Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,934
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ, I was finally able to get away from work and test the V1_WITH_POWER. Unfortunately running the patch caused the system lock up.
I tried a couple of ways to run tbpatch. One was to just login as quickly as possible and execute the script, the other, I created a new script that called your and added it to LaunchDaemons so it would run as root, and run at boot. However both tests resulted in the system locking up.
Thank you for testing. I still hope one day some new insight drops that will allow us to figure out a purely SSDT-based solution.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,934
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Has anybody been able to play a boot chime through their monitor over DisplayPort?

P.S. @CaseySJ my Watch Unlock feature miraculously works now after updating OC from 0.5.7 to 0.5.8. I was on the NDK fork, now on the main one (just to try out OpenCanopy... the scaling needs to be fixed, and the tools are all labeled 'Tool', so I'm sticking with the Builtin picker for now haha). Not sure how that could have fixed it, but good to know for the future I guess.
Oh yes, there's still room to improve the OpenCore config.plist. I'll post another version later today.
I've posted a slightly modified OpenCore 0.5.8 ZIP in the OpenCore mini-guide. No need to update. Just modify your config.plist to suit your preferences. It seems OpenCanopy labels all tools as "Tool". This will likely get fixed in a subsequent build.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,934
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
what is it for ne that for ne efi can you not unlock it with that man?
I don't understand the translation, but the procedure to unlock MSR 0xE2 is different for different motherboards. The address/offset "0x5c1" will only work with Designare Z390 and perhaps some other Gigabyte Z390 boards.

To determine the correct address/offset for your system, please look at this guide:
 

jlr

Joined
Jun 14, 2019
Messages
35
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Good -- half the battle...

Yes please uncheck those two boxes. This may not solve the kernel cache problem, but it's worth doing anyway.

A more desperate option would be to add this to Boot Arguments at least temporarily and see what happens:

-f UseKernelCache=No

So unchecked those boxes, checked if Catalina would still boot (it did), but I still have the same issue. Adding -f UseKernelCache=No didn't seem to change anything either... is it as odd as it appears to me that even with -f UseKernelCache=No, I still have issues with the kernel cache?
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2019
Messages
25
Motherboard
GA-B250M-D2V
CPU
i7-7700
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
I don't know how power hungry the RX 580 is... I know that my system with an overclocked Vega 56 can push total system power draw to approx 500W. On the other hand, my other system with Radeon VII never even reaches 400W...

Try disabling XMP in BIOS and config.plist. Then test system stability.
Without overclocking RX580 can push total system power draw to approx 180-200W
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
1,167
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yesterday, max USB current for charging my phone 500 mA. Today, after a good night's rest, extra operating current 1800 mA, sleep current 2100 mA...

Why? Why?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
795
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So unchecked those boxes, checked if Catalina would still boot (it did), but I still have the same issue. Adding -f UseKernelCache=No didn't seem to change anything either... is it as odd as it appears to me that even with -f UseKernelCache=No, I still have issues with the kernel cache?

My next suggestion would be to reboot into Recovery Mode. From there run Terminal and try this:-

touch -c "/Volumes/Macintosh HD/System/Library/Extensions"
reboot

Just replace 'Macintosh HD' with whatever you have called your Disk. Note - it is S/L/E and not just L/E, it will bring that in as well, if/as needed.

It may take up to 5 minutes for it to rebuild the prelinkedkernel cache and reboot, just leave it to do its stuff. You won't see any progress bar or anything - possibly even disk activity but it will be working hard in the background.

This way it should rebuild the kernel cache outside of the normal read only mode of the system.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,934
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So unchecked those boxes, checked if Catalina would still boot (it did), but I still have the same issue. Adding -f UseKernelCache=No didn't seem to change anything either... is it as odd as it appears to me that even with -f UseKernelCache=No, I still have issues with the kernel cache?
Please try @Ploddles' suggestion above. If the problem persists, then I can suggest these 2 options because there comes a time when it's better to side-step the problem rather than solve it:
  • Option 1: Skip the update and wait for 10.15.5 which is already being beta tested.
  • Option 2: Perform a clean fresh installation of Catalina 10.15.4 on a spare SSD. If you download the full installer using the GibMacOs procedure (see this link) it will include the supplemental update. Copy the existing EFI folder from the Catalina SSD to the new USB flash disk and then to the new spare SSD.
 
Joined
May 21, 2019
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700k
Graphics
Radeon RX 5700 XT
Hi,

I'm having a hard time trying to upgrade from Mojave 10.4.6 to Catalina 10.5.4 following the mini-guide.
When I try to boot my system through the newly created USB, it freezes on the Apple logo (without the load bar).
I've tried both the "May Update .zip" and the older zip.
My system is also unable to boot whenever Lilu/WEG are not in L/E (could be related?).

Another issue I'm starting to see on my setup since a few weeks is a system overload : system starts getting super slow, audio starts glitching, "kernel task" is using my whole CPU, and even my WIFI card gets disconnected. After about 30sec it gets back to normal and it happens every couple hours. My CPU is not overheating at all (35/40°C).
Some of the changes/upgrade I've done since the initial build are : Native NVRAM, Clover update (5015), Lilu/WME/AppleALC updates. I've also attempted OC 0.5.8 few days ago without success.

Thanks in advance!
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2012
Messages
20
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
9900K
Graphics
RTX 2080 Ti + Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro

@CaseySJ so I'm going to take the plunge and flash my chip on the designare z390, however I noticed with the supplemental guide you posted you removed pin 8 from the SOIC8 clip. Should I just never connect that? If so, does that mean that I don't need the Y splitter for pin 3 and pin 7? Since if pin 8 isn't connected that frees up another power connection (so I could connect pin 3 to pin 1 (on the raspberry pi) and pin 7 to pin 17)
 
Top