Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Oct 11, 2019
Messages
4
Motherboard
PRIME-X299-DELUXE
CPU
i9-9900x
Graphics
Vega 56
I'm an X299 user. GC-Titan Ridge is a DROM for Thunderbolt that has been changed to SSDT, but Thunder cannot be hot-plugged, and the computer freezes when the external hard disk is inserted into the Thunderbolt port. I'm using iMac Pro 1.1. Can you help me see what's going on. This is my SSDT.
I didn’t calculate CRC-32. Is this the problem? I still don’t know how he calculated it.

截屏2020-03-27 下午4.17.29.png

截屏2020-03-27 下午4.17.37.png
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-TB3HP.aml
    2.1 KB · Views: 64
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 10, 2013
Messages
396
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10900X
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
You may try the attached modified firmware for the Gigabyte X299X Designare if you so choose. All disclaimers apply:
  • Flashing the chip incurs risk of damage.
  • The new firmware may not work at all.
  • You assume all responsibility / liability for the decision to flash the modified firmware.
We should always start by attempting 3 consecutive read attempts and making sure that all three checksums are identical (shasum <filename>). Then attempt to flash the chip.

If it's successful, read the chip once again just to be sure and compare checksum of the new file.

If everything is okay, perform a cold start (power cable removed or switch on PSU turned off for 10 seconds). On the first attempt, no Thunderbolt SSDT should be used.
I will give this a go asap and report back! Thank you very much @CaseySJ
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2013
Messages
396
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10900X
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Ok new problem...

I'm now at the stage of Post install. Booting off Mojave SSD, but stalling in the boot screen 75% of the way through.

I'm at this step:
"After making the preceding changes, reboot the computer. After logging back in, we can take another look at the system configuration. Let's start with System Information --> Audio. We can see our built-in audio devices have appeared thanks to AppleALC 1.3.4 or later. (OWC Thunderbolt Audio devices are from my OWC 14-port Thunderbolt 3 dock.)"

When I run it in Verbose mode this I get this message:
Start RandomSeed
End RandomSeed
Error allocating 0x11c94 pages at 0x0000000021f23000 alloc type 2
Couldn't allocate runtime area


I've attached a picture of the Verbose for reference.

Any and all help, thoughts and suggestions are appreciated! I can't wait to get this up and be a part of the hackintosh fam.


My build:

MB: Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU: i9-9900k
GPU: MSI Aero 1070 Ti
SSD's: Samsung 970 Evo NVMe M2 Internal SSD 1tb, + 500tb (for OS)
RAM: Ballistix Sport LT 64GB Kit (16GBx4) DDR4 2400 MT/s (PC4-19200) DIMM 288-Pin - BLS4K16G4D240FSB (Gray)
Wifi: fenvi T919 BCM94360CD Native Airport WiFi BT 4.0 1750Mbps 5GHz/2.4GHz MIMO
You have an aptio fix problem, check your drivers on EFI, perhaps you are using the wrong combo. You should use EmuVariables.efi along the posted OcQuirks from first post, also check BIOS settings, perhaps Above4G decoding is off?
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2013
Messages
396
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10900X
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I'm an X299 user. GC-Titan Ridge is a DROM for Thunderbolt that has been changed to SSDT, but Thunder cannot be hot-plugged, and the computer freezes when the external hard disk is inserted into the Thunderbolt port. I'm using iMac Pro 1.1. Can you help me see what's going on. This is my SSDT.
I didn’t calculate CRC-32. Is this the problem? I still don’t know how he calculated it.

View attachment 457371
View attachment 457372
Have you flashed custom firmware to your TB card?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,204
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It's a Dell U2717D 2K monitor.
Yes, it's connected to the onboard graphics. I have not discrete VGA.
I'm using a TB3 to Display Port cable. No converters.
I'm now on Catalina, but it also happened on Mojave
Yes, the issue is here from the beginning.

The only pattern I could find is that it seems to happen after a long sleep (like overnight), but even so, not always.
Please try some of the suggestions in this excellent summary by the WhateverGreen development team. If you have any questions or wish to toss ideas, feel free.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,204
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok new problem...

I'm now at the stage of Post install. Booting off Mojave SSD, but stalling in the boot screen 75% of the way through.

I'm at this step:
"After making the preceding changes, reboot the computer. After logging back in, we can take another look at the system configuration. Let's start with System Information --> Audio. We can see our built-in audio devices have appeared thanks to AppleALC 1.3.4 or later. (OWC Thunderbolt Audio devices are from my OWC 14-port Thunderbolt 3 dock.)"

When I run it in Verbose mode this I get this message:
Start RandomSeed
End RandomSeed
Error allocating 0x11c94 pages at 0x0000000021f23000 alloc type 2
Couldn't allocate runtime area


I've attached a picture of the Verbose for reference.

Any and all help, thoughts and suggestions are appreciated! I can't wait to get this up and be a part of the hackintosh fam.


My build:

MB: Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU: i9-9900k
GPU: MSI Aero 1070 Ti
SSD's: Samsung 970 Evo NVMe M2 Internal SSD 1tb, + 500tb (for OS)
RAM: Ballistix Sport LT 64GB Kit (16GBx4) DDR4 2400 MT/s (PC4-19200) DIMM 288-Pin - BLS4K16G4D240FSB (Gray)
Wifi: fenvi T919 BCM94360CD Native Airport WiFi BT 4.0 1750Mbps 5GHz/2.4GHz MIMO
This indicates a problem with the EFI memory driver. For Mojave we usually start with OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi in the drivers64UEFI folder. No other memory driver may be present in that folder. If any of the following are present, they should be deleted:
  • AptioMemoryFix.efi
  • OsxAptioFix3Drv.efi
  • OsxAptioFix2Drv.efi
  • OsxAptioFixDrv.efi
Later we can replace OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi with FwRuntimeServices and OcQuirks as explained here, but first complete the Mojave installation using only OsxAptioFix2Drv-free2000.efi.
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
69
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
i need some serious help with fixing shutdown restart and sleep. i have a stable system otherwise besides this shutdown sleep and restart bug. i have my efi folder and config very very close to the fresh install. i was able to successfully remove the emuvariable.efi and remove all rc scripts after enabling msr 0x0 and enabling nvram. i can easily boot into 10.15.4 but the only problem is i'm using a amd vega frontier edition graphics via display port. i don't know if this is a graphics card issue or a 10.15.4 clover bug with shutdown restart and sleep issue. i also have my x.m.p in bios set to profile 1 3600mhz ram speed. i have hyper x 16 x 4 = 64 gb of ram. this shouldn't be a graphics card issue rather coming closer to a bug in my efi config.plist or a bug in 10.15.4 clover 5107.. please anyone with some tips on how to fix this nasty bug please help me ! i can boot normally just need help with once again the shutdown restart and sleep. please review my efi and see screenshots.

I make my RAM speed on XMP profile one 2666MHz because of the USB eject problem.
Your config.plist is very strange compare to mine. Also I have
HFSplus.efi and USBInjectAll.kext installed. Plus I have 6 SSDT files in my patched folder.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,020
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yep! Here you go. This is all KGP X299 method with thunderbolt SSDT - no flashing on the Titan Ridge card.
Not really interested in uploading to youtube so here is a dropbox link to my UAD hot-swap extravaganza.

Thanks for making that video. Is it because I have a unit with TB2 and I have to use the Apple TB3<TB2 dongles? My Z390 TB is also unflashed.

Would you be willing to look at my EFI and fix my TB patch? I've always wondered if I needed to populate the Thunderbolt patch with the UUID of the Apollo, or if the original KGP UUID is enough. I really have no idea. Regarding the EFI: I've removed the serials, but the rest is small and intact. The screen shot is how the Apollo looks on my 2018 Mini with the latest firmware and Mojave. Please and thank you.
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    10.8 MB · Views: 54
  • Apollo 8 TB2 on a 2018 Mini.png
    Apollo 8 TB2 on a 2018 Mini.png
    65.5 KB · Views: 66
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,204
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello everyone. I updated to 10.15.4 last night and have seen "lockups" when my displays go to sleep. No issues in 10.15.3. I'm looking to roll back unfortunately unless there's an easy fix.
i need some serious help with fixing shutdown restart and sleep. i have a stable system otherwise besides this shutdown sleep and restart bug. i have my efi folder and config very very close to the fresh install. i was able to successfully remove the emuvariable.efi and remove all rc scripts after enabling msr 0x0 and enabling nvram. i can easily boot into 10.15.4 but the only problem is i'm using a amd vega frontier edition graphics via display port. i don't know if this is a graphics card issue or a 10.15.4 clover bug with shutdown restart and sleep issue. i also have my x.m.p in bios set to profile 1 3600mhz ram speed. i have hyper x 16 x 4 = 64 gb of ram. this shouldn't be a graphics card issue rather coming closer to a bug in my efi config.plist or a bug in 10.15.4 clover 5107.. please anyone with some tips on how to fix this nasty bug please help me ! i can boot normally just need help with once again the shutdown restart and sleep. please review my efi and see screenshots.
Both of you have the Vega Frontier Edition (FE) so let's combine the reply:
  • For most types of lockups and instability issues we should eventually perform a Process of Elimination. For the Vega FE that entails removal of the card (or disconnect both PCIe power cables if card is difficult to remove) and switching to on-board iGPU by setting. See this illustrated guide. In BIOS, Internal Graphics must be set to Enabled. Connect monitor to any or all of the 3 video ports on the rear IO panel (two Thunderbolt ports support DisplayPort with a USB-C to DisplayPort cable; one HDMI port). Reboot and check system stability, including sleep/wake behavior.
  • If you're using fast memory such as 3600 MHz, you may also try reducing its speed to either 2933 MHz or 2666 MHz as explained here.
  • Also try clearing NVRAM by pressing F11 at the Clover Boot Menu.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,204
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I followed ** MacOS Catalina 10.15.4 Update ** to update from 10.15.3 to 10.15.4, I did everything except “At the Clover Boot Menu press F11 to clear NVRAM.” Because nothing happened when I press F11. then I boot into 10.15.3 and it full works, so I wen to settings to update, the update went well, but could not login into the new 10.15.4 and it shows memory panic as show in the picture, any help would appreciate!
View attachment 457362
If you have a smartphone, please capture a video of the startup log. When the crash occurs, stop the video. Then scrub the video ("scrub" just means to go back and forward frame by frame) until we can see 1 or 2 screens above the end of the log. Just post those 1 or 2 screenshots.

Do you remember if you installed any kexts in /Library/Extensions? Was this system upgraded from Mojave to Catalina, or was Catalina freshly installed on it?
 
Top