Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
160
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390 Thunderbolt 3
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Intel > Need version # > See Rules!
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Update on Damaged Asus ThunderboltEX 3

Last week I damaged the Winbond chip on my Asus ThunderboltEX 3 add-in-card while attempting to force-flash a modified Thunderbolt firmware. This was before creating the circuit with a 47uF capacitor and 2K Ohm resistor. Had I used that circuit at the time, I would not have damaged the chip.

Nevertheless, to turn the loss into a gain I decided to desolder and replace the damaged chip. First step: to order a set of replacement chips and desoldering materials, all of which arrived over the past couple of days.

Status update:

The Winbond W25Q80DV comes in two package sizes:
  • W25Q80DVNIG
  • W25Q80DVSIG
The following boards use the larger W25Q80DVSIG:
  • Gigabyte Designare Z390
  • Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Xtreme
  • Gigabyte GC-Titan Ridge
  • Asus ThunderboltEX 3
View attachment 457579

It was easy to flash the standalone chip, but it could only be gripped properly by the Pomona 5250. The cheap clip that accompanies most CH341a Programmers placed too much pressure, bending some of the pins.

Next the existing flash chip on the Asus add-in-card had to be desoldered:
  • A clean solder tip is essential. I had to replace a worn tip that was merely evaporating the solder instead of melting it into tiny beads.
  • Applied liquid flux and used ChipQuik at a temperature of about 250 C. After about 4 or 5 strokes on each side, the chip glided off easily. No hot air this time.
View attachment 457583

Soldering the replacement was fairly easy because of the relatively wide spacing between pins.

View attachment 457584

So after all that, did it work? No! :(

The soldered-on chip does work and is readable and writable by the Raspberry Pi, but it's possible that other components were damaged. Will make one more attempt to repair the board.

Meanwhile, the replacement Asus ThunderboltEX 3 arrived today and it's easily readable and programmable with the 47uF / 2K Ohm circuit.


you use a Asus ThunderboltEX 3 on a gigybite z390 designare ?
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
160
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390 Thunderbolt 3
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Intel > Need version # > See Rules!
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Hey Guys i got some news and decided to share with the community, two days ago I decided to do a clean install of 10.15.4
Using the mini guide And I was finally successful when I stopped caring about the error codes , there are a two curve balls when using 10.15.4 , Assuming you have the time correctly set in your Bios , There are two errors that get thrown your way during installation (see attached images ) the installation throws an error with two minutes remaining , reboot and boot into the usb again to continue installation then when it finishes it will give you the second error regarding bless tool and choosing the right startup disk , reboot and boot from usb again and choose to boot Mac OS from your Mac OS partition if you named it Catalina as per the mini guide that is going to be the one , from that moment on everything goes smoothly and that is pretty much what I did , Thank you@CaseySJ all the kexts load correctly now , my only hesitation is regarding the the installation of RC scripts for use with EmuNvram vs native nvram
i have same problem even my installation

1) i think it is your ssd broken

2) Format your ssd on another mac

3) have format in apfs ?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,931
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
... my only hesitation is regarding the the installation of RC scripts for use with EmuNvram vs native nvram
Native NVRAM is the way to go! But keep in mind that MSR 0xE2 will get locked each time new BIOS is flashed to the motherboard. It may also get locked under some circumstances when CMOS Reset is performed. So be sure to keep the "grub" USB flash disk handy in case it's necessary to unlock MSR 0xE2 in the future.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2019
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,

My Hackintosh has been up and running since Mojave and everything has always worked, also updating to the latest macOS versions.

I have this problem now since I updated Clover (to v. 5107) and Catalina 10.15.4, namely that the colors look all washed out. The colors look wash out until I shut down the computer, all apps will close and just before shutting down the desktop is visible with the correct colors.

washed_out.png


  • macOS 10.15.4
  • Clover r5107 (downloaded manually from website)
  • Latest kexts installed (FakeSMC, Lilu, WhateverGreen)
  • The graphic card is a Radeon RX 580 8 GB and the monitor is connected to it using HDMI.
  • Monitor works fine with other devices (PS4) and the colors are also correctly shown when shutting down macOS
Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,931
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
you use a Asus ThunderboltEX 3 on a gigybite z390 designare ?
I'm using that on my Asus X99 Deluxe II (item 2 in my signature below).
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,931
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,

My Hackintosh has been up and running since Mojave and everything has always worked, also updating to the latest macOS versions.

I have this problem now since I updated Clover (to v. 5107) and Catalina 10.15.4, namely that the colors look all washed out. The colors look wash out until I shut down the computer, all apps will close and just before shutting down the desktop is visible with the correct colors.

View attachment 457648

  • macOS 10.15.4
  • Clover r5107 (downloaded manually from website)
  • Latest kexts installed (FakeSMC, Lilu, WhateverGreen)
  • The graphic card is a Radeon RX 580 8 GB and the monitor is connected to it using HDMI.
  • Monitor works fine with other devices (PS4) and the colors are also correctly shown when shutting down macOS
Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
Open System Preferences --> Displays and check if HDR is enabled. If so, uncheck it.

Screen Shot 2020-03-28 at 2.40.56 AM.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,931
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @augustopaulo,

I'd like to create a Thunderbolt DROM Micro-Guide for Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Xtreme. Can you please share your Thunderbolt SSDT? You may replace the first 9 bytes of ThunderboltDROM with this (to protect your UID):

0x88, 0x00, 0x11, 0x11, 0x11, 0x11, 0x11, 0x00, 0x00
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2019
Messages
47
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
It is highly likely that you forgot to flip TEST_SWITCH to "N", as indicated by the all-caps notice of this being a dry-run.
While the output looks correct, please validate that these are indeed the files you intend to copy before flipping this switch.
This was the final problem ! I did it so many times that when I replaced the Eficlone et write the code made by CaseySj I forgot to switch to "N". After weeks of attempts, it worked. I'm so grateful for your time @CaseySJ and @byteminer ! Thank your very much
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2020
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
Intel i9 9900K
Graphics
Sapphire Nitro+ RX 580 8GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello Chris,

In Post #1 please find the section “Replacing OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000 with FwRuntimeServices”.

If the problem persists, perform a CMOS Reset as described in the Designare user manual. Then configure all BIOS parameters again according to Post 1.
I confirm that replacing OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000 with FwRuntimeServices worked without any issues. Since yesterday I had no more "Couldn't allocate runtime area" issues! Thank you very much!
 
Top