Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Dec 22, 2017
Messages
79
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-8086 Delidded
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I'm fine on Wired LAN. Good to see you CaseySJ :thumbup:

I'm just using Time machine to restore to High Sierra and then update to Catalina from there
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
298
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I’ve been unable to login all day from both wired and cellular. Cellular seems to be working for the time being, but may stop at any moment.
Hey CaseySJ.

#1 – I’ve changed my SMBIOS lately from iMac 19,1 to test iMac Pro 1,1 and MacPro 7,1 and now back to iMacPro 1,1 and I’m now having a strange issue where my Messages won’t deliver and new ones don’t show up. Everything else iCloud related works fine. I’ve tried logging out and back into icloud but same thing. I’m using native NVRAM; maybe that’s got something to do with it. Any idea what might be causing the non deliveries and inability to get new text updates?

#2 – Also, earlier I thought I saw that you said there was something possibly wrong with the SSDT for AMD acceleration I sent you. What did see anything weird in it?

EDIT: #1 – I figured it out. Would still like your thoughts on #2 though when you get a chance. I also am testing the Radeonboost.kext way for GPU injection and it seems to be a winner as well with no configuration needed in config.plist. Nice speed improvement.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 7, 2019
Messages
29
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
5700 XT Sapphire Pulse
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @hyperx136,

Thank you for the kind words. Hope everyone is following the guidelines of their local authorities and not only staying safe themselves, but keeping others safe as well.

While I have not personally encountered micro-lags with the mouse or GUI, perhaps it's time we investigate this further. Because I have a strong aversion of Bluetooth mice and keyboards, I use either wired versions or Logitech Wireless versions. The Logitech Unifying Receiver, for example, uses a custom 2.4 GHz protocol that connects immediately on startup (i.e. works in BIOS, Clover, macOS, Windows, Linux, etc.).
View attachment 464397
So let's start like this:
  • What is the make/model of the mouse?
  • If the GUI also freezes, does that mean animations also stutter? For example, if a web page containing animated advertisements is open, do the advertisements also stutter?
  • If so, would you be able to record about 30 seconds of this?
Some things to try:
  • Without knowing more about the problem, these suggestions are just guesses....
    • If your monitors have MST (Multi Stream Transport, a feature of DisplayPort), try disabling that feature.
    • Try the kext located here by copying it to CLOVER/kexts/Other and rebooting. This is primarily designed to improve performance, but because of the additional properties it injects, there might be other benefits.
    • More severe options include disabling WhateverGreen and copying the RX 5700 XT SSDT located here to the CLOVER/ACPI/patched folder, and reboot. Certain video ports on the 5700 XT may not work, so it will be necessary to try them all.
    • Ensure that DisplayPort cable is certified for DP v1.2 or higher and connected securely.
    • Try Clover v5114.

Hi Casey,

So after trying out all the solutions that you listed with nothing working, I suspected that it might be hardware related. I went and change both the DP cables. I cycled them through all the ports at 1.1 and 1.2 DP again and somehow it worked with the new cables on 1.1 DP. I thought that only 1.2 DP allows for 4k 60hz but apparently 1.1 DP does work with my dual 4k at 60hz from system report section. Also netflix DRM started working too, without any shikigva boot args. Before this I was trying everything on 19,1 SMBIOS and nothing worked for safari netflix, all black screen with sounds. Hopefully this can be helpful to someone else.

Thank you so much for your help!
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2010
Messages
129
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS HERO X Z370
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Anyone having problems accessing the site today? I'm having to VPN in to access it. Charter/Spectrum is ISP.
Same issue since yesterday afternoon on Virgin Media in the UK. Works over 4G on my iPhone through Vodafone as well.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2018
Messages
14
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
XFX Radeon VII
Hello all,

has anyone tried to compare real world results (not benchmarks) between SMBIOS 19,1 and 1,1
specifically with Premiere Pro?

Have tried a few tests and I can't really see any difference.

In this article, Adobe shares some info as to how/when Premiere is utilising the iGPU & dGPU.

Still it is not clear to me whether different SMSBIOS can somehow affect the actual performance.

Takis
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2012
Messages
116
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64 | R9 270X
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
This might be a really stupid question....

I have a bootable backup BTW

I tested a bunch of settings using SMBIOS and changed things in RTvariables as well as boot settings on my main drive- looking for that perfect editing supercomputer with amazing render speeds and stability balance....

After all my testing, shikiva/agpmod etc etc my original settings are still better.

How would I wipe the system drive and clone the backup back onto the main drive?
Is it as simple as a reverse clone on CCC?

Thank you

EDIT:
Oh wait DUH!!
Copy config.plist from backup to main and
Voilà!!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 10, 2013
Messages
396
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10900X
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@faithie999 @Elias64Fr Firstly, thanks for putting together the custom firmware for the NUC8i3BEH. And major thanks for @CaseySJ too! Can one of you tell me where the ROM chip is on the NUC8i3BEH? I have the same model and I'm planning on flashing it with the custom firmware @CaseySJ has attached in post #16395. Attaching the mainboard images below. Help is appreciated! Thanks :)

View attachment 464547
View attachment 464549
Definitely not on the top side, it must be below. Try taking a picture of this two from the side with phone to see if any is a "winbond" chip.
nuc8i3beh_fan.jpg

If non is, you will have to lift cooler, look for some inscriptions near the smd chip "THU" or "THU3", that might tell which one is it.

EDIT: You are looking for a chip like the top one in terms of size and form factor, could be near the TB3 port.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2014
Messages
386
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
** Update **

It's all working 100% now -- even Continuity Camera is back! What did I do?
  • Shutdown iPad, iPhone, Apple Watch
  • Restart iPad, iPhone, Apple Watch
  • Log out of iCloud on iPad
    • When iOS asked if I wanted to delete local copies of various items I said yes
    • Everything was on iCloud anyway
  • Log out of iCloud on iPhone
    • When iOS asked if I wanted to delete local copies of various items I said yes
    • Everything was on iCloud anyway
  • Log back into iCloud on iPad
  • Log back into iCloud on iPhone
Then on Hackintosh:
  • Logout of iCloud
    • When macOS asked if I wanted to delete local copies of various items I said yes
    • Everything was on iCloud anyway
  • Reboot
  • Log back into iCloud
  • Then shutdown, remove power plug, wait full 5 minutes.
    • You may not need to wait so long... I was just doing other things...
  • Reconnect and power up.

Wow, this actually worked for me! I was a little bit afraid this wouldn't work, but everything now works.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2020
Messages
13
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS ELITE ATX
CPU
Intel Intel Corei5 – 9600 K
Graphics
SAPPHIRE RADEON RX 5700 XT
Hi @CaseySJ ,

Regarding ** Micro-Guide: Unlocking MSR 0xE2 on Gigabyte Designare Z390 **,
I plan to try this guide but I wanted to ask first if I can use it on my motherboard which I flashed to the latest bios F10c.
Can I unlock my motherboard(z390 Aorus Elite) using the file you attached?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,090
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It seems that now I'm getting random freezes but without Kernel Panics. I changed my XFX RX580 with a Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 two days ago because I wanted to make sure that the video card is out of the way. Random freezes started today but without any special modification to the system. More specific, they started when I left te unit to idle for 30 minutes and when I came back and logged in back the system just froze. Since then it froze 3 times, randomly.. I updated the kexts (Lilu, WG, VirtualSMC and AppleALC but it is the same)..
Some questions/suggestions:
  • What is the make/model of your monitor(s)?
  • Are they connected via DP or HDMI?
  • Is there a small toggle switch on the Sapphire Nitro+ that flips between quiet and OC (over-clock) mode? If so, have you tried both modes?
  • Which version of Clover are you using? Pressing "A" for About at the Clover Boot Menu will display the version.
 
Top