Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,032
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It is not flashed. I don't have a backup so I am not confident to do so. I believe the latest driver flashed it to NVM43
UAD Apollo Owners:

If you're using a flashed Gigabyte GC-Titan Ridge, how is your experience with connecting / disconnecting the device? Do you need to hot-plug the Apollo each time the system restarts?
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2020
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
Intel i9 9900KS
Graphics
Asus Radeon RX580
Does the Mac ICue app not pick up the pump have you tried?

Most pumps are not meant to throttle up and down they are meant to run at a steady speed and kept there. I have H105 I only have 8700k cpu but I never see over 30c on Geekbench. Thermal paste is really important with your CPU but I think the pump can run faster then that min runs at 1600 and that your AIO should keep it around 80c under load.

If your mount is anything like mine, I am guessing that it is... You will not need much pressure just tighten them evenly. If the pump feels solid and is not jiggling then it is tight enough if its moving around then keep going.

The ICue won't detect the H115i on macOS, unfortunately.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,032
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The ICue won't detect the H115i on MacOS unfortunately.
There is a Python-based macOS-compatible utility called liquidctl. I'm using it for my NZXT Kraken X52. It is compatible with the H115i. But I'm not sure whether fan/pump control is the real issue, or whether it's a matter of thermal paste and/or mounting pressure.

Installing it on macOS is quite easy:
  • Install Homebrew:
Code:
/bin/bash -c "$(curl -fsSL https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Homebrew/install/master/install.sh)"
  • Then install liquidctl:
Code:
brew install liquidctl

Screen Shot 2020-03-25 at 5.11.37 PM.png
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2020
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
Intel i9 9900KS
Graphics
Asus Radeon RX580
There is a Python-based macOS-compatible utility called liquidctl. I'm using it for my NZXT Kraken X52. It is compatible with the H115i. But I'm not sure whether fan/pump control is the real issue, or whether it's a matter of thermal paste and/or mounting pressure.

Installing it on macOS is quite easy:
  • Install Homebrew:
Code:
/bin/bash -c "$(curl -fsSL https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Homebrew/install/master/install.sh)"
  • Then install liquidctl:
Code:
brew install liquidctl

View attachment 457084

I'm getting the following message "No devices matches available drivers and selection criteria"

EDIT: Just found out my AIO is the Platinum H115i, which is not supported yet :/
 

Attachments

  • Captura de Tela 2020-03-25 às 21.53.31.png
    Captura de Tela 2020-03-25 às 21.53.31.png
    2.2 MB · Views: 71
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
12
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
With so much issues with the update, I think I am going to hold it off indefinitely. There is nothing special feature that I think I must need to have. Too bad Apple won't release security fixes only.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,042
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @dadest,

My understanding of UAD's Thunderbolt-based Apollo devices is that they do not need to operate on USB 2.0. So HS08 and HS13 are not needed. Your latest settings look okay (there is no HS08 or HS13).

But we typically have to do this:
  • Install latest UAD macOS drivers.
  • Install latest UAD firmware on the Apollo itself.
If any UAD Apollo owners are reading this, please provide some connection advice...

Hello. I'm posting some links to my unread posts regarding UAD Thunderbolt devices.
If you own a UAD Thunderbolt device with a power switch, this is for you.

This link.

And this link.

And if you think you have "Hot Swap" working, here is the tried and true test for that, which can be demonstrated on Windows machines as well as genuine Macs: (This Link.)

Just to double-check your work.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2019
Messages
48
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
We don't see a Welcome screen with this update. Do you have any Hackintosh kexts in /Library/Extensions?
I'm not sure what's a hackintosh kext vs non-hackintosh. Here's a screenshot of /Library/Extensions
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2020-03-25 at 6.50.24 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-03-25 at 6.50.24 PM.png
    184.8 KB · Views: 75

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,032
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello. I'm posting some links to my unread posts regarding UAD Thunderbolt devices.
If you own a UAD Thunderbolt device with a power switch, this is for you.

This link.

And this link.

And if you think you have "Hot Swap" working, here is the tried and true test for that, which can be demonstrated on Windows machines as well as genuine Macs: (This Link.)

Just to double-check your work.
I will link these to Post #1 tomorrow morning in a section for UAD tips and troubleshooting.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,032
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm getting the following message "No devices matches available drivers and selection criteria"
The Corsair has to be connected to F_USB header on the motherboard. We use USB port splitters to allow multiple devices to connect to the single on-board USB header. Links to splitters are at the top of Post #1 in the Components list.
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2012
Messages
173
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Wifi
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
My experience is very strange i'm in 10.15.4 finally


i have only updated in Release v5.0 r5107 like links @peetbeat

Of course my kext is updated also

i have reboot like @CaseySJ said me


I have update like @CaseySJ procedure

And i'm going to preboot etc....

Update is going but juste one reboot and at the end error update message at the end of minutes

reboot and i'm on 10.15.4

TEst of my uad everything is ok on TB3


very strange

Same problem faced by me but when I restarted the machine update wass successfully done and got into one more problem my clover looks like this and Install option is always there don't know how to get rid of it
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20200326_080940.jpg
    IMG_20200326_080940.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 72
Top