HDMI from the Titan. Yes I can plug them all into the GPU not really sure why I have them routed this way. The monitor that is lit up for the boot up is the one from the Titan on the DP.

The Pike R patch might not work for Vega VII but if you have Pike R black screen patch you do not need WEG or at least I do not. Without Pike R patch I do not have multi monitor.
I think the key to your config working is having your 4K plugged directly into GPU. I haven’t had time to test this, but that was the case in my previous monitor config. Hoping to get a longer DP cable soon to test this.

@CaseySJ- a little more info on testing. When I enabled CSM support, the system was KP’ing. I discovered this later on reboots. That’s a new symptom, as I’ve had issues with my previous monitor setup when CSM was enabled, but it was oriented around detecting the monitor. Never KP’d. Will continue testing.
 
Top