Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
820
Motherboard
GA-Z390-Aorus Pro
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 590
I've tweaked the SSDT slightly to make sure you have all your XHC2 USB ports under Thunderbolt enumerated, attached is the ThunderboltDROM device property that you'll need to inject via Clover. The plist I have attached is in OpenCore format so you'll need to convert the device property to whatever format Clover uses. Remember to change the NHI0 device path value to what it is on your system. This can be found using gfxutil (attached). You may need to correct the CRC32 of the DROM as I had to change one byte to activate IOThunderboltPort5. See the instructions in the tutorial I linked to earlier. The best way to get the correct CRC32 value is to search your kernel boot log in Hackintool for the term 'DROM' If there is a checksum error it will show you the correct CRC32 value which you'll need to byte-reverse and modify the DROM with. Hang on in there, you're almost there...
@CaseySJ or others that are fluent in both Clover and OC: @dgsga attached a config.plist snippet for using OC to inject DROM device property. How would I alter that for Clover's config.plist ,and where would I place it?

attached are dgsga's OC plist snippet and the Devices section of my config.plist.


Thanks in advance.
 

Attachments

  • my config to edit for drom.plist
    1.3 KB · Views: 67
  • dgsga's config entry for DROM.plist
    605 bytes · Views: 73
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,952
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes it happens when booting from the new USB.

Zip is attached with serials removed. Screenshot of the L/E folder aswell.

View attachment 467780
Please try the following:
  • Download attached ZiP and copy serial numbers back into SMBIOS section of config.plist.
  • Copy Board Serial Number from SMBIOS and paste it into RtVariables --> MLB.
  • Then click Generate button in RtVariables (to the right of ROM).
Which version of Clover are you using?

Transfer the attached CLOVER folder to EFI folder in the USB disk and try booting again. If the same problem occurs it may be necessary to do a CMOS Reset, but let's try the attached ZIP first.
 

Attachments

  • CLOVER-Tomsize.zip
    3 MB · Views: 56

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,952
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ or others that are fluent in both Clover and OC: @dgsga attached a config.plist snippet for using OC to inject DROM device property. How would I alter that for Clover's config.plist ,and where would I place it?

attached are dgsga's OC plist snippet and the Devices section of my config.plist.


Thanks in advance.
Please try this.
 

Attachments

  • my config to edit for drom.plist
    1.4 KB · Views: 78

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,952
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D product page is now live:

US$299 and ships 20-May 2020.

Screen Shot 2020-05-06 at 4.54.27 PM.png


The new BIOS look:
Screen Shot 2020-05-06 at 5.05.24 PM.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 29, 2020
Messages
12
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K, OC: 5GHz
Graphics
Sapphire NITRO 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Greetings. Please excuse me -as this is my first post. I have been following and am thankful for all of your help with these builds.

issues:
  • usb-c dock to hdmi not recognized (video doesn't come on)
  • fans stop spinning after boot (rpm 0 at idle)
  • thunderbolt configuration.
please let me know if anyone can help. I would like to learn. I have successfully flashed the onboard titan ridge with a verified status - but just want to make sure that I have things right. I have attached my files. Thanks in advance, and I appreciate the hobby I revived up during lock down with this build.
 

Attachments

  • patched folder.zip
    7.7 KB · Views: 49
  • config.plist
    8 KB · Views: 63
  • efi folder.zip
    3.4 MB · Views: 71
  • IO-thunderbolt.png
    IO-thunderbolt.png
    250.3 KB · Views: 57
Joined
May 21, 2019
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700k
Graphics
Radeon RX 5700 XT
Please try the following:
  • Download attached ZiP and copy serial numbers back into SMBIOS section of config.plist.
  • Copy Board Serial Number from SMBIOS and paste it into RtVariables --> MLB.
  • Then click Generate button in RtVariables (to the right of ROM).
Which version of Clover are you using?

Transfer the attached CLOVER folder to EFI folder in the USB disk and try booting again. If the same problem occurs it may be necessary to do a CMOS Reset, but let's try the attached ZIP first.

Exact same issue with your zip, the verbose mode showed nothing different. :(

I installed Clover r5107 on the new USB. How to properly do a CMOS reset on the Designare ? Is it maybe better to go for a fresh install ?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,952
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Exact same issue with your zip, the verbose mode showed nothing different. :(

I installed Clover r5107 on the new USB. How to properly do a CMOS reset on the Designare ? Is it maybe better to go for a fresh install ?
Yes time to perform CMOS Reset. Immediately afterwards we need to:
  • Configure BIOS parameters again starting with Load Optimized Defaults.
  • Unlock MSR 0xE2 once again.
  • Then try to boot into Mojave.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,952
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Greetings. Please excuse me -as this is my first post. I have been following and am thankful for all of your help with these builds.

issues:
  • usb-c dock to hdmi not recognized (video doesn't come on)
  • fans stop spinning after boot (rpm 0 at idle)
  • thunderbolt configuration.
please let me know if anyone can help. I would like to learn. I have successfully flashed the onboard titan ridge with a verified status - but just want to make sure that I have things right. I have attached my files. Thanks in advance, and I appreciate the hobby I revived up during lock down with this build.
Hello @djwikka,

You flashed the Thunderbolt firmware right away? :) Impressive!
  • What is the make/model of the dock?
  • AMD GPUs have "fan stop" VBIOS. This is perfectly normal. GPU fans will stay off until GPU temperature exceeds 55-60C.
  • Your Thunderbolt IOReg looks okay. Have you gone through the Thunderbolt DROM Micro Guide?
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2020
Messages
12
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K, OC: 5GHz
Graphics
Sapphire NITRO 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hello @djwikka,

You flashed the Thunderbolt firmware right away? :) Impressive!
  • What is the make/model of the dock?
  • AMD GPUs have "fan stop" VBIOS. This is perfectly normal. GPU fans will stay off until GPU temperature exceeds 55-60C.
  • Your Thunderbolt IOReg looks okay. Have you gone through the Thunderbolt DROM Micro Guide?
Yes, I think I changed the 2-9 and replaced the 5 indicated. Not sure if i needed to do more. I left off port 7 for process of elimination.

Just don't want to invest in the TB3 to TB3 adapter unless I have it all going right, and the USB-C display dongle has me thinking that my USB-C ports aren't right.

And the GPU fans and 0 messed me up. I'm unsure if it was like that before my flash.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2020
Messages
12
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K, OC: 5GHz
Graphics
Sapphire NITRO 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
You flashed the Thunderbolt firmware right away? :) Impressive!
It wasn't quite "right away". I've been spending A LOT of time trying to figure it out. At one point I almost RMA'd the board as it is new because I thought I screwed it up when the TB3 disappeared from the BIOS settings and not recognized. But, after reflashing and positioning and flipping the power combos..., and just trying everything, it magically worked. I literally bought some blank chips and was ready to start learning to solder, almost bought a rework station.... I am so close - I just want to make my Clarett Pre4 compatible. I fried a Pi in the process moving stuff around. I've learned A LOT!
 
Top