Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Sep 8, 2011
Messages
78
Motherboard
Asus WS X299 SAGE 10G
CPU
i9-7960X
Graphics
WX4100
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Please copy both of the attached SSDTs to CLOVER/ACPI/patched. Reboot and check IORegistry again.
Same... I had a DTPG with Device (RMDT) [for test purpose]. I tried original DTPG instead of.
I can't load thunderbolt properties with aml for BR3B.
BR3B.png

PCI.png
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-TBOLT3-X299_J.aml
    2.2 KB · Views: 55
Joined
Dec 6, 2010
Messages
68
Motherboard
AsRock Z490 ITX/TB3
CPU
i7 107000K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Okay, I'm adding some files.....

As noted earlier, it's not really working for me. I've added my adjusted config.plist, before and after ioreg files, and my BIOS TB settings.....(these work in macOS, but only Windows style....and no tree as noted before....)
Aaah, I see you're using TitanRidge, not Alpine Ridge. Also, in your "Not_so_good" IOReg the SSDT hasn't loaded as the Thunderbolt devices aren't named correctly (NHI0, DSB0 etc. etc.). There's also some other injection going on as you've got entries like these that shouldn't be there:
Screenshot 2020-05-03 at 16.55.46.png

I would recommend removing these additional entries from your config.plist. When you see entries like this they are making life more difficult. They have no impact on function and just make things look good in the PCI section of System Profiler. I'd recommend removing all the extra injection and keep things to the bare minimum whilst testing. The only device property for thunderbolt that I'm injecting is the ThunderboltDROM with a unique UID
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,831
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@mm2margaret Your SSDT looks fine. I'm sorry it hasn't worked out for you. It's starting to look like this approach only works with built-in Alpine Ridge, not Add In Cards. :(
Okay, thanks for trying.....:)
SSDT approach can be adapted for add-in-cards. As long as we can determine the addresses of root port and UPSB, then most often the remaining addresses (of DSB0, NHI0, DSB1, DSB2, DSB4) can be determined using the first two.

I'll take a look at the SSDT later -- no promises, but maybe I can provide some hints.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,831
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Same... I had a DTPG with Device (RMDT) [for test purpose]. I tried original DTPG instead of.
I can't load thunderbolt properties with aml for BR3B.View attachment 466854
View attachment 466857
Please post the original system DSDT like this:
  • At Clover Boot Menu, press F4. Wait few seconds. Nothing will happen on screen, but files will be quietly written to disk.
  • Then boot into macOS and Mount EFI partition.
  • DSDT.aml will be in CLOVER/ACPI/origin folder.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,298
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
SSDT approach can be adapted for add-in-cards. As long as we can determine the addresses of root port and UPSB, then most often the remaining addresses (of DSB0, NHI0, DSB1, DSB2, DSB4) can be determined using the first two.

I'll take a look at the SSDT later -- no promises, but maybe I can provide some hints.

Okay, very unexpected, but a nice surprise....thanks! And, there's no rush....I still have ICM style, for now.....
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2017
Messages
126
Motherboard
GigaByte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega FE Liquid
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Okay the UberNoob returns.. sorry to be a pain.
The flashing job was painful - once I'm finalised on this I'll give you a post on what I think I may/could have done to save the stress to hopefully help others..

So home run hopefully - but I still am having trouble in what to put in the SSDT
I've gone to the CRC Calculator but in the CRC Input data window - it's already pre-filled with the same 9 bytes even before entering the given configuration from the guide.
I've generated a checksum from the given bytes but just double checking I'm doing this right..??

Screenshot 2020-05-03 at 16.44.13.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,831
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Okay the UberNoob returns.. sorry to be a pain.
The flashing job was painful - once I'm finalised on this I'll give you a post on what I think I may/could have done to save the stress to hopefully help others..

So home run hopefully - but I still am having trouble in what to put in the SSDT
I've gone to the CRC Calculator but in the CRC Input data window - it's already pre-filled with the same 9 bytes even before entering the given configuration from the guide.
I've generated a checksum from the given bytes but just double checking I'm doing this right..??

View attachment 466861
Are you specifying new random numbers for the 5 green bytes in the DROM micro-guide? We need to generate a unique ID by specifying any 5 hex numbers between 0x00 and 0xFF. Then we generate a new CRC-8 checksum that goes into byte #1.
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2017
Messages
126
Motherboard
GigaByte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega FE Liquid
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Are you specifying new random numbers for the 5 green bytes in the DROM micro-guide? We need to generate a unique ID by specifying any 5 hex numbers between 0x00 and 0xFF. Then we generate a new CRC-8 checksum that goes into byte #1.
Well, this is just it. There's already numbers in the box every time I visit the CRC page.
Am I to delete these and stick my own 'lottery numbers' in instead?
 
Top